We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Redwoods RV Resort
Nearby Hotels
Oceanfront Lodge(Crescent City)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Crescent City(Crescent City)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$116
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood Inn(Crescent City)
US$65
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
QualityInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Inn(Crescent City)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Inn & Suites(Crescent City)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Beach Inn(Crescent City)
US$76
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Inn(Crescent City)
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
44
28
5
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
28
5
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnatural settingbeautiful sitetravel trailerwould stay againsmith rivercampsitetreesseclusioncampingredwoodswifirigslaundrywoodyrestroomsstumpshighway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

It's more rustic than the website photos. Plenty of trees and fresh air. We were awakened by sirens in the middle of the night. Quicky checked if we were in a Tsunami Zone!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Summertravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nestled under the redwoods! This is a beautiful park, makes you feel like you're camping in the redwoods but with all of the amenities of upscale RV parks. Staff was friendly and provided us a nice place to visit close by attractions. Would definitely come back again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My family and I were on our way to Seattle and knew we wanted to stop over in redwoods for a night- wow! What a fantastic place to stay, despite the pouring rain it was a great place. We stayed in one of the cabins and I will tell you my advice is to stop at Safeway before you get there( if you are coming from the south), otherwise you will likely need to turn around and head back to town. The cabins have a mini cooktop, microwave and fridge. If you plan to cook food then for sure stop at Safeway before you get there. Don't hesitate to book here you won't regret. Oh and bonus- wifi

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wardgrl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our large party (8 ppl) had a fantastic time among the redwoods and California coast on our 5-day spring break vacation. We stayed at Redwoods RV for 4 nights, Mon - Fri.
*About the cabins*: we rented the two Luxury cabins at Redwoods RV. While the cabins are basically mobile homes that are fixed up cabin-style, they are comfortable, roomy and have a nice layout. The loft upstairs is short and does not allow you to stand up fully. Heater worked great. The queen beds were very comfortable. Our 15-year-old slept on the double hideabed and didn't complain. The kitchen has only the basics, but nice new stuff. No large mixing or serving bowls, so bring your own. Also don't forget to bring your own foil, baggies, and sharp chopping knives. Tiny 4-cup coffee maker was kind of a pain, may be worth bringing your own larger coffee maker if you like lots of java in the morning. The BBQ is basically an old rusty briquette BBQ outside by the driveway. We opted not to use it. The stove in the kitchen worked great, and we ended up using it for all our home-cooked meals. Wi-fi must only be available around the office - we did not get a signal in the cabins. Four people in this cabin was just about the max, I think more people could get a bit cramped if staying for longer than a couple nights. The cabins' decks overlook a wooded marshy area. Very peaceful.
*About the campground*: There's a mobile home park adjacent to the cabins that you can see as you drive in, but it really wasn't a big deal. The campground itself has some nice large redwoods right on site, and some really big old redwoods that have been chopped down many many years ago and are covered in ferns and moss. My 2-year-old niece loved the playground in the center of the grounds, and the 2 teenage boys loved the horseshoe pits. We did not use the shared bathroom/showers or the laundry facilities. The camphost was super friendly. It's in a great location central to anything you'd want to do in the area. Some of the campsites look really close together with minimal trees or shrubs as dividers or for privacy. And some are more in the sun, while others are totally shaded by trees. I would recommend calling the campground to find out which sites might best meet your needs.
*Local activities*: We really wanted to spend lots of time with the large redwoods. We actually did a lot of hanging out on the beautiful local beaches as well. The Jedidiah Smith forest was phenomenal, you can't even imagine the beauty and awe of the big ancient redwood trees until you see them up close! If you want to get really into it, you can do research online for all the "hidden titans" of the area - humongous trees off the beaten path that are not marked. Locals are doing what they can to protect these giants and keep their locations secret. I'll just say that we were able to find a few of these, and it is worth the extra effort to locate them. You just want to be very respectful and careful while exploring, and you don't want to walk up onto the trees for pictures, or crush the delicate plants and shrubs that surround them. Here's what we did on this trip, all very close to the campground:
-- Simpson-Reed Trail: AMAZING! Easy hike and incredible. Loved the huge redwood trees and the fallen monster trees. A very special place.
-- Stout Grove Trail: Also amazing. The giant Stout Tree is breathtaking. The lush understory of clover give this trail a mystical feel. Short hike and easy.
-- Boy Scout Tree: this sounds like a great hike but we were unable to access the trail head due to road closures on Howland Hill Road. This is a longer hike (5 miles one way, then you have to come back the same way, making it a 10 mile hike). Right now there's some downed trees and sink holes that need to be fixed on this trail.
-- Mill Creek Trail: This hike is harder and longer than Simpson-Reed and Stout Grove, but fantastic. About 2.5 miles one way, then you double back. You do some climbing. It skirts Mill Creek which is ice blue right now due to glacier runoff. Words can't describe the beauty of this hike and the amazing groves of titan-esque trees on this path.
-- Mystery of Trees: head South on 101 past Crescent City. This was great. Loved the trail that gets you to the gondola. Not too expensive at $15/person.
-- Beaches along 101: We found some great beaches heading south of Crescent City. Driftwood, wildlife, shells, the ocean. All very close by.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank drohecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Absolutely gorgeous campground with free access to showers,which felt wonderful after a long day at the beach.There was a coin washer and dryer available that came in handy. Some of the camp spots are very close and the highway is close so you could hear the traffic somewhat. The beach is only about five minutes away. Crescent city is also about five minutes away. The water and electricity hook-ups were great. Overall, this place was very peaceful, clean and pleasant.

Room Tip: could call the campground and ask to be in a spot not close to the highway and a more secluded camp spot
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MachMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews