We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serenity on the Smith River!”
other travellers have booked this property
Smores around the campfire always a favorite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smores around the campfire always a favorite
Gentle slope to the river bank with great views from all levels Great view from all angles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Smores around the campfire always a favorite
Gentle slope to the river bank with great views from all levels
Great view from all angles
View down river from the deck.
Regulation Horseshoe pits and ping pong for your entertainment
Spacious Living Roon/Dining with Queen Futon
Views from Livingroom/Dining
Livng Room View
Views from every room
Updated counters and backsplash in this fully equipt kitchen.
Breakfast Bar
Queen Bedroom
Designated 'Wild and Scenic River' the Smith offers unlimited recreation
Kayak from the park to home.
A ride down Howland Hill Road is a must to truely experience the 'Old Growth Redwood'
Crescent Beach from the Crescent Coastal Trail and Lookout
Sunset on the Coast
Whaleshead Beach north of Brookings great place for a picnic
Best Salmon and Steelhead fishing in the Country
The big one got away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Crescent City, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alicia R
2 reviews
“Serenity on the Smith River!”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Jack & Sue’s home is a great family getaway on a gorgeous section of the Smith River across from Ruby Van Deventer Park. We really enjoyed the views (and sound) of the river, the outdoor fire pit (between rainy days), ping pong in the garage, the well-stocked kitchen, and the super-cozy family room. Easy to run to either Crescent City or Brookings for groceries or nice meal out. With the beautiful deck, the float & water toys, fishing gear, horseshoes, bikes, etc., this would be a blast in the summer! Next time we visit in the winter we’re definitely fishing for steelhead. The owners are reachable and very responsive. They mentioned getting ready to add a second bathroom, which will make the house even better for larger families. The queen bed is really comfortable - but note that the 3rd bed is a futon, which may not be everyone’s cup of tea. My son was too lazy to try the aerobed option instead :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber V
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better!”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I couldn't have done a better job selecting this house to call home on our week vacation to the Jedediah Smith Redwoods! It was comfortable, cozy and full of anything we needed to have an "at home" feel. It was wonderfully located to all of the "must see" experiences located in this part of the redwoods. The river was tranquil and serene and easily assessable to fish and thoroughly enjoy. Sue was an absolutely joy to work with! Great communication and very accommodating. Take my word for it, this is the spot to stay if your visiting the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Tranquility”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A fabulous place to stay. All that was needed to relax and enjoy ourselves was available - ping pong, horseshoes, and a warming fire pit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catfishva...
Berryville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Live in the Redwoods on the beautiful Smith River”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The location of this home is perfect for hiking the Redwoods. We ventured all the way down to Trinidad for lunch and north in to Oregon to visit the coast. It was so nice having a "home base" for breakfast and dinner. We went grocery shopping before we went to the home, but I wish we wouldn't have. There was so much already in the home from previous guests and the owners, from coffee to laundry detergent. The owners are very accomodating, the house is homey, and the deposit was promptly returned. It is an older home so those looking for luxurious surroundings need to look elsewhere. For us, it was comfortable and perfect for our redwoods vacation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Texas
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The love in the home
Liked least: I liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greenlady...
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The pictures don't do it justice”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable home with spectacular views. The house is clean and very well stocked with games and other comforts. But the real joy is the setting. Highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trishee20...
Denver City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exceptional view from patio and living room windows”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled with friends from Texas touring west coast. We stayed at various VRBO homes. Home was clean and comfortable. View unbelievable. Only downside was not easy access to the water for the elderly couples we are. Even the banana slugs were a great addition to the otters we got to see in the river. We would stay again if we ever get back to that area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and river
Liked least: no easy access to the river
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing