We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous spot with great view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here end of April for three nights.
Ocean view was superb. Worth the extra price, as the non-view rooms face the parking lot and road!
Amazed they escaped the tsunami from Japan, while the harbour was wrecked.
Room was nice and clean, comfy beds; lacked a fridge but the front desk let me put a couple of food items in their fridge. Oatmeal, fruit and tea/coffee for breakfast.
Beautiful walks in state park to the north, with wonderful redwoods. Interesting harbour with fascinating dykes to protect jetty. Worth going to see these massive concrete jigsaw puzzle pieces.
Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

The room is simple and clean, The motel has an immediate, easy access to a great beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. The harbor is just down the road as is The Chart House, a very good place to eat.

Room Tip: Beach side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Motel recommended by TripAdvisor and a friend. Both are correct, a great place to stay at the beach at a very reasonable price. Reservation was placed over the phone. Clerk was helpful and friendly. Room was 'cozy' which translates to 'small'. We stayed three nights, using the room as our home base as we toured the Redwoods and other local attractions. The room was a very nice place to sleep, but too small for anything else. This is not a 'resort', but is a clean, comfortable, motel with a great view of the ocean. Easy beach access. Drawback: no fridge, microwave, or phone.

Room Tip: All but three rooms are non-smoking. Ask for a large room. They have different configurations. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

On advice from Trip Advisor and the Crescent City Chamber of Commerce, we stayed a night here - great beach - I think the only place to stay there that is actually ON the beach. The rooms are clean, but tiny bathroom and no phone or microwave or even a hair dryer...an ok place to stay, but don't expect any extras. But the price is great!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steiny221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed one night in this little place, which is right on the beach. Among the numerous motels in Crescent City, this was the most charming. And at $83 a night, the most reasonable. The facilities are a bit old and the heater was noisy, but we passed a comfortable night. Eat at the Chart Room, just down the street. Be aware that no matter where you stay in Crescent City, you are in a tsunami zone.

Room Tip: Nearly all of them face the ocean. All are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElDude9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a very nicely located small motel. However if you are unlucky and do not get an ocean side room your only view is of the parking lot and hwy 101. Plus all the rooms are very noisy since the entire motel is surrounded by a wooden deck and the sound of people walking and kids running is almost constant. The rooms are also very small and oddly situated; however, they are very clean with comfortable beds. If you get a room on the ocean side it is much better, however since your sliding glass door opens onto the deck if you have any privacy you have to have the drapes closed, which of course cuts you off from your view of the water..
By far the worst drawback is the manager and his wife.My husband and I felt like we were constantly being watched to spot some infraction agaisnt motel policy. The owner seemed strangely obsessed with his plastic deck chairs.
All in all, even with the drawbacks I would reccommend at least one night there, just for the beach access and the sound of the waves right outside. It is also the perfect place to stay on July fourth, Crescent City puts on a great firework show and from the motel you can sit on the deck and see it all. Make sure you call for reservations for the fouth, it is a popular gathering place for the light show.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean side room on one end or the other, being on the end cuts down on the foot traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Crescent Beach Motel is fantastic. My wife and I have been coming to this wonderful little hideaway, every year for 7 years now, and it is always consistently terrific.

If you are looking for a posh place, with fancy amenities, then this place it not for you. No breakfast, (eat at "Good Harvest" just down the street), Pool (try the ocean instead) or exercise room ( take a walk on the beach, 20 steps outside your door :)

However, if you are looking for an intimate, quiet place 20 feet from the ocean, with unparalleled views of wind, waves, and surfers, than this is the best place in the city. Small, quiet rooms, with spectacular views.

The furnishings are a little outdated, but it is also family owned, not corporate, so they don't charge as much. We spend about $80-$95 a night, depending on the season. I have been coming to Crescent City for 35 years now, and the Crescent Beach Motel is by far the best deal in town.

Room Tip: Dining in Crescent City is kinda sketchy... I have vacationed in this lovely town for the past 35 ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
2.3 km away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
488 reviews
1.2 km away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
319 reviews
3.2 km away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
34.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S., Crescent City, CA
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
#3 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $84 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing