We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great drive”

Peak to Peak Scenic Byway
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular route from Estes Park to Central City.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great drive”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a very beautiful drive but only after the Trail Ridge Road. It's a good drive just a little twisty but safe enough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sachi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    224
    55
    15
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great route”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Very scenic route. We take it all the time! Less crowded. Stop in Ned to check out a mountain town that is stuck in the late 60's.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skatingtoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love Colorado”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It was actually the summer of '01, but in my mind it was last month! If you haven't been, put this on your list! After all, CO is a Great Outdoors state, and they is why we all go!
Also, Bear Paw Lodge in Bayfield! Wonderful cabins! The lake area is BEAUTIFUL!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable drive”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We took the Peak to Peak Scenic Highway on the way from Estes to Breck. It was a scenic drive with lots of cyclists peddling up and down the mountains along the way. We stopped along the way to walk through the Chapel of St. Malo, a stone church built along the highway that you can't miss. Overall, a very enjoyable drive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Akpz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed after reading all the hype!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Not a terrible road but can't understand all the glowing reviews??--mostly driving through forests with limited mountain views and slow-going through small towns with little appeal. My family had really been looking forward to this drive and were quite disappointed. The last bit before Estes Park is the only portion worth taking time on, and many other much more "scenic by-ways" are to be found in CO. We felt like we wasted our morning doing this instead of spending more time in the beautiful Breckinridge area or taking the interstate/highway directly to RMNP.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nbc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peak to Peak Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Peak to Peak Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing