We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elkhorn made our wedding a blast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My husband and I got married this past July at the Elkhorn, and most of our friends and family stayed here as well for the weekend. Rich and his family, who managed the Elkhorn, bent over backward to make everything special for us. Yes, there are some rooms that are quite rustic-- and yet over and over our guests praised our choice of venue as being the most relaxed, fun place they could imagine. Stay here if you want to hear ghost stories and other town lore around the glow of campfire in the evenings, walk on the premises and see Elk, (we even saw a bear!), and still be 5 minutes walking to the center of town! The charm is in the history, and the warm people running this lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverChosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

My husband and sis and brother-in-law stumbled onto this place by accident while looking for directions. Intrigued, we went back and took a look at the room in one of the cabins. It was what we were expecting. A rustic place for sure and clean and the price was very reasonable. We stayed and had a really great time. It was a nice, easy walk to downtown. My husband and his sister went for a horse back ride. The evening campfires where all of the visitors could gather were fun. Free beer! The new managers who took over this year were very nice people. The history of the place is quite amazing. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to get back there next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

was verry run down and and not verry nice..... i dont stay at luxuray hotels but this was a dump

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dorthy1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2006

The lodge is older than the town so expect rustic and wonderful and real antique furnishings. Think about traveling back in history the way the first vacationers saw and stayed in Estes Park. Realize the Stanley's stayed at the Elkhorn while they built the "Stanley." Mrs. Stanley played the part of a fortune teller at fall parties at the Elkhorn.
Imagine waltzing with Teddy Roosevelt in the great room. There are no TV's, micro waves, or built in hair dryers but there is pure history for those who appreciate the real thing. There are ghost too.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
macon, ga.
13
Reviewed 16 January 2005

we were at elkhorn for about 2 hours a couple of years ago. it was horrible-my wife wouldnt stay there-luckily we found an alternative. much of what they advertised was unusable-playground was overgrown and full of horse stuff, pool was green. pretty awful. the web site is now at least more indicative of what you will get. this is rustic with a capital "R". the problem is you can stay somewhere better for the same price. i wouldnt have posted this but i saw that it rated 12 out of 20 b and b's in estes and didnt think that was fair. of course my experience was two years ago and maybe its really improved since then.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
1
Reviewed 22 September 2004

Arriving late on a Saturday evening w/o a reservation anywhere in Estes Park, we found Elkhorn at the west edge of town. Coincidentally, a large wedding reception was taking place in the main hall as we rented our cabin. Owners daughter, Val, said they would never turn anyone away; they would pull out a couch before they told anyone they had no room.

Rented a 1 room cabin described as "rustic". Accurate description. Mattress's in earlier review have been replaced. Very comfortable and woodsy. A little pricey for a camping atmosphere, but what can I say, we showed up in town without a reservation and they had a place for us to sleep.

Owners are friendly and conversational; gave us local advice and directions.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO
11
Reviewed 7 October 2003

We loved the Elkhorn Lodge! We stayed in a cabin with our dog, and were made to feel very welcome and at home by the owners. The Sunday brunch, the front porch benches on the cabins, and the atmosphere were all great, and to see the elk walking past our cabin early in the morning was unforgettable. I agree with the previous poster, the mattress was not so great, but the owners are in the process of renovating this winter (03).

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,613 reviews
2.1 km away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
1,031 reviews
2.8 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Nicky's Resort
Nicky's Resort
#19 of 28 in Estes Park
182 reviews
3.5 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.6 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch

Address: 600 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9139
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elkhorn Lodge is the oldest continuous operating lodge in the Rocky Mountain region and is the most historical property in Estes park. Dating to 1874 when Reverend McCreary from Ft. Collins built a small summer cabin on what was to become the Elkhorn property, to today's struggles to save and restore this jewel of the West, the Elkhorn Lodge has been and continues to be a major part of Estes Park. With a fully functioning main lodge, cabins galore, and several spacious buildings for large parties, there's accommodations for any and all at the Elkhorn Lodge and Ranch. And Don't forget about the horseback riding! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elkhorn Lodge And Guest Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing