We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
28
29
11
18
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
29
11
18
44
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 130 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

My husband and sis and brother-in-law stumbled onto this place by accident while looking for directions. Intrigued, we went back and took a look at the room in one of the cabins. It was what we were expecting. A rustic place for sure and clean and the price was very reasonable. We stayed and had a really great time. It was a nice, easy walk to downtown. My husband and his sister went for a horse back ride. The evening campfires where all of the visitors could gather were fun. Free beer! The new managers who took over this year were very nice people. The history of the place is quite amazing. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to get back there next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2007

was verry run down and and not verry nice..... i dont stay at luxuray hotels but this was a dump

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dorthy1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2006

The lodge is older than the town so expect rustic and wonderful and real antique furnishings. Think about traveling back in history the way the first vacationers saw and stayed in Estes Park. Realize the Stanley's stayed at the Elkhorn while they built the "Stanley." Mrs. Stanley played the part of a fortune teller at fall parties at the Elkhorn.
Imagine waltzing with Teddy Roosevelt in the great room. There are no TV's, micro waves, or built in hair dryers but there is pure history for those who appreciate the real thing. There are ghost too.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2005

we were at elkhorn for about 2 hours a couple of years ago. it was horrible-my wife wouldnt stay there-luckily we found an alternative. much of what they advertised was unusable-playground was overgrown and full of horse stuff, pool was green. pretty awful. the web site is now at least more indicative of what you will get. this is rustic with a capital "R". the problem is you can stay somewhere better for the same price. i wouldnt have posted this but i saw that it rated 12 out of 20 b and b's in estes and didnt think that was fair. of course my experience was two years ago and maybe its really improved since then.

3  Thank Adventurer25268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2004

Arriving late on a Saturday evening w/o a reservation anywhere in Estes Park, we found Elkhorn at the west edge of town. Coincidentally, a large wedding reception was taking place in the main hall as we rented our cabin. Owners daughter, Val, said they would never turn anyone away; they would pull out a couch before they told anyone they had no room.

Rented a 1 room cabin described as "rustic". Accurate description. Mattress's in earlier review have been replaced. Very comfortable and woodsy. A little pricey for a camping atmosphere, but what can I say, we showed up in town without a reservation and they had a place for us to sleep.

Owners are friendly and conversational; gave us local advice and directions.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigate24871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews