We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Bike Rental

We decided it was too much of a hassle to travel all the way from Iowa with our bikes for vacation... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2018
Torie H
Rock Climbing

Took a group of Scouts rock climbing-all very inexperienced. Great experience all the way through... read more

Reviewed July 15, 2018
huskersam2018
,
Omaha, Nebraska
Read all 168 reviews
  
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
144
19
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
19
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bargain basement rock climbing hiking boots fly fishing outdoor gear name brand north face snowshoe tour great pair climbing guide great snow provided lunch rocky card emerald lake hour hike knowledgeable guides catch fish
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 167 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We decided it was too much of a hassle to travel all the way from Iowa with our bikes for vacation but that wasn't a problem at all when we discovered Estes Park Mountain Shop. We decided to just rent for a few hours and ride around Lake Estes but it was a great experience. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff!

Thank Torie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you Torie for the kind words, and for allowing us to be a part of your vacation and Estes experience. We are glad that you found us, and were able to still making biking a part of your vacation hassle-free. We hope you had an amazing time in the Rocky Mountains, and hope that if you are in the area again, you'll stop by and say hi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Took a group of Scouts rock climbing-all very inexperienced. Great experience all the way through. Seth was one of our guides and he was outstanding. Safety is very important and equipment was in great shape. Pretty much everyone in our group succeeded with climbing more walls than expected. They even set up a more challenging wall, which a few climbed. Great experience!

Thank huskersam2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Thank you for the kind words - we are thrilled that the boys all had a great time and were able to learn about rock climbing! We appreciate your trust in us, and your safety, while maintaining a fun atmosphere, is always of paramount importance. Again, thank you for choosing Estes Park Mountain Shop for your trip - it was our sincerest pleasure to be a part of your Estes experience. We hope you had an amazing time in the Rocky Mountains, and we hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We scheduled our guided fishing six months in advance in order to get the date we needed. We decided on the six hour trip and we were not disappointed. We arrived early and had time to do some shopping and get our fishing licenses. Our guide Ryan got us outfitted and on the road in good time. We started fishing the Big Thompson River (we have some fly fishing experience). I was lucky enough to have two rainbow trout on the first few casts. We moved up and down the river looking for bigger fish, missed a few and caught a few including a nice brown trout. I also had a large sucker on a fly. We both enjoyed our time on the river and had a few photos taken by Ryan. Would highly recommend taking a trip with Ryan, he provided lunch and water for us too.

Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you Wendy for the kind words. We are so glad you had a great day on the water with Ryan learning the art of fly fishing! We truly appreciate you allowing us to be a part of your experience here in Estes Park, and enjoyed getting to share the beauty of our mountain town! Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018

We visited the Estes Park Mountain Shop 3 times during our one-week stay. We found the prices to be very reasonable, and the bargain basement was a treasure-trove of deals! Lesson learned-they have an outstanding annual sale right around Memorial Day, so if you are in the store and even contemplating a purchase, just go for it! The employees are very friendly, knowledgeable and customer-focused. My husband and I have each been thinking about new hiking boots for months, and appreciated the time and energy invested in our needs and questions as we made our final selections. The young man who helped us even engaged with our kids who were not-to-patiently waiting as we tried on boots. Trust us-this is the place for gear in EP!

Thank Mom24Crazies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Thank you for the kind words and enthusiastic endorsement! It is our sincerest pleasure to help all our customers find exactly what they need when they come in - we truly enjoy sharing our knowledge and advice with your family with the hope of making your time in the mountains even more enjoyable. Again, thank you for choosing us while staying in Estes - we hope you had a fantastic week and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

We did the 4hr guided rock climbing tour and haf Seth as our guide. He was the absolute best! So encouraging and made you feel safe at all times. He genuinely enjoys climbing and is really knowledgeable. Highly recommend doing the rock climbing. The shop is also great, everything you could want and so cheap. All the staff were really helpful and nice.

1  Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

We are so glad you had a great time with Seth learning how to rock climb - Thank you for choosing us to be a part of your Estes Park experience. It was our pleasure to share in this adventure with you, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

This place is great, they have everything you would ever need for fishing, hiking, biking, etc. Everyone we talked to were very friendly and helpful. Matt was an excellent guide for our fly fishing trip. They have clothing, shoes, camping gear and more.

1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Thank you Mark for the kind words. We are so glad you had a great day on the water with Matt learning the art of fly fishing! We truly appreciate you allowing us to be a part of your experience here in Estes Park, and enjoyed getting to share the beauty of our mountain town! Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018

During our stay in Estes park, we visited this shop twice. Once for rock climbing and the other time for bike rental. Very affordable and the staff are very helpful.

Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you so much for the kind words and for choosing us to be a part of your stay in Estes Park. It is always our pleasure to share our knowledge, passions, and information with our customers. It sounds like you were able to experience some adventure while in Estes, and we are thrilled to help in making your time memorable. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018

We didn't want to let snowy trails keep us from hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park, so we signed up for a Guided Snowshoe Hike at the Estes Park Mountain Shop. My husband and I had never snowshoe'd before, and we were set up for a 4 hour hike with Mike Caldwell. Over the phone, both Zion and Andrew at the Estes Park Mountain Shop gave me lots of information about what to expect and what to bring. The day before the hike, our guide Mike called us to check in and go over what to wear for the conditions we'd expect. The day of the hike, he fitted us for waterproof boots and snowshoes, gave us a mini-lesson, and off we went to RMNP. What a great time we had! It was a private tour - just the two of us and Mike! He was a superb guide - showing us how to hike in the snowshoes and use the poles, plus he had all sorts of fun info about the mountains, wildlife, nature, fishing, the area, climbing, etc. He was extremely safety conscious and we felt we had a wonderful experience for snowshoeing in the mountains and we could easily do it on our own another time. He had us hiking at the perfect pace and we did about 4 miles round trip with a 800 foot change in elevation - going by Bear Lake, Nymph Lake, Dream Lake and Emerald Lake. He had us stop at great points for pictures, which he helpfully took for us, and he had snacks also. This was such a fabulous experience - beautiful setting, great guide, tons of fun. We got so much more out of it than if we had merely rented equipment and tried it ourselves. Highly, highly recommend it!

Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you Jodi for the kind words - we are so glad you had a great time snowshoeing with Mike in Rocky Mountain National Park. We are fortunate to have highly knowledgeable guides and are thrilled you were able to experience the Rocky Mountains with one of the best! Again, thank you for letting us be a part of your experience, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018

My family and I recently spent the weekend in Estes Park. While we were there we decided to go indoor rock climbing, a first for all of us. After a short search on the internet we found Estes Park Mountain Shop. Upon entering the store we were met by a very friendly staff member name Sean who explained the options. We chose the day pass for myself and sons which allowed us to climb as long as we wanted or until our hands and arms became too tired to continue. I was very impressed with Sean and his customer service. I know based on his service alone my family will return to Estes Park Mountain Shop next time we are in Estes. The rock climbing walls were perfect for us. We can only be described as rank amateurs, but nonetheless had a lot of fun climbing the walls and seeing who could touch the highest handhold. I particularly appreciate Sean being understanding with our nervous dog who is not used to being in such public environments. I recommend this store to anyone and will tell my friends.

Thank Thad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you Thad for the kind words - we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We truly appreciate you seeking us out for a little rock climbing while spending the weekend in Estes Park, and are glad you had such a great time in the gym as well as such a positive interaction with Sean. Our staff is always passionate about sharing our love of the mountains and activities with our customers, and Sean is a fountain of great information always willing to help. Again, we sincerely thank you for choosing us to be a part of your Estes experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2018

A small group of 4 us gals booked a 6 hour guided snowshoe hike, we all were first time snowshoe-ers! Estes Park Mountain shop was fantastic to work with from beginning to end. Booking the trip was easy, they allowed each of us to call in on our own and book the tour, they gave excellent information about the area and the roads out to the mountains as we were heading to Steamboat Springs after the hike. They will also provide any equipment you do not have, including boots, gloves, hats etc. They paired us with Floyd Wright, he was an excellent guide! He was friendly, knowledgeable, and a true kid at heart. He loved to stop and play in the snow which we all enjoyed! He took us on a few "local" trails and provided great information about the park. As an avid hiker and newbie to Colorado I loved learning from him!

I highly recommend a guided snowshoe hike for your first time. It is a different world than hiking on a clear trail. The park is absolutely amazing in the winter! It is one of the coolest little adventure's I have been on in a long time! I think I will be buying myself some snowshoe's for next season!

Thank you for everything! We had a wonderful time!

Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you Ashley for the kind words! It sounds like you and your friends had a very fun time snowshoeing with Floyd in Rocky Mountain National Park. We are glad you not only had a great time snowshoeing, but also had a good experience when booking your trip. It is always our pleasure to share our passion for the outdoors with our customers, and we hope you continue to enjoy the mountains in the winter this next season (it is a pretty magical time to go explore)! Again, thank you for letting us be a part of your Estes Park experience, we welcome you to Colorado, and we hope we can hep in your next mountain adventure in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews