We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Snow Shoeing Adventure”

Estes Park Mountain Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a specialty outdoor store located in Estes Park, Colorado at the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Since 1986 we have been offering equipment, apparel, rentals and guided trips and instruction for all of our favorite activities. We offer in-season inventory as well as closeout inventory. We offer rock-climbing lessons and fly-fishing instruction. We have a huge rental department featuring camping equipment, climbing equipment, bikes, snowshoes, downhill skis, snowboards, sleds and tubes.
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Our family had an amazing snow showing adventure with the fantastic guide, Mike Caldwell. He made the excursion so interesting with his knowledge and patience with my children.

Thank Tiffani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you Tiffani for the kind words - we are so glad that you and your family had a great experience with Mike while going on a snowshoe adventure! Mike is a great guide, and his love of the outdoors, kids and teaching shine through. We appreciate you letting us be a part of your Estes Park excursion and trip to Rocky Mountain National Park. We hope you had a great rest of your vacation, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bargain basement"
in 21 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 11 reviews
"rock climbing"
in 12 reviews
"fly fishing"
in 18 reviews
"outdoor gear"
in 6 reviews
"snow shoe"
in 5 reviews
"name brand"
in 5 reviews
"indoor climbing"
in 4 reviews
"north face"
in 5 reviews
"great pair"
in 3 reviews
"great buys"
in 3 reviews
"snowshoe tour"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic prices"
in 2 reviews
"outdoor sports"
in 2 reviews
"ski equipment"
in 2 reviews
"great clothes"
in 2 reviews
"climbing guide"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We went there to rent some sleds (saucer rental). $5 per sled for the day. They also have tons of mountain equipment for rent. Tents, sleeping bags, spikes for shoes anything you can think of. The staff is super friendly and give great simple directions on where to go to satisfy your mountain fix whether it’s hiking or whatever. They are open late while most places close early. Sorry about the awful photo but it was late.

Thank Stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you Stephanie for the kind words - we appreciate you allowing us to be a part of your Estes Park experience! With the largest rental department in the Estes Valley, we indeed have all the gear needed to make your Rocky Mountain adventure memorable. Our staff is passionate about the outdoors, and we all love sharing this passion with our customers. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Yeah, so no sense in investing in a closet full of North Face equipment for our week trip in RMNP. Andrew helped us suit up and tackle a snowy hike that we will forever cherish memories from! And the rentals aren’t junky- top notch stuff, I didn’t have to worry if my kids were cold- they had a blast playing in the white stuff we never have in Bama. Thanks Andrew!

Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you Tiffany for your kind words. You are absolutely correct - there is no need to fill your closet with mountain attire you will rarely use! We have the largest rental department in the Estes Valley, and have all the gear to make your adventure comfortable and fun! We are so glad your family had a blast experiencing snow, and hope the rest of your trip was equally as enjoyable. Thank you again for letting us be a part of your Estes Park experience, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

The indoor climbing wall was lots of fun for my husband and kids. The staff was super nice and helpful and were very kind and encouraging with my kids, pushing them to do a little more than they thought they could, and even helped my 6-year-old up the wall without him realizing he was being helped. Great experience.

Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you Amy for the kind words and for letting us be a part of your experience in Estes Park - we are glad your family had a great experience in our climbing gym. It is always our pleasure to share in the joy of each climber as they surpass what they thought was personally possible. Again, thank you for choosing Estes Park Mountain Shop, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Went to get a jacket for the wife and walked out with a lot of great information about local hikes. Staff was awesome and very helpful. We went back later a got some more hiking supplies.

1  Thank TMS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPMountainShop, Manager at Estes Park Mountain Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you Ted for your kind words. We appreciate you choosing the Estes Park Mountain Shop while in Estes. We are glad we could help with not only the gear, but the knowledge to make your time in the Rocky Mountains memorable. Thank you again for letting us be a part of your experience, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estes Park Mountain Shop also viewed

 

Been to Estes Park Mountain Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing