We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2015 visit to Hotel Estes”
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We stayed here a couple nights back in May 2015. The accommodations were great for our larger party. We stayed in one of their rooms that has 2 queen beds and a set of bunk beds. There was plenty of room. The complimentary breakfast was great too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank astec68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2015

Thanks for the review! That's a very popular room at hotel Estes. It sounds like it was a perfect fit for you. We area happy you chose us for your place to stay while on vacation. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Good location slightly outside of Estes Park. A rather old model with worn out facility. It is reasonable in cost. Breakfast is available after 8:00 am, it is not good if you want to start your trip earlier.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Thanks for your review. We are an older property but are constantly making improvements. It's a great value for the strip and a great place for families or people coming out needing a hub for all of their activities. Breakfast starts at 7 a.m., not 8, giving you plenty of time to get out and going early in the morning. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

I found this place online. We are from CT and taking a tour around to National parks and needed a place to stay before RMNP. The front desk person is very nice, helpful and friendly. We needed a room to hold 6 people. Our room had 3 queen size clean, nice beds. Our room was nicely decorated, mountain style. My kids loved the heated swimming pool and hot tub. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you had a nice time in the Rocky Mountains! the pool is great for those who still enjoy a deep end. The rooms with 3 beds are nice and spacious. Thanks for staying. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

I found this place online. We are from CT and taking a tour around to National parks and needed a place to stay before RMNP. The front desk person is very nice, helpful and friendly. We needed a room to hold 6 people. Our room had 3 queen size clean, nice beds. Our room was nicely decorated, mountain style. My kids loved the heated swimming pool and hot tub. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thanks for the review! The rooms with 3 beds are great for those who need the extra space! The pool is great after a long day in RMNP. It's also next door to the local athletic club which offers inexpensive day passes for those who don't want to miss out on their workout. I hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable. Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Estes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The rooms were not quiet, we could hear our neighbors conversations quite well.

The rooms were clean and have a small fridge. The continental breakfast was standard. They also had granola bars to grab and go any time of day, which was nice.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly - easily the best part about this hotel.

Location is good - just a mile from downtown Estes.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank egersten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had an overall nice time in Estes Park. The hotel is not new construction, however, it is a gem when compared to some of the other older properties on the strip. $ for $ you get a lot more for your money than other roadside motels in town. We do offer complimentary breakfast, free bottled water, and snacks for hikes. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer, and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

My BF and I traveled to Colorado to attend a memorial service for a family member and decided to spend a few extra days.

We travelled north to Boulder and decided to keep driving to Estes Park because we heard it was a fun place to visit.

On our drive we found this hotel on our phone through a travel website and booked it because they had two nights for 300 plus breakfast and free wifi.

The hotel was motel like but it was very clean and friendly efficient staff to greet us. The room had GREAT views of the Rockies and was perfect for two. The air conditioner did not work so well but it wasn't much of a bother as it was cooler at that elevation.

The hotel had a pool and jacuzzi hot tub and plenty of parking near the rooms. Breakfast was decent - lots of packaged goodies like sweet rolls, donuts, bear claws (which my BF appreciated very much) etc. But also hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, toast, bagels, and juices/coffee. Also free water and granola bars all day long.

So the location is amazing! As stated the views are terrific and it's located about a mile from town where you'll find a ton of shops and restaurants along the main street AND along this very beautiful
River.

Also The Stanley Hotel (hotel which inspired Stephen King's The Shining) is right up the street AND the best part is Rocky Mountain State Park is about two Miles away where you'll find the most beautiful mountains and views!

We would return here very easily - their is also horse back riding and mini golf (which I won a free game after getting a hole in one on last hole!)

We ❤️ Estes Park!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank saltygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thanks for your review! Smart move to make your way to Estes while in Colorado! I'm glad to hear you had a nice time. It's a great place to unwind and relax. It sounds like your mini golf skills were on par while you were here:-) Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Nice view and that's it. Shelf above hangers was dirty, grass on the bed, stain on the side of the mattress that looked like blood. In the morning they lay the sheets for the next guest outside on the bench in front of our room to sit for who knows how long. First time I've ever seen an envelope on the desk asking for a tip for the housekeeper. I think NOT. Was disappointed but they got a good chunk of our money anyways.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gohawks1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Sorry your didn't have a better stay with us. We really want to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. We are a great value when compared to other properties in the area. Unlike other properties, we are constantly improving and upgrading our rooms. We just added new counter tops in the bathrooms and are always making improvements. The housekeepers do a great job. I apologize if something was overlooked. This time of the year with the dust and pollen flying, it gets everywhere. They have been with us a long time. The tip envelopes are there because they do a great job. Sometimes people need a reminder that it is customary to tip housekeepers everyday when you travel. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.3 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
853 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
1.5 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
99 reviews
4.5 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
0.9 km away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8929 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: C$135 - C$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing