We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Basic motel just outside of town. Rooms were of a good size and spartan. Standard breakfast fare. Rooms are over priced for what they offer, but consistent with the area given the proximity of the national park.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

This was the most affordable place for us to stay 3 nights in Estes Park, and given the previous reviews, I had my expectations low to begin with. It's definitely an economy-grade motel, and definitely could use a refresh.
Before I go into the pros/cons of this place, I will say that all of the staff I encountered here were VERY friendly and helpful in all ways needed, so no complaints about the employees.
Now to the hotel itself. Like others said, it needs a major renovation. I couldn't even make a guess as to what era the carpeting might have been installed. The interior seems to be falling apart, the rooms had that old fashioned dropped ceiling with many of those panels not even fitting correctly, some were completely bumped up into the dirty joist area that I had to try and re-seat. Carpeting worn and torn. The bedding "seemed" clean, but the beds themselves are VERY firm and uncomfortable unless you like sleeping on such. The pillows were soft but slept VERY uncomfortably warm.
The TV was large, and there was a DVD player we used with a Redbox rental from the Safeway in town, however, they have the TVs set with "hotel mode" and the volume of the DVD wouldn't match the volume of TV shows, and the other color settings were also off and unable to be adjusted for DVD playback, so it made it difficult to really enjoy the movie. I understand why they probably have the TVs set such way, because you could hear conversations from any room in the hallway very easily, along with their TVs.
Breakfast area is huge, and they have those waffle makers and always had hot hotel-grade coffee. Not much else of interest for breakfast.
The location in Estes is near the lake, so I took early morning walk down to the trail there, but you do have to cross a major road to get there. And this location is not very close to the "funner", more business/restaurant/etc part of Estes Park. The one distillery is within a block though.
All in all, despite the above, we didn't leave after one night, the price was simply too good by comparison to other properties and we were looking to save money where we could on this particular trip, primarily just was looking for a place to sleep while spending our days in beautiful Rocky Mountain National Park. However, we will likely be looking elsewhere next time, because the beds are simply not comfortable after a long day of hiking in the mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNtripper1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodewayInnManager, Manager at Rodeway Inn Estes Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Rodeway Inn is an economy brand hotel. We do offer a free continental breakfast that includes fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, make your own waffles as well as bagels and danish. We will be updating more of our rooms this winter so we hope you have the opportunity to see our upgrades next Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Stayed here while visiting the Rocky Mountain National Park, most places had no vacancy signs, there were rooms available here though. It was OK, staff was very friendly. Room was decent. Nothing really stood out super good or super bad. There rooms are a little expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlendonMullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We had a nice room on the second floor and the views were spectacular. The room was odor free and nicely furnished. The price of the room was reasonable and they
provided a continental breakfast. The room was quiet without other guest noises and
we found nothing to complain about.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We stayed at the Rodeway Inn for a couple nights in August so we could visit the Rockies. It was a very comfortable room and the indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna were immensely welcome after a day hiking in the mountains. Miss Vicky was a terrific host; she provided excellent service and was super friendly. We had absolutely no problems during our stay and would love to visit the Rodeway again.

If you're thinking, what, a Rodeway? Change your mind and give it shot; it's a great value and you won't regret the accommodations!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This was probably a wonderful hotel....40 years ago. Very dated, dirty, and overpriced. The staff was very nice though and helpful but the hotel itself should be ashamed to charge what it does. Our bathroom sink had a hole in it from rusting through! Chairs were covered with grease and grime. Carpets filthy. The air worked though...too well. It wouldn't shut off and the fan speed was broke. Deadbolt wouldn't work on the door. The pool was ok but alot of mold on the ceiling and shower areas were pretty gross."sigh" not a good stay. The breakfast, however, was pretty good. The staff tries hard with the little given them.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clubines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Nice people at the reception, but the place is smelly, dirty, old and overpriced.
You cannot open the windows and the smell is something you have to deal with. Rusty sink in the restroom, plastic floor badly glued on top on who knows how old structure, food on the floor beside the beds left by previous guests, hair all over the places, stains on the carpet (probably 25 years old or more). The room was extremely noisy and the bulky air conditioning system could be compared to a Diesel engine at its top RPM (for the noise and inefficiency). Unfortunately, it was the only place with available rooms in the area and now I know why: NO ONE WANTS TO GO THERE AND NO ONE SHOULD!

Room Tip: Simply do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
201 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
1,073 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
4.4 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
1.7 km away
Peak To Peak Lodge
Peak To Peak Lodge
#20 of 28 in Estes Park
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Estes Park

Address: 1701 N Lake Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9406 (Formerly the Inn at Estes Park)
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $77 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Estes Park Hotel Estes Park
Estes Park Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing