We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in amazing location!”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 nights here to celebrate out 10 year anniversary. The owners went out of there way to make our stay a great one, even having flowers delivered to our room. The room was very clean and recently updated and the bed was very comfortable. The accommodations were great with a light complimentary breakfast, hot tub, fire pit and nice patio area. It is located close enough to make the beautiful short walk to the downtown area along the river and a prime location to the entrance to the park. We would highly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again if we make it back this way

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank buckeyetraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

It sounds like your anniversary trip was a success, capped off by a comfortable place to relax after your days of hiking. Thank you for writing about your experience, and yes please do give us a call the next time you are planning a trip to Estes Park. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2015

My wife, daughter and I spent 3 nights. We were attending our niece's wedding held in Estes Park. I am a travel agent from N.J. and always looking for special hotel/Inn
to recommend to my clients. I appreciate the special attention the young owners offer all their guests. Each morning started with a great Continental Breakfast. Our room,
a bit small with 2 queen beds with 3 adults but very clean with a very modern bathroom. In my business location, location, location is the most important to clients.
The Maxwell Inn definitely receives an excellent review from me and my family.
Hank P.

Room Tip: All Room have great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Hank - Wow! We are honored to have a travel agents stamp of approval! You and your family were so nice to chat with and we couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our rooms and our customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Room was very comfortable and quiet. The hotel is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the shops and tourists but close enough to walk to town. There is a pizza outlet across the street and the pizza was great. We sat out in the courtyard every night next to the fire pit and enjoyed the quiet evenings. The hotel is only a few minutes from the National Park entrance. If we ever go back to Estes Park we will stay at The Maxwell Inn again. The owners (young couple) run the place and are very nice and informative. 100% Satisfied!

Room Tip: Rooms are all not the same so ask for what you want to fit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

John - It was so nice meeting and talking with you and your family! We loved seeing you sitting by the fire every night, playing games and having a great time. We would love to have you back again, please give us a call when you are ready to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the maxwell inn during our road trip. It was a very nice and clean inn with a good location to visit Estes (within walking distance) and the park. We received helpful tips to plan our days and hikes by the owners. Would stay there again!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Johanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Johanna - Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience. We are glad that our suggestions and tips for things to do in Estes and RMNP were just what you were looking for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

The room and bathroom were a bit small but everything worked well. There was a bit of street noise. Wifi was good. The price level was rather too high, as typical for the high season here. The pizza place on the other side of the street has good pizza and one can cool feet in the river that just passes here.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Robinyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We've worked hard to create a nice vacation spot here in the the Rockies and were happy that you were able to see the area with our Inn as a home base. I looked at a few of your other reviews from the area, and it doesn't look like you were very pleased with how busy the area was during your vacation - perhaps a trip in September or October would be more your speed. Safe travels and thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Just perfect. Very clean, very friendly. Recently remodeled with nice amenities. Just like my wife and I, you won't be disappointed. Easy walk along Big Thompson River to downtown Estes Park and the shops.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PAHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write about you stay at The Maxwell Inn. We are happy to hear that your room was clean, comfortable and in a great location for you to get to Downtown and RMNP. Please keep us in mind when you return to Estes Park, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Lovely place to stay close to park entrance. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a spacious room with king sized bed. The pillows and bed were very comfortable. We were meant to stay 2 nights in one room and then move to another room for the 3rd night.Dana went out of her way to arrange that we could stay in the same room for all the nights which was very helpful.Dana was also very helpful in recommending restaurants in the area.Breakfast was basic but good. Lovely 10min walk into town. I highly recommend staying here when in Estes Park. Dana goes out of her way to make one feel comfortable and at home.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms probably have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Fritzi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

We are so glad that you two enjoyed your stay at The Maxwell Inn! It was nice to talk with you during your stay and thank you for sharing your pictures with us. Our future guests will appreciate your feedback about our rooms, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We hope you had safe travels back home. Please think of us if you ever travel back to Estes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.9 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
2.6 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
0.4 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,656 reviews
3.3 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.7 km away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $141 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing