We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
443
91
29
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
91
29
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pityogurtlip balmpizza place across the streetcontinental breakfasthot tubgranola barsgreat place to staydowntown areaenjoyed our staynational parkhighly recommend staying herewalk into townthree nightscomfortable bedslocation is greatrmnp entrance
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 568 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

The Maxwell Inn is a clean and affordable place to stay while in Estes Park. It's about a convenient 10 minute walk into town and it's a stop on the free Gold Trolley Line which is part of the free Estes Park Shuttle system. Our room #7 was very clean and updated and the grounds are well maintained. Dana at the front desk was very friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. The Inn has a large patio area with tables and a fire pit - great for relaxing after a long day in RMNP. Would absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean201201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jean - Thanks for staying with us this summer and for a great review! I enjoy meeting our guests, visiting, and making helpful recommendations when I can. Using our website (themaxwellinn.com) lets you pick the exact room you'll stay in, which helps guests know what to expect when they come. Because the majority of our rooms are different from one another, that's a great help. I think I've mentioned it before, but when we bought the motel it looked VERY different, inside and out - but one of the best things about it was something that we didn't even realize at the time.... the location is ideal. You can quickly get to either Park entrance, there's a great pizza place across the street, there's a great breakfast/lunch/dinner place within just a few minute walk, and you can get downtown without needing to drive and search for parking! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

My husband and I just visited EP over the weekend to celebrate our anniversary and had a wonderful stay at the Maxwell Inn. I pored over many, many hotels and am SO glad I ended up booking here. From the start, they were super helpful and responded to all of my emails prior to our visit. The location was terrific, quick drive/walk to anything you might need. Check in was easy. We had room #17 and were very pleased with the size and it was super clean. No views or anything, but that isn't a big deal to us at all. The room was quaint and well appointed. Comfy bed and an AC unit we used quite a bit, due to some serious sunburns! They have a large selection of DVD's to choose from, which was such a treat after a long day of hiking. The hot tub was also awesome, they provide you with towels and turned on the fire both nights for us while we enjoyed the hot tub--those extra touches were much appreciated. The breakfast was simple, but honestly sufficient and large enough for us both. I loved the outdoor area and wish we were visiting long enough to enjoy it--cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rhiannadow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

RD4 -
It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary getaway. Congrats! The patio on the side of the motel with the fire pit and hot tub can be a pretty relaxing place. Sure, it's near the road (which isn't terribly busy anyway), but at night it quiets down pretty well. We'll have guests get back from hiking and sit out there in the afternoon, or get back from dinner and meet other couples around the fire. It's pretty neat if you enjoy being outside. We understand that not everyone does, so we've worked to make the rooms as comfortable as possible as well. Sorry to hear about the sunburns! I remember the first time I visited Colorado I burned worse than any other time in my life - something about being a whole mile closer to the sun really makes a difference! When we first bought the motel only about half of the rooms had A/C - boy was that a surprise. We fixed that during our first off-season (winter). Thank you again for staying with us, and for the kind words. We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

We really enjoyed our trip to The Maxwell Inn at Estes Park. The rooms were very nice and updated, clean and quiet. The staff was great as well. For those planning a trip to Estes Park this location is right on the edge of town and you can easily walk to the main strip where shops and restaurants are located or there is a trolly stop nearby that will drop you off as well. It is also just 3 miles or so to Rocky Mountain National Park entrance so one really couldn't ask for a better location. Prior to our trip I reached out and got great recommendations for daily excursions and horse back riding recommendation that turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. Highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Tracy - Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and for your kind words. If folks have an idea generally of what they want to do while they're here, we love helping narrow that itinerary down with local recommendations. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time, that the location worked for you all, and that you enjoyed spending time in Estes and at our place! We agree, if you're not super excited about walking downtown or back - the Trolley becomes very convenient really quick! Thank you again and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

The Maxwell Inn in Estes Park was and is the best hotel we stayed at during our three weeks lasting trip through Colorado, Utah, Wyoming and South Dakota. Our room in the annex was spacious, very comfortable, cozy and quiet. We found everything in the room and in the Maxwell Inn we needed and we could relax after a long day in Rocky Mountain National Park. The owners Peter and Dana could not do better because they fulfill every wish you have, we felt like king and queen in the Maxwell Inn!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RoNiMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

RoNiMu we really appreciate the great review! Thanks for staying with us, and we're overjoyed to hear the Annex met all of your needs! This will be just the second season for that building (four rooms), and the feedback has been great. Those rooms are larger than our regular rooms, and folks really have enjoyed that setup. It's great that you enjoyed Estes and our place, and that you got to visit and vacation in the West. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and for staying with us this summer!!! Come again, we'll be here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

This is a very clean and cozy modernized old school motel. Our room was spotless and very space efficient. We really liked the patio area outside our room. The check-in was smooth and friendly. Great location to town and RMNP.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BDG6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

BDG - Thanks for staying with us this summer and for writing a review. We appreciate the kind words and will pass along the great feedback to our housekeepers. Space efficient is something we've tried to become VERY familiar with as some of the rooms just aren't that big. In six years, I think we've gone through three versions of furniture layout/setup and I feel like we do keep getting better at making the rooms comfortable and efficient. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews