We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place for the Family"”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in one of Discovery Lodge's cabins and it was great. More room than I had expected; I have stayed at other places in Estes for the same price (or actually more) with not near the amount of room. The accommodations were great we had everything we needed in the kitchen to prepare full meals daily. Great helpful staff and kids loved the trout pond. Definitely staying here anytime we are in Estes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

So happy to hear that you enjoyed our Cabin. We also have a 2 story house with 6 bedrooms total. Of course if you do not need that much space, you can just rent the upstairs with the 3 bedrooms instead. But it is great for large familes or groups. Thanks so much for taking the time out to write us such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you next time! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

I would like to share with others how wonderful The Discovery Lodge is. I have come to call it my home away from home. Nowhere else have I gotten the family feel, my dog is a cherished guest as well. The views are spectacular and the elk often visit. The rooms are beautiful! Cheapest place in town.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

That is so sweet of you to say. Thank you so much! We really appreciate your buisness and so glad you pick us everytime. Your dog is always welcome too of course! :D
We look forward to seeing you again, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I picked this place for a last-minute spring break trip to Estes for myself and several of my friends. The pricing was very competitive, the location was great, and it was one of the only places I found that had rooms that could accommodate 5 people.

The room was spacious and clean and had a great view of the mountains. The amenities were adequate (there is a small microwave and fridge in the room), but if you want a hairdryer you will have to ask the front desk for one as they do not supply them in the rooms. Also, if you pick a room that comes with a fold-out futon, it does not come supplied with linens and pillows, so you will have to ask for that as well. The room did come with a large flat screen TV and DVD player, which is nice to have if you plan to bring any movies on the trip, and I believe you can check out movies from the lobby as well. The TV did not appear to have basic cable, but had a wide variety of music channels.

My only complaints about the motel would be a) the pool area and b) the incessant construction.

The hot tub appeared to be in good shape and was well-maintained, but the pool area was absolutely rank. The pool had been drained and the debris left behind was left to fester in the sun every day. I would certainly suggest that if the pool is not going to be utilized, it should definitely be cleaned out, because every time we were outside, either near the hot tub or on our balcony, we could smell the overwhelming stench of sewage emanating from the pool.

In regards to the construction, we were awoken to the sound of power drills and hammering around 8 am on at least two occasions. The walls are thin at the motel and the sound really travelled, making it nearly impossible to sleep. Again I would suggest possibly waiting until a tad bit later in the morning to commence construction work, because it was so loud that it woke me out of a dead sleep.

Aside from these minor inconveniences, this was a nice place to come back to at the end of each day of our vacation. It is centrally located and we could just walk to town everyday, which was very convenient for us. The people who work here are very friendly and accommodating, happy to help if you have a question or an issue.

I think we would definitely return here the next time we vacation in Estes!

Room Tip: Room 312 is literally next door to the hot tub, which is convenient, but the stench from the dirty p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yavarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Please accept our apologizes; we are unable to modify any new building or modifications associated with our pool area due to Estes Park building regulations. We have since cleaned and drained any standing water to eliminate any odor that could be generated from the pool area. We do have basic channels in all of our rooms along with sports and news channels. When making reservations we are able to put supplies in your rooms with any extra amenities so you do not have to specify at check that you would like a hairdryer. Please come back and visit us again we are constantly trying to improve our customer service and the quality of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice location close to town. Nice staff and clean updated rooms. We came in the early spring but I bet this is a great place in the summer with room to sit outside your room and enjoy the scenery. Beds were really comfortable. Doors have screen doors so in the summer you can leave your door open and enjoy the mountain air.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vash500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thanks so much for the review! We all try to encourage to take advantage of the nice cool breeze we get from the mountains. We rarely need a/c. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We update rooms every winter, so next time there may be even more improvement! We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great price, room was very comfortable, loved the views from the balcony. Wonderful, dog friendly establishment. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thanks so much for the nice review and recommending us! Glad to hear you had a great time. So happy to know our staff was nice and helpful. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Discovery Lodge was a great place to stay. It was with in walking distance of the main strip in Estes and the grocery store. There was a cute little pond right out our front door. The staff was very polite and our room was great. Thanks Discovery Lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moon003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Sounds like you had a great time! Glad you were able to take full advantage of our location! We sure do all the time :)
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We all really appreciate it. if you didnt already know, the pond in our back yard has fish in there! Everyone is more than welcome to go fishing! Its catch and release, but still a good time!
Thanks again so much and we look forward to seeing you next time. Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We came to Estes Park for a girls weekend and after much research chose Discovery Lodge, both my sister and my cousin said we made the perfect choice. 1st we were pleased that it was within walking distance to town, no one had to drive home if we wanted to have a few drinks. Rebecca at the front desk was most helpful with everything from ice to towels for the hot tub to restaurant recommendations and then discounts for some of the restaurants. Much appreciated!! The hot tub was wonderful after a long day of hiking, loved that our room was so close to it and the hot tub was outside. Everyone else that we met that were staying there were really nice and also seemed to be having a great time there. Our next door neighbor even came over to take pictures for us before we went out.

We got a fireplace room that was good for us because it seemed to be oversized and the price was well worth it. The bathroom was alittle small for 3 girls but we easily made it work. The beds seemed to be pretty new and were darn comfy. Were so glad to have a fridge and microwave. We didn't have much of a noise problem because our room was on the end. Thanks for such a wonderful stay. Can't wait to come back!!

Vickie Dee and Nikki

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2FishAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Wow! Sounds like you had a very successful girls outing! :D I'm glad you all had a great time. I try to keep everyone updated with discounts, great restaurants and places and hikes to do around Estes. I was once new here too! :D
Next time you come visit us, let us know and we will get you a different room to compare, but still with a fireplace of course. We sell wood now here in the lobby too.
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We really appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again! Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
2.9 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
1.4 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $81 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing