We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family trip”
other travellers have booked this property
Classic Colorado Cabin totally updated and this year completely refurbished.. beautiful in and out!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Classic Colorado Cabin totally updated and this year completely refurbished.. beautiful in and out!
Patio and grill just outside the door from the dining area. River view from the patio. Ideal for Morning coffee or hot tea.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Classic Colorado Cabin totally updated and this year completely refurbished.. beautiful in and out!
Patio and grill just outside the door from the dining area.
River view from the patio. Ideal for Morning coffee or hot tea.
Enclosed all season porch with beautiful views and style galore!
Awesome gas fired cast iron store for comfort and beauty in the living area.
Beautiful gas fired stove controlled by thermostat.....choose you temperature easily.
Living area...another view.
Wait 'til you see the view from the kitchen!
Just out the door to the patio and grill.
Beauty out back!
Master bedroom on the main level.  Very comfortable! (No air conditioner ever needed.)
Master bedroom seating area... and a full closet.
(Not shown in pictures.)
Upstairs bedrooms.
Twin beds upstairs.
Path to the Ponderosa shaded picnic area by the river.
Partial view of the picnic area by the river.
Maybe coffee or tea here in the morning?
Bathroom with everything you need and want.
Art everywhere even in the Bathroom!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Estes Park, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christina...
Urbandale, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family trip”
Reviewed July 26, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty of space for our family of 4. The master bedroom bed was very comfortable, and our kids loved having their own space in the attic room. Great kitchen with plenty of supplies. Close drive to Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park, but nice to be outside of the business of the town. Loved being able to hear the sound of the river from the cabin. The owner provides wonderful details about the cabin, the surrounding area, and driving directions to get there in their welcome email.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
So happy that you also enjoyed the cabin and it's great location and peaceful surroundings. Please feel welcome to come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay without leaving River Retreat”
Reviewed July 19, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have been coming to Estes Park for over 20 years. This was our first time staying outside the YMCA of the Rockies. River Retreat was perfect! My son and husband went fly fishing steps from the front door. In prior visits to Estes, we have gone hiking and made trips into Rocky Mountain National Park. On this visit, we were so captivated by the cabin that we spent our time staying there and relaxing. River Retreat is in such an ideal location--trees that provide a buffer with the road; the Big Thompson close enough to provide relaxing sounds. The patio was ideal for reading when the weather was nice, and the living room was so comfortable when it was rainy. Absolutely charming! We hated to leave.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
We are delighted that you enjoyed our cabin We agree that the cabin and it's setting are an awesome vacation within this beautiful part of the our country!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy K
San Diego, California, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Find in Estes Park”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Perfect location for hiking, fishing and just relaxing! This charming cabin has been updated with comfortable furniture and plenty of sitting options outside. We loved the retro kitchen cabinets and fridge - (all worked perfectly). The kitchen window looked out on a big rock that had wild flowers popping out in the most funny spots. We were glad we checked in prior to dashing to the store as the owners have this place well stocked with all the essentials. Could not have enjoyed our time more - we struggled a little with the heating but we figured it out and the owners answered our questions immediately.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
So glad you enjoyed our wonderful cabin and reached out to find the thermostat an easy way to adjust temperature. You left the cabin impeccable! Much thanks for your care!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A
1 review
“Wonderful and relaxing stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The cabin was beautiful and very well taken care of. It was amazing being so close to the river that you can hear it when you step outside. The owners are so sweet amd understanding and genuinely care if you enjoy your stay. Would definatly recommend to anyone wanting a mountain getaway! It is also less than 10 minutes from downtown Estes Park and is really easy to get to. We loved our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
We are delighted that your enjoyed our cabin and it's awesome location!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah224
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We had a delightful stay!”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

(This is basically a duplication of a review of this property that I also posted on HomeAway.com.)

My husband and I just returned from our Colorado vacation, three nights of which were spend in the River Retreat just outside of Estes Park. We could not have asked for a more delightful place to call home during our time at Estes Park!

Note: This home is WAY more space than a couple traveling on their own would actually need. With the master bedroom on the main floor and three additional beds upstairs, this would be ideal for a family of 5, or two couples traveling together. Because we began our planning late and wanted the amenities this home has to offer, we booked it anyway. We definitely did not regret that decision!

The house had everything we needed, and then some. Richard and Robin, the owners, have not skimped on anything needed to make their house feel like a home. Aside from providing the basic necessities for a functional kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms, they have included so many extra little touches in their décor, supplies, media and reading material. And yet, there was no feeling of clutter. The surroundings were so soothing and relaxing!

The main floor bed was quite comfortable. The entire house – especially the kitchen and bathroom – was immaculately clean. There were plenty of linens. We had come prepared to cook and grill, but did not need to unpack many of our supplies – the kitchen was generously equipped. We enjoyed eating our supper at the dining table each night we were there. The WiFi and Dish Network TV both worked fine.

The outdoor amenities were great. We enjoyed using the table-top-type Weber gas grill each night we were there. The patio was so relaxing! The private picnic area near the river was great, although we did not get much chance to enjoy it.

The location of the house, just east of Estes Park along Rt. 34, was perfect. It was just minutes from town, but away from the touristy hustle and bustle. The Safeway at the east end of town was a convenient place to buy what we needed to fix our evening meals.

This was our first time booking through Homeaway.com, so we were a little apprehensive. However, Richard and Robin were great about sending us detailed info about the rental one week before our scheduled arrival.

One small potential issue to be aware of: Some of the info we read about the rental (not sure whether this was on Homeaway.com, Tripadvisor.com, or some other source) is not completely up-to-date. A reference to a caretaker living nearby was no longer correct at the time of our stay. But because Richard and Robin provided ready means of contacting them directly, this was not problematic for us.

In summary, we greatly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this vacation rental and its owners. We just wish we could’ve stayed longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
We are delighted that you enjoyed our cabin and it's awesome location!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janis M
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little "peace" of heaven in Colorado!”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

After spending the weekend in Denver, we were so ready for this River Retreat! I was concerned about the size of the cabin before we saw it. However, it was perfect for the four of us. My granddaughter called it the cozy cabin, a perfect description. The beds were so comfortable. The cleanliness and character of the cabin was appreciated. We spent the afternoons driving through the Rocky Mountain National Park and were thrilled to see mule deer, regal elk, a moose with her calf, coyotes, and long horn sheep. This was the highlight of our trip. We enjoyed playing cards and hooking up to our devices in the evening. We have stayed in several cabins but this one is tops on our list. It truly felt like home. So thankful that we found it on Trip Advisor!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig G
1 review
“Serene, the sounds of the river were awesome!”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The sounds of the river could be heard from the cabin. The river was only feet away from the front door. Every morning we took our coffee to the river and would sit for hours. Ducks would float by and come visit us. Even an elk decided to make his way up the road. The place was really clean, the beds were comfortable and the cabin really quiet. Even though the cabin was off the main road, the trees and the sounds of the river muffled out the road sounds.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Craig:
So glad that you enjoyed our cabin! We also love it and do make an effort to keep it in top condition. Let us know if you ever want to revisit.
Regards, Richard and Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing