We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveller rating
681
360
98
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
360
98
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown university great location the financial district complimentary breakfast valet parking the breakfast area yogurt within walking distance historic building rhode island school of design a great stay college hill business center corner room would stay again shuttle service per day
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2018

If you are sending your child off to college in downtown Providence RI, this is a perfect hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, & breakfast is good. However, there is valet parking.......

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

We welcome ALL parents! Whether it be to check out the schools, for orientation, family weekend, graduation or just to stop in to give your child a surprise visit, we invite and welcome all parents to come allow our hotel to become your home away from home. We have made so many genuine connections and relationships with parents from all of our local colleges! (Brown, J&W, PC, RISD and so many more!) We see these parents year after year and share in the successes and achievements of their children as they go through the years and finally graduate! We are happy to hear that you have felt the same and we welcome all to stop in and say hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

The room/housekeeping and cleaning service, breakfast and kitchen service, and reception area agents, all outstanding, but intense cigarette smoke odor in the room prevented our family from having a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank GrandTour286972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

I am sorry to hear about the experience with the smoke smelling room. We acted immediately on your behalf and moved your room. We also looked into how this could have happened and corrected the possibilities of this in the future. Our hotel is 100% smoke free, unfortunately people don't always follow those rules and then we need to make sure proper extraction of that smell takes place. I am so glad to know that everything else about your experience went well, regarding the room, cleanliness, staff interaction etc. We hope to see you again soon and in a smoke free room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

This hotel is near downtown Providence and close to the main restaurants and points of interests. The room was clean and spacious and the lobby has a historic feel to it. The breakfast was good and the service was very good overall. Since it's in the middle of the city, you do have to pay for parking.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate the time you took to write about our hotel and the kind words you had about your experiences. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Very nice room. However, the bed in way too soft. The breakfast is free, but unhealthy and pretty bad. I stayed there because it was close to the venue of my workshop. The price was also agreed with Brown University, which paid for my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on trip advisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! What other options would you like to see in our breakfast area? We have hot coffee, tea, juice, scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, fresh sliced fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, granola, cereal, our world famous waffles, pastries, scones, and the list goes on and on, AND its complimentary! Hampton does their best to deliver an assortment of breakfast items that would satisfy all of our guests. If you feel it could be improved in any way, please let us know, we are listening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018

Exceeds expectations - really a very nice hotel in a great location. When the worst thing you can say is that the elevators are a bit old, but everything else is fantastic, that is pretty darn good. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

You have it right! We ALWAYS do our best to exceed our guests expectations! I am so delighted to hear that you felt that. We will continue to work hard and serve our guests, thank you for the 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews