We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gondola ride in Providence is unique and wonderful!”
Review of La Gondola

La Gondola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Providence from a new perspective! Benvenuto! We invite you to revel in the sights of the City from a unique vantage point that captures the heart of Providence. Enjoy an excursion along the Woonasquatucket and Providence Rivers and witness the revitalization of the City, river walks, and waterfront parks. Whether you are celebrating an anniversary or birthday, looking to propose to that special someone, or just on a vacation to the city, a gondola trip is a great way to make your visit to Providence memorable and unique. La Gondola operates three authentic Venetian gondolas along the Providence Riverwalk, accommodating up to six passengers at a time on each gondola. Reservations are highly recommended and are always exclusive to your party. We are open seven days a week from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. Our season is from 1 May to 31 October, and of course trips are always subject to availability and the weather. La Gondola Providence: For Lovers, For Families, For Everyone.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

This is a great experience that you should definitely consider if you are in the Providence area. You will get a unique view of Providence. The ride itself is very pleasant and relaxing. Our gondolier was exceptionally professional. He added interesting facts and even a song to the conversation, and as a true professional, knew when to hold back when the conversation became more personal.
The boat itself is beautiful, truly in a league with those found in Venice. The sweet biscuits they provide are a nice touch.
Be sure to bring a beverage and if you like a little snack. Having a glass of proseco or even a beer can add a real festive touch to your ride.
The gondoliers are professionals and will never press you into giving a tip. If you are able to give a healthy tip, however, you really should try to do so. Gondolier service is actually hard physical labor. These gentlemen make it look easy and really try hard to ensure that you enjoy your gondola ride.
In Venice, gondolas do have a greater area to explore than in Providence, and in Venice there is a real range of prices. We found the Providence trip a great deal compared to Venice pricing. Even with adding a 25% tip we found the experience a great value.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank alicat757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Front Office Manager at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear alicat757,

Thank you so much for writing us this spectacular review. I am delighted that you had such a terrific experience on your trip.

To those who may be reading this review, you can bring anything you would like to drink on board. We will provide an ice bucket, glasses, a bottle opener, and handmade Italian wine biscuits. Your gondolier will sing some songs in Italian during your trip and if you are interested they would be happy to share their knowledge of the history and highlights of Providence.

alicat757, thank you again for such a perfect review. I hope that you will join us for another trip next season.

Grazie,

Erika
Office Manager
La Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"biscuits"
in 30 reviews
"italian songs"
in 28 reviews
"wine glasses"
in 19 reviews
"beautiful voice"
in 20 reviews
"singing voice"
in 14 reviews
"mandolin player"
in 13 reviews
"italian love"
in 8 reviews
"the river"
in 86 reviews
"dei sogni"
in 6 reviews
"sang beautifully"
in 9 reviews
"delicious wine"
in 5 reviews
"bring wine"
in 5 reviews
"santa lucia"
in 4 reviews
"ice bucket"
in 4 reviews
"birthday surprise"
in 6 reviews
"italian cookies"
in 7 reviews
"romantic ride"
in 8 reviews
Filter

64 - 68 of 404 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

We had a great time in Rhode Island but this was the highlight of the trip. It was relaxing, educational and just a pure delight. Incredible singing by our gondolier, Marcello. We also had the opportunity to get a sample from the others. They were incredible too. Marcello was patient with us and pointed out many historical notes about the region. Do not miss this wonderful chance to create a lifetime memory. It can be fun for family and friends. Romantic for people. Educational for students. Great for one person or groups. THANKS MARCELLO - Robert and Alicia.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Owner at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear Robert and Alicia;

Thank you so much for taking a moment to post this review - it was such a pleasure having you two on board, sharing stories, and just enjoying a beautiful late-season day on the water. The 2017 season has ended as of last weekend, and looking back, your trip is definitely one of the highlights for me.

I will certainly hope to see you two back in Providence at some point in the future - thank you again, and I hope that you have a wonderful off season!

Ciao,
Marcello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

What I know about Gondola is only Venice and Macao, but this place was great to enjoy the Gondola trip. You can also hear several Italian songs, although there will be some variance of quality among gondoliers. You can also hear some explanation of the history and buildings of Providence from gondoliers.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank obinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Front Office Manager at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Dear obinlove,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your experience while on one of our gondolas.

To those who may be reading this review, all our gondoliers will sing some songs in Italian during your trip. If you are interested they will also share any knowledge that they have of the history and highlights of Providence. You are a free to interact with them as little or as much as you like.

odinlove, thank you again for your review. I hope that you will join us for another trip sometime soon.

Grazie,

Erika
Office Manager
La Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We absolutely loved this. Our first Gondola ride and it wasn't in Venice! Marcello was friendly and personable and a wealth of knowledge about the history of Providence and Rhode Island. It was a romantic ride but also would be super fun with another couple or two. And Marcello sang in Italian to complete the experience. Wonderful and should be #1 thing to do in Providence.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank bunsinthesunob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Front Office Manager at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear bunsinthesunob,

I am so glad that you had such a wonderful time while on your trip with us. Thank you very much for your terrific review.

To those who may be reading this review, we welcome couples, families, groups of friends and even the lone traveler to take a trip on one of our gondolas. We tailor our trips for the party that we have on board, so a couple looking for a romantic evening will have a different than a family visiting Providence for the first time.

bunsinthesunob, thank you for taking the time to write us this review. I hope that you will join us for another trip again soon.

Grazie,

Erika
Office Manager
La Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

I knew I wanted to ride one of the gondolas as soon as I saw them during my first trip to Providence earlier this year. My dream came true on Monday when we had the pleasure of riding with Marcelo! He was extremely knowledgeable about the area, had an amazing singing voice and was overall a pleasure to spend our first gondola ride with. Thank you SO much for the great trip. I highly recommend this fun adventure to anyone who visits Providence!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Bleighton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Front Office Manager at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Bleighton O,

I am so pleased that you were able to return to take a trip with us and enjoyed your experience. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this excellent review.

To those who may be reading this review, all of our gondoliers will sing some songs in Italian during your trip. They are also happy to share any knowledge that they have about Providence or the gondolas, and answer any questions that you may have during your trip. You are free to interact with them as little or as much as you would like.

Bleighton O, thank you again for your review. I hope that you will be able to join us for another gondola trip sometime soon.

Grazie,

Erika
Office Manager
La Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing