We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!!”
Review of La Gondola

La Gondola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Providence from a new perspective! Benvenuto! We invite you to revel in the sights of the City from a unique vantage point that captures the heart of Providence. Enjoy an excursion along the Woonasquatucket and Providence Rivers and witness the revitalization of the City, river walks, and waterfront parks. Whether you are celebrating an anniversary or birthday, looking to propose to that special someone, or just on a vacation to the city, a gondola trip is a great way to make your visit to Providence memorable and unique. La Gondola operates three authentic Venetian gondolas along the Providence Riverwalk, accommodating up to six passengers at a time on each gondola. Reservations are highly recommended and are always exclusive to your party. We are open seven days a week from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. Our season is from 1 May to 31 October, and of course trips are always subject to availability and the weather. La Gondola Providence: For Lovers, For Families, For Everyone.
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I did this after buying a Groupon for it. You can bring alcohol on the gondola. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the city and brought us up and down the river. I will definitely be doing it again maybe during the waterfires if available.

Thank Bobby62181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Front Office Manager at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Dear Bobby62181,

I am happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time on one of our gondolas. Thank you very much for leaving us this review. I hope we will see you again this upcoming season.

Grazie,

Erika
Office Manager
La Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine biscuits"
in 26 reviews
"italian songs"
in 24 reviews
"beautiful voice"
in 16 reviews
"mandolin player"
in 12 reviews
"singing voice"
in 12 reviews
"italian love"
in 7 reviews
"the river"
in 74 reviews
"dei sogni"
in 5 reviews
"santa lucia"
in 4 reviews
"ice bucket"
in 4 reviews
"birthday surprise"
in 6 reviews
"italian cookies"
in 6 reviews
"romantic ride"
in 7 reviews
"sipping wine"
in 4 reviews
"romantic experience"
in 7 reviews
"memorable evening"
in 5 reviews
"bucket list"
in 8 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 371 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2017

OMG!! This is a definite MUST DO on your list if you are coming to Providence for Water Fire Festival. The gondaliers sing - In Italian! The wine biscuits are super yummy. Definitely bring your own beverage. They provide wine glasses and an ice bucket to chill your wine.... I thought we would be in a group of other people, (a gondola can hold up to 6 people we were told)- but each ride by reservation is private. Our gondalier, Luciano, was a delight. He had a beautiful voice, and was a great tour guide. We did take him up on the suggestion to visit RISD- Rhode Island School of Design's art gallery. He told us alot of interesting facts about the Water Fire Festival. He also pointed out several architectual details of different buildings along our route. This attraction is definitely worth the price Remember to bring weather appropriate gear, it IS cooler on the water. Not to worry though if you forget- they provide blankets and umbrellas! Unique attraction!!! Who would think you would find authentic gondolas from Venice in Rhode Island?? Our ride was in the afternoon- which even though it would be cool to go in the evening after the fires are lit- I'm glad we didn't have to contend with smoke or ashes and sparks flying,( not to mention the heat) from the fires that burn along the gondola's route.

Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Front Office Manager at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Dear Ann M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this amazing review. I am so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. I will definitely pass along your compliments to Luciano.

To those who may be reading this review, our gondolas can hold up to 6 passengers and all of our trips are private. So it will only be your party on board, whether it be just you or the full boat of 6. Your gondolier will of course also be there and you can interact with him or her as little or as much as you would like.

Ann M, thank you again for leaving us this review. I hope that you will join us for another trip next season.

Grazie,

Erika
Office Manager
La Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017

Reservation process was easy with helpful communication leading up to the event. STRONGLY recommend arriving early...we were late due to trouble finding parking but the staff were VERY gracious to accommodate. The ride was MAGICAL...did not want it to end! Our guide was friendly, highly skilled, and gave a great recommendation for dinner afterward! The gondola ride through the canal offered the unique opportunity to feel completely immersed in the WaterFire ambiance. I would HIGHLY recommend this experience...great for couples, families, friends.

Thank nitram_ennayram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Front Office Manager at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Dear nitram_ennayram,

Thank you very much for writing us this terrific review. I am so pleased that we were able to get you on board and that you enjoyed yourselves during your trip.

To those who may be reading this review, when you make a reservation we request that you try to arrive 15-20 minutes ahead of your scheduled time. If you do end up running late let us know and we will always do our best to make sure you can still take your trip.

nitram_ennayram, thank you again for taking the time to write us this review. I hope that you will join us for another trip next season.

Grazie,

Erika
Office Manager
La Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017

This is a great experience that you should definitely consider if you are in the Providence area. You will get a unique view of Providence. The ride itself is very pleasant and relaxing. Our gondolier was exceptionally professional. He added interesting facts and even a song to the conversation, and as a true professional, knew when to hold back when the conversation became more personal.
The boat itself is beautiful, truly in a league with those found in Venice. The sweet biscuits they provide are a nice touch.
Be sure to bring a beverage and if you like a little snack. Having a glass of proseco or even a beer can add a real festive touch to your ride.
The gondoliers are professionals and will never press you into giving a tip. If you are able to give a healthy tip, however, you really should try to do so. Gondolier service is actually hard physical labor. These gentlemen make it look easy and really try hard to ensure that you enjoy your gondola ride.
In Venice, gondolas do have a greater area to explore than in Providence, and in Venice there is a real range of prices. We found the Providence trip a great deal compared to Venice pricing. Even with adding a 25% tip we found the experience a great value.

Thank alicat757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Front Office Manager at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear alicat757,

Thank you so much for writing us this spectacular review. I am delighted that you had such a terrific experience on your trip.

To those who may be reading this review, you can bring anything you would like to drink on board. We will provide an ice bucket, glasses, a bottle opener, and handmade Italian wine biscuits. Your gondolier will sing some songs in Italian during your trip and if you are interested they would be happy to share their knowledge of the history and highlights of Providence.

alicat757, thank you again for such a perfect review. I hope that you will join us for another trip next season.

Grazie,

Erika
Office Manager
La Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

We had a great time in Rhode Island but this was the highlight of the trip. It was relaxing, educational and just a pure delight. Incredible singing by our gondolier, Marcello. We also had the opportunity to get a sample from the others. They were incredible too. Marcello was patient with us and pointed out many historical notes about the region. Do not miss this wonderful chance to create a lifetime memory. It can be fun for family and friends. Romantic for people. Educational for students. Great for one person or groups. THANKS MARCELLO - Robert and Alicia.

Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGondolaProv, Owner at La Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear Robert and Alicia;

Thank you so much for taking a moment to post this review - it was such a pleasure having you two on board, sharing stories, and just enjoying a beautiful late-season day on the water. The 2017 season has ended as of last weekend, and looking back, your trip is definitely one of the highlights for me.

I will certainly hope to see you two back in Providence at some point in the future - thank you again, and I hope that you have a wonderful off season!

Ciao,
Marcello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing