We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its high ratings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This place is a real find in an area where quality accomodation isn't easy to come by. We had a large and very comfortable suite upstairs and the facilities were all top class. It was great value, breakfast was good, and the owners were simply delightful and so helpful and enthusiastic even as their season draws to a close. If you're thinking of starting a B&B spend a night or two here to see how it can be done.

Stay again. Sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Sue and Dennis were wonderful hosts, staying open an extra night to accommodate us. We arrived on Halloween night with no reservations. When it turned out that no restaurants in town were open, Sue set up the dining room table so we could have a picnic with ingredients from the IGA. Lubec is a beautiful town on the border with Canada. We hope to return, earlier in the year next time, and we will stay at the Peacock Inn for more than one night!

Room Tip: All of them are beautifully restored and furnished. Ours' had a view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaManley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We visited this lovely bed and breakfast because we wanted to say we had been to the downeast part of Maine. It was what I would have expected a small coastal Maine town to have been like years ago...so quaint, so beautiful and the B & B was so much fun! The innkeepers were the best! This job is just right for you Sue! Breakfast was wonderful...a sort of popover with bananas in it...The rooms were clean and well equipped. And every guest seemed to have really enjoyed their stay! I had wished that there was one more restaurant open in town but our meal at an Irish tavern was very good!

Room Tip: Just expect a long drive with little in between between Bar Harbor and Lubec! Probably good to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

If you want cosseting, wonderful bedrooms, fantastic food, helpful hosts,comfortable lounges and a very relaxing place to stay this is for you. It's the best bed and breakfast in the world. Don't just take my word, go there and check it out for yourself. You'll love Sue and Dennis the owners.

Room Tip: We have stayed here many times and all the rooms are lovely, go on the website and pick the one most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed two nights September 15 &16, 2011. Sue and Dennis are absolutely the best hosts. If I could give this place a gold star, I'd give them 5! Caring, Interacting, Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful. Made all guests feel individually comfortable and this behavior was contagious. In most other places we have stayed at, there was very little if any guest interaction. Surprisingly, whenever we ran into the other guests in our forays into town, we would invariably stop and chat - as though we were old friends. A totally wonderful vacation resulted mainly because of this friendliness at "home base". The bed was very comfortable (although we normally travel with our own feather pillows) - and the whole place was kept in pristine condition. The only concern others may have is if they are allergic to cats (we love cats so that having cats as hosts was a plus for us). Most highly (and higher) offered recommendations for the Peacock House.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Great helpful and friendly hosts, good breakfast, excellent location if sightseeing in the area, lovely decor. Everything was very clean and well cared for. I would absolutely return to Peacock House if travels bring me to the area again.
Just what you hope a B & B will be!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra29492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This B&B has a nice intimite atmosphere. Susan and Dennis are outstanding hosts. Susan makes guests feel welcome with her engaging personality. Dennis spends his winters repairing and renovating Peacock House. His attention to detail shows. Two breakfast seatings per day were great for those who want an early start. Our room was very clean and modern.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayzee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.4 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
5.1 km away
West Quoddy Head Station
4 km away
Eastland Motel
Eastland Motel
#2 of 8 in Lubec
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 km away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock House offers gracious accommodations in the easternmost town in the US. The inn, built in 1860 has seven well-appointed suites (with king beds) and standard-sized rooms (with queen beds), all with private bath. Also enjoy four common rooms downstairs where you can mingle with guests, or find a cozy corner to relax. The inn is the ideal place for couples and girlfriends get-aways. Located by the Bay of Fundy, see the rugged coast with 20 foot tides, explore renowned hiking trails , and visit nearby beaches and lighthouses . Whales, seals and bald eagles frequent the area. Campobello Island, the summer home of Franklin Roosevelt is less than three miles from the inn. Peacock House is located within the village of Lubec, within easy walking distance of the local restaurants. A full breakfast is included with your stay and is created to please the eye and palate. Visit Peacock House and see why tripadvisor reviewers have given it the highest rating in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing