We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, cozy and friendly Inn”
Review of Home Port Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Home Port Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Rarely stay in small towns or inns but we needed a midpoint place to stay on way to NS, Canada. The Home Port Inn was just wonderful. Charming innkeepers, cozy rooms and decorated lovely. The breakfast was delicous, set out artfully and plenty to eat. Campobello and light houses are very close to the inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evie12339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Home Port Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our two night stay at The Homeport Inn with Dave and Suzanne, the inn keepers, could not have been more pleasant. They made us feel welcome and especially went out of their way to make our 8.5 yr old daughter feel welcome. They truly love what they do!

The breakfast is simple but quite good. The homemade cereal is wonderful and the dinners we had one of the nites that we stayed there were quite good too.

The location of the BnB is convenient to walking downtown Lubec and the room with a view that we occupied is great. A wonderful view and the two wonderful nites of rest.

Give them a try if you are up Lubec way!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boilermaker_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Very charming inn offering just what we wanted. David & Suzannah made us feel so welcomed into their home, we felt like one of the family.We never felt more welcomed anywhere.You can't beat that. Nice continental breakfast with yogurt,whole grain breads,English muffins, home made jams,cereal,juices,excellent coffee.Much more than expected & very satisfying.Fantastic seafood meals at reasonable prices. Really, you can't beat the lobster.Extreme satisfying experience all around. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed one night and thought it was great. It was quirky, with some lovely old fashioned touches to the rooms, especially in the bathroom. The host was very friendly and helpful and the inn was very clean and the room was nicely decorated. But the breakfast was the best bit. It was a continental breakfast, but there was loads to choose from with the highlight being the delicious fresh fruit, and homemade granola. And Lubec is a wonderful town, we had a great visit.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank ReduceReuseRecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

On a motorcycle tour of Maine, we stayed at the Home Port Inn. We were welcomed by Suzannah Gale who gave us a tour of her beautiful home, and were then shown to our room. We stayed in the Master Bedroom, their largest and most spacious room. It was a pleasure to see the cleanliness of the room and the nicely appointed furnishings. Peeling off our gear, we refreshed ourselves with a walk of the relaxing garden area outside, and awaited the time for our reservation in their dining area. "To die for" is all my wife could say, as we both enjoyed our meals, served by the lovely and accommodating, Danielle. The meals are a must, as they were some of the finest fresh meals that we have had. My wife still says that her lobster scampi was the best meal that she has ever had. Greeting us at breakfast the next morning was Dave Gale, who welcomed us both by name. This to me, showed preparation and a true caring to make our stay special and make us feel welcome. All in all, Dave and Suzannah Gale pull off a truly class act at the Home Port Inn, and I would recommend this to all visitors of the Lubec area. If you read this, "Thank you, Suzannah and Dave, for a wonderful stay. We will see you again next year." -Diane and Gary Lockwood

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJ_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

There isn't much in Lubec, but the Home Port Inn was a great find. We stayed there just one night, and we dined there twice. The room (the Library) is small, but clean and neat, with it's own bath. It would have been nice to have a little more room to move around, but there is a nice common room if you want to stretch out and read, watch TV, or just talk.

Our dinner on the night we stayed at the Inn was terrific: The service was prompt and friendly, and the food was excellent. Suzanna (one of the owners, and the chef) and her kitchen crew create tasty dishes with good, fresh ingredients. Sauces and spices enhanced the flavor of the dishes, rather than overwhelm them. I had a baked seafood medley, and my wife had salmon. We stayed for dessert, and weren't disappointed. We came back another night (after we had moved to a rental house), and were equally as pleased. My wife had a lobster and artichoke salad (as a main course), and I had seafood scampi with scallops, lobster and haddock. The sauce was delicate, and black olives were a great touch. Once again, we were delighted with the meals and the service. My only disappointment was a caesar salad that was served too cold. All in all, that was a minor complaint after two quite enjoyable meals. Beer and wine are available at dinner, but not mixed drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoingWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

we booked 2 nights in this charming town and were pleasantly surprised by this lovely inn. the keeper's were gracious, the rooms were clean and quaint, the common room was lovely, and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.2 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
5.3 km away
West Quoddy Head Station
39.9 km away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
Margaretta Inn
Margaretta Inn
#1 of 3 in Machias
337 reviews
25.0 km away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
26.5 km away
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Port Inn

Address: 45 Main St, Lubec, ME 04652-1035
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: $117 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Home Port Inn is a comfortable and hospitable bed and breakfast inn situated on a tree lined street in the village of Lubec. We have 7 delightful rooms and start your day with a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Home Port Inn Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing