We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Muffins and Eagles and Whales, oh my!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eastland Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastland Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Muffins and Eagles and Whales, oh my!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our room was spotless and smelled wonderful. The owners are super nice and can tell you anything that you need to know about the area. They provide the best homemade muffins every morning and you can eat them while sipping your coffee from a real ceramic coffee cup!. They made blueberry, strawberry mango and chocolate chip muffins during our stay.

The location is terrific. Downtown Lubec and the border crossing onto Campobello Island are a 5 minute ride. If you are continuing north it is a short distance to the Canadian mainland border.

I highly recommend taking Captain Riddle's whale watch tour around the bay if you go to Campobello. We saw minke whales, porpoises, seals and eagles. And because you stay in the bay, NO sea sickness :-)

I also highly recommend going to Monica's chocolates. I thought that Lindt Chocolate had the best truffles until I had one of hers!

This is a great little hotel and I have told all my family and friends that it is a must stay if they ever travel that way!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Haaaaaaaaa... Thanks for the great recommendation! We too love Lubec. Happy to hear that you saw the whales. Glen and I kayaked around Campobello Island on Sunday and saw the Minkes, bald eagles and too many seals to count. It was a perfect day. Doesn't get any better than DownEast, Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    94
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
76
174
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Another great stay at The Eastland Motel! Clean rooms, great owners, and fantastic muffins! We had a very relaxing time at this hotel. You can depend on a worry-free stay. Central location to town and hiking. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place! Clean & reliable! Nice "library/media center" and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara Andrews M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
It was GREAT to see you both again! We appreciate your smiling faces and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Wow - Real Coffee Mugs! We were traveling the Maine coastline with our 12 year old grandson and felt quite refreshed after spending the night. When asked about dining sopts Heather readily gave us her and her husband's favorite dining spots. We tried one and was very happy with the spaghetti dinners we had. Thanks for the home made blue berry muffins in the morning - What a sent off. Our grandson was estatic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Haa, we LOVE your grandson... tell him he has a job here when he comes back! Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you again soon. : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was only spending one night, but when I arrived and checked in and was given a key to room 4. It said it was a small room so I wasn't sure what I was getting into but the room was the size of any other room I had been in. One double bed was all I needed. I was happy with the free long distance phone service and the WiFi...The room was very clean and the towels, well lets say I don't know how they were so soft. Send me some please....lol....Thanks for the great night!! Jen

Room Tip: They are remodeling so if you care about the style make sure you ask for a room that's already r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for staying... We will ship towels Jen! We buy them locally instead of through the hotel registry source. Room #4 is one of my favorite. It was Glen's first complete makeover. We are working to make them all like that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed in room 9. Huge room with everything we needed. Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee with REAL coffee mugs!, Blow dryer, Beautiful fluffy towels and plenty of them. Our room was SO VERY clean. Freshly washed bedding. ( all bedding). This is the kind of motel that you dont need to remove bed spread. EVERYTHING had clearly been washed. Plenty of extra pillows. Home baked muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, and juice every morning in lobby. Heather and Glen are special people. They are sweet souls. I can not wait to return to Eastland Motel!

Room Tip: Just tell owners what you need and they will pick the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHERYL6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
We appreciated your stay... absolutely loved spending time with the two of you and look forward to your immediate return! Thanks for the wonderful comments. We aim to please! Hurry Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
241 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Arrived later in the day at hotel -- met by owner Heather -- everything ready - all information given and explained -- when checking in you pay for the stay in advance - which was helpful with a 4 am departure -- best part a little book in the room so you can review all -- Booked the "large room" -- very clean very comfortable -- shower pressure good -- breakfast included -- best part - fresh homemade muffins maine blueberry and strawberry rhubarb were fanatastic -- hotel close to a small antique store that was quite interesting -- owners very friendly and very accomodating -- small town Maine -- small town motel -- if you are looking for a clean, friendly place to stay for good value for money I would definitely stay here again -- if you are looking full breakfast and down pillows and fancy duvets you may want to stay in Portland -- but if you want to experience small town Maine then this is the place

Room Tip: Look for a large room -- room had micro wave and small fridge so if you want to bring something to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We LOVE small town Maine too... If you come back soon, you will be treated to fresh out-of-the-oven raspberry muffins! They grow in our back yard and will be ripe soon! Hurry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis Center, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our 1st stay in Lubec for the Inaugural International Bay of Fundy marathon. Booked the room last October thankfully. Our room was one of the smallest ones (1 queen) but per the owners it was recently renovated and one of their nicest. We agree. While small it had everything we needed. Road noise was minimal even with window open, clean, nicely furnished. Loved the coffee maker, microwave and size of fridge. Mattress was VERY firm, a little too much so for my taste - but that's just me. The owners were kind, funny, helpful and engaging. The price was very reasonable. Morning coffee in the office was a nice treat. If we are lucky enough to return to Lubec we will stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Lubec is a beautiful and peaceful little community... even during a marathon! Hope you have the opportunity to return next year. : ) Thanks for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
4.0 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
38.2 km away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
23.1 km away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 km away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
27.3 km away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
5.2 km away
West Quoddy Head Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastland Motel

Property: Eastland Motel
Address: 385 County Rd, Rte 189, Lubec, ME 04652-3503
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated 20 unit motel and fully equipped cottage is only minutes from the famous West Quoddy Head Lighthouse, the most eastern point in the Continental US. We are the area's only motel and provide immaculate, comfortable, and well equipped rooms. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. You will wake every morning to a free continental breakfast that includes a freshly baked batch of homemade muffins, gourmet coffee and a fresh bowl of fruit, juice and yogurt! We are less than three miles to the county's best restaurants, breathtaking beaches, quaint gift shops and Campobello Island's Roosevelt International Park! We are your eco-adventure tourism destination and can provide you with directions to the greatest hiking trails, whale watching tours, and puffin excursions!We are now open through the winter and provide snowshoes for those wishing to trek our beautiful trails! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastland Motel Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing