We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break for couples or families”
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
Ranked #32 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria,BC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great break for couples or families”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at the Ranch in early February. My only real complaint was the cold weather and too short of a stay. We planned an overnight on Sat. for the ourdoor barbecue and live music, what a hoot! The food was terrific, with several large bonfires to keep everyone warm and great entertainment. The morning ride to breakfast, was scenic, though cold, and the blueberry pancakes and hot coffee a welcome treat in the cold winter air. The room was spacious, with a patio, and clean. The bedroom has been renovated, although the bathroom could use some modernization. The fireplace was warm and homey, although the chimney needs a good sweeping - there is a strong smell of smoke in the room from the poor ventilation and draw on the fireplace! There are two types of casistas, both spacious. For a small extra fee, your patio looks out over the ranch and the desert. I didn't undertsand the difference, and were in the less expensive option, which looked into the forest, missing the sunset, desert views. I would spend the extra money to have a casita with a view. There is a real sense of history here, with original buildings, photos and guest book entries from the 1920's! We look forward to returning with our adult children, the ranch has enough to offer for everyone, from cycling trails, small fishing pond, spa, heated pools (open 24 hours) and a great bar! Although is seems pricey at first, your stay includes horseback riding, bicycles, fishing, meals, and snacks through out the day. Great fun at a pretty good value!

Room Tip: less expensive casistas look into trees, and can be dark, spend extra $ if you want a patio view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Carolin
The cold weather (you hit 1 of 2 weeks of winter this year) we will try harder to fix.
We have different room types for people with different preferences; but I was pleased to hear that you found the all-inclusive package to be good value as sometimes we struggle to explain that to people.
When you return with your adult children I hope that they enjoy it as much as you did.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    98
    39
    24
    24
See reviews for
292
148
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Wow, where to start! This will be one of our most memorable family holiday adventures. Right from the very beginning entering the Ranch we were in awe of the beautiful desert landscape. We were greeted by very friendly staff who immediately made us feel welcome. Our room was spacious and clean but to be honest we were hardly in our room with all the many activities available during the day. For first timers on a horse we were pleasantly surprised how much we came to love it. The wranglers were great at making us feel comfortable. The kids club was amazing with very friendly enthusiastic kids camp counselors, our children loved being there. Their day consisted of horse back riding, nature walks, tennis, crafts and movie nights. The outside pool was a little cold but that did not stop our children from swimming and having the hot tub nearby to warm up in. We were treated to an evening BBQ, with live singing and fabulous food. The food I have to say was a real pleasant surprise, it was fantastic! If you are looking for a break from horse back riding, there is mountain biking, for the experienced or first timer, our only suggestion would be to make the mountain biking available every day. This is a true cowboy ranch experience, for those who are looking for something different, a great way to be outside in the wild and stay constantly active if that is what you want. They have a spa but we were way too busy to visit. The Saloon was a great way to unwind, all in all we had a blast, met some great people and hope to visit again next year! Thank you to all at Tanque Verde Ranch, for making this a most memorable family vacation!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfly3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
It was great meeting you all; I am pleased the kid's enjoyed the camp as much as they did and that you enjoyed the horses as much as you did.
The other activities we offer are extremely varied and movie night has become very popular.
I look forward to seeing you all back soon.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I echo the sentiments of other reviewers in that this is a place for horseback riding and not much else, especially in the winter months. They do have a beautiful pool, mountain bike trails and tennis courts, as well as good bird watching, but having been to Tucson many times, it's got so much more to offer than that.

If you and your family are avid riders or want to learn, Tanque Verde is a wonderful place to go. Be sure to pack your cowboy boots -- though the ranch allows guests to ride in tennis shoes (not something I'd recommend) a sturdy pair of at least calf-high if not knee high boots is a must as you'll be riding among cactus.

I highly recommend taking a lesson or two -- these are included in your room price and well worth it even if you've been riding English style for years.

The food is good, the rooms are fine and the people -- both staff and fellow guests -- are friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweeneyCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thank you very much for talking up the lessons; they are often overlooked due to the fabulous trail rides but if you are interested in improvement they offer a great deal to all levels of rider.
Just as a footnote: we are working on an English to Western Riding conversion lesson.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

general manager LEIGH ANN promised my family a suite over xmas and when we arrived it wasnt available. we were put in three very mediocre rooms. she promised a steep discount for the inconvenience, and even notified us that a credit had been posted on my AMEX card. a month later when the AMEX came in... no credit had been issued at all. she did her best to AVOID my calls and said she was in "meetings". when she finally was cornered, she pretended to not remember that she promised any credit whatsoever! avoid her and the ranch... "a wolf in sheep's clothing"

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Richman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
It is always sad when a guest feels that this is the only way to vent his frustrations.
This particular guest made a reservation for a number of rooms including a suite over Christmas; one of the busiest and therefore most expensive times of year to stay at the ranch. He decided that what he had booked was too much money so he cancelled that reservation and booked 3 rooms for one day less, saving him approximately $2,600.
He received a timely e-mail confirmation of this rate for these rooms and initialed next to the rate when he arrived at the ranch.
I had the opportunity to sit down and chat with this guest while he was at the ranch during which time he expressed his delight with both the facilities and the service. At no time did he mention rate.
I am truly sorry that this guest was "confused" by what he purchased but we never hide rates and it is always your decision whether or not to accept the rate offered at time of reservation. If there had been something wrong with his stay or he had not received what he had purchased we would have agreed to refund all or part of his costs but this was not the case.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Unfortunaly we stayed here when it rained for the first time in 6 months, but even though the hotel made the best of it. Also it gave us a great opportunity to see the natur when it wasn't as dry.
The pool is nice, but it should have some one to serve some drinks. I am also sure they could make some money on that as well.
The bar is really cool, and the bartender is "space out", but so cool at the same time! A really funny girl, which made us laugh time after time.
The dinner was nice every night, and also having some one play live country music is a great detail! We really enjoyed it..

The horseback riding was really good, but we had some tips we want to give.
For the newcomers, it would be nice to really show them how to handle the horse, and not just send them of for 1 - 8 hour rides. One of our party got scared because of it, and that was not good.
Also when doing the full day ride, after breakfast ride, please stop for a little while, so people could ask questions about the fauna/flora. Not just ride for 8 hours without any break or information about the region.
The ride after the breakfast ride is really nice, but we all wanted more information and a bit more than just being on the horse for 7-8 hours.
Other than that, the horseback riding was great.

The staff at the shops and service office are all very polite and nice.
The roooms are really cool, and we would love to go back to Tanque Verde Ranch.

It has inspired us to go horseback riding again as well!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_travellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for your suggestions about spending more time at the beginning with the fundamentals. We have added a short class at the beginning of every day, before the first walk ride, to address this.
I am pleased that in spite of the weather you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again soon.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We wanted something different for our friend's bachelorette party. We decided that the few of us would have a little weekend getaway at TVGR. It was not to disappoint! We checked in, and were greeted so warmly by Bee. Then we had an amazing dinner at the cottonwood BBQ. The breakfast ride the next morning was awesome, both the riding and the yummy pancakes. Best bachelorette party that I have ever thrown/attended! Thanks to Leighann for setting up an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: Leighann will help you pick an amazing place - just tell her what you need and she'll set you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaytie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
It is nice to hear that we have something to offer to our in state friends and alternative bachelor/ette weekends are tremendous fun at the ranch.
Thank you
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We recently spent four nights at Tanque Verde Ranch which was totally amazing, the wranglers and all the staff were exceptional ensuring that we had the very best experience possible The riding was fantastic and although we were in the same area everyday there was something unique about each ride which made everyone remain as interesting as the first one. We loved the food and were very impressed with the complimentary drinks and snacks which were available all day and not forgetting the Mad Dog Saloon where there is always a very warm welcome! We will definately return when we visit the U.S again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j9cng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed both the riding and the food; that you found variety and interest in both is great as those areas really have been a focus for the team.
I look forward to seeing you on your next trip across the pond.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
47.5 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
777 reviews
21.3 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
960 reviews
22.9 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
23.3 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
34.6 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Property: Tanque Verde Ranch
Address: 14301 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7138
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson
Tanque Verde Ranch Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing