We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
550
115
47
27
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
115
47
27
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain biking kids program dog house lope rides nature center lope check cowboy cookout cottonwood grove lope test blueberry pancakes riding lessons old homestead breakfast rides rincon mountains experienced riders horse ride morning ride
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was here as part of a company retreat. Even though it was for work, I left feeling lighter and more expansive. We happened to be there right after a very bad lightning strike took out the wifi, so not being able to resort to my devices might have been part of it.

This felt like the working ranch it is -- but with super sheets and towels. Every guest room is very private, and they seem each to be unique in some way. Mine had a fire place and a little terrace.

I was impressed by how actively the staff advocate rated for us to take advantage of the activities (horse back riding, hikes, picnics, etc.). It really mattered to them that we not leave there as if we'd been in a Marriott or something. The architecture was gorgeous and the gardens were imaginative. I loved being able to pet the horses. There is a trail you can take up in to the mountains -- it is challenging and it's REALLY out there, and partway through, this city person wished I'd told someone I'd gone up there. Oh. And the gym is just meh. Pools looked awesome.

Food hours seem limited, for my East Coast sensibility. Breakfast started at 7:30, which for my body was a late 10:30 am. You have buffet and a la carte options.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank janebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryH2703, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello janebeard,
Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, Mother Nature hit us hard that Sunday night. We appreciate your patience with our lack of WiFi. I know how we all rely on it so heavily.
Please come back and see us soon.
Thank you janebeard,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Cookout, full moon and country singer, such a great adventure to bring out of town guest, they were so impressed they rebooked in January 2019!
Followed by a morning sunrise horseback ride to a outdoor breakfast area, pancakes, bacon, sausage eggs, cowboy coffee and juice. Everything from beginning to end was a surprise and delight accompanied with staff’s charm and experience!! GM Terry was cooking at both events and it was such a great pleasure to see an active supportive Leader. I will return to this lovely place.
Lisa

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LisaR3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Hello LisaR3056,
Thank you for visiting us and for your kind comments. The Ranch is very special and we appreciate you recognizing that.
We hope we see you back in January with your friends!
Thank you LisaR3056,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We stayed at the ranch for a week from 23-30 august as a family of 4 and would go back in a heartbeat. The staff are all really friendly and welcoming, especially at the front desk and in the dining room - they were genuinely helpful and interested in us.

It was very hot whilst we were there so the early morning rides were welcome and we had morning lessons every day where we learned new things. The horses were all lovely and we ended up riding a few different ones, which was fine for us. I am an experienced rider but my husband and kids weren't, however, by the end of the week they all grew in confidence and we could all quite easily get addicted to western riding!

We loved the breakfast rides and cowboy cookouts too. All the food we had at the ranch was exceptional, although the menus didn't change for the week that we were there and choices for kids were a bit limited so by the end of the week ours had eaten a lot of pasta! I think we stayed the longest out of the groups of people we met so they obviously don't get people there for that long and so changing the menu often isn't something they do. This was OK for us and we thought the food was amazing, our kids tastes are somewhere between children's and adults meals so their choice was a bit more difficult.

The pool was lovely and our boys had a great time playing in it - and the very very hot spa tub! We had drinks in the saloon and Hugh in there was very friendly and happy for the kids to play pool in the evening.

Our room was huge (12) and very clean and well looked after with really comfy beds, a big shower and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. The only thing missing was a safe in the room for valuables.

As we were there in the summer the ranch wasn't as busy as it might be other times of the year and so sometimes it felt like we had it to ourselves. We really liked this but some people might be put off by it. The only draw back was that most days it was only our boys in the kids program so they weren't able to do most of the activities planned. They also missed out on riding lessons for half of the week, which was a shame and if we'd have planned it better we probably would have asked for them to have the lessons so we could all have improved our riding by the end of the week. Special mention to Ashley from the kids programme, who made our boys feel welcome, taught them a solid foundation and didn't mind when I requested her favourite horse for my rides!

I would definitely recommend the ranch and we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lc2blt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Hello lc2blt,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback. Please know that we have new guest room safes being installed in all rooms over the next month. I am pleased you had an enjoyable time at the Ranch during our slower season. Please come back and visit us soon.
Thank you lc2blt,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We attended the cowboy cookout and had a ball. It was so much fun and the food was great. They had a great singer singing cowboy songs and the ranch is beautiful. If you are in the area don’t miss it.

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Thank you Diane S. Please come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Just spent 4 days at the Tanque Verde Ranch. The experience exceeded our expectation. We, family of three with our teenage daughter spent our days horseback riding, swimming and relaxing. Even though we are not the world's most experienced riders, and moreover not used to the Western riding style, Tanque verde has enough opportunities to teach and guide you to a higher level. By the end of our stay we passed the lope check and were able to join the lope rides. But even without that, the walking rides were enjoyable as well. It turned out to be a very good combination. The food is excellent. Not a big fan of 'all-inclusive' full buffets, this buffet and the a la carte options were simply really good and tasty. Special props to the kitchen staff for that! And of course the Breakfast ride and cowboy cook-out really added to all of it! My husband would like to thank wrangler Bill especially who was an excellent skilled and relaxed teacher, who taught him to lope. In general, keep up the good work Tanque Verde, thank you for a fantastic four days!

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank yan ting y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Hello yan ting y,
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at the Ranch and will definitely share your comments with our team. Please come back and see us soon!
Thank you yan ting y,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews