We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“light sleepers beware” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“light sleepers beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Light sleepers beware. Friendly service, clean rooms, free breakfast, complimentary cookies, all of which this place has, may not compensate for the snoring next door, the ice machine crashing down the hall and Big Foot lumbering above. Apparently, wall insulation has gone the way of the green building code, out the window. As for the free breakfast, if you want to bulk up on fried meat and eggs slathered in processed cheese this is your spot. Just don't forget the statins and definitely opt for the thermos with the strong coffee. It's pretty good and will get you down the road to the next freeway oasis, maybe in time for an afternoon nap.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the freeway and hope you have quiet neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anselmo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    129
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
169
115
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here (two of us) Thursday through Sunday in the middle of the Gem & Mineral Show. The location is optimal for browsing nearby exhibitors' tents and is relatively close to downtown Tucson's Convention Center and other areas of interest even beyond the Gems & Mineral Show.

We picked a third floor room, not facing the nearby freeway. Quiet night, firm, queen size beds. The room had all the amenities we wanted: microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee-maker, Wi-Fi and TV. The beds were firm, perhaps a bit too firm. The bathroom was clean and large with modern fixtures.

Other features we really appreciated were the hotel's supplying free bottles of water, fruit, a good complementary breakfast, cookies, and even string cheese! We didn't use the Fitness Room, which looked OK, but would have used the outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi except that they were located in front where you have to walk out of the hotel front door to use, which afforded less privacy than we'd have wished.

Parking was free and ample, which was important, because the neighboring Ramada Inn, which shares a common street entrance, was taken over by Gem & Mineral show vendors.

Service was cheerful and check-in was prompt. I don't know how

Room Tip: No freeway noise, if you pick a room not facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnVic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Well situated for exploring the city of Tucson, The Country Inn and Suites fills the bill with a modern, clean, comfortable hotel. The beds are good. The breakfast is complete. The staff is friendly and helpful, the management responds to questions. It is not a resort, nor ought it be compared to one. But among its many similar neighbors in the area, it rises well above them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meijiqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We recently spent a week at this hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff is friendly and fun in addition to helpful. The breakfasts were great and had a variety of items such as scrambled eggs, French toast, oatmeal and fresh fruit every morning. Cookies were baked every day and were available at the check-in counter in a cookie jar. Oranges and apples are also available throughout the day. It is in a very central location and while you really can't walk anywhere except for a walking trail in the back, it is a quick drive to many of the popular tourist locations. We had a one bedroom suite which was perfect for us as I get up much earlier than my husband and this allowed me to do so without disturbing him. It was nice to have a sofa and easy chair to relax on in the evenings. As it can get quite hot out there, it was nice to see water bottles provided free of charge in a refrigerator in the lobby. The windows in the bedroom opened which allowed us to sleep with them open instead of having the air conditioner blowing on us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back as the ones in front overlook the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for a full week and loved it. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms are modern, attractive, clean, and spacious (including bathroom). Both a refrigerator and microwave were tucked away in the room. Wifi and parking both are free. The breakfasts also are free and had enough variety to make them interesting, including both traditional breakfast foods and healthy options. Next to the front desk, there were free refrigerated bottles of water, fruit, muffins, and cookies (we ate these for lunch every day so Country Inns basically took care of 2 meals a day for us). The location is very convenient: close to downtown Tucson (about 1.5 miles), but also a short drive to the mountain ranges surrounding Tucson, where we spent most days hiking. Staying closer to downtown might have been fun, but then we would have had to pay more plus we wouldn't have had the free breakfast and other amenities. We had an excellent experience combined with low rates.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on a weekend. It is a very nice hotel, and I recommend it if you need to stay in Tucson.

Very clean, nicely deocrated. Staff was very polite, and there are always cookies and bottled water for guests in the lobby. Breakfast was nice, too, there was a waffle maker, oatmeal, fruit, bagels, cereal. All the usual.

It's right off I-10 but the noise from the freeway doesn't bother you at all. However, if you are on the side of the hotel facing the freeway, you will also be facing the train tracks, and there are trains going through all night, with full train horns. I did get woken up a couple of times during the nights we stayed due to to train horns. Normally, I would just turn on the fan in the room, but I never could figure out how to get the fan to run continously, it would only turn on at set temps, even though I had it set to "on" and not "auto".

There was free wireless, which is always appreciated, though it was sometimes difficult to get my phone to log onto it.

All in all, a very nice place to stay. Not full of bells and whistles, but very clean and comfortable. If I go back to Tucson, I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the freeway also face the train tracks, and the whistles can wake you in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meigzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of road trip in NV and AZ.

Great welcome from April mon the front desk - stayed here three days because of the service, when I was only intending to stay overnight. Hotel is just off I-10

Really impressive room, clean and tidy. nice bedding. AC and overhead fan.

Great range of channels on TV and all-day coffee, cookies and candy at reception.

Super hot breakfast, which set you up for the day.

Very friendly staff, and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
7.1 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
7.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
7.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Address: 705 North Freeway, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#26 Family Hotel in Tucson
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tucson City Center
Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Hotel Tucson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing