We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Country Tucson atmosphere”
Review of El Corral

El Corral
Ranked #133 of 2,235 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: In 1915, the Tucson Citizen reported that local developer John Murphey had purchased several thousand acres of property in the foothills of the Catalina Mountains to the north of town. The editors of the newspaper projected the purchase as "folly", an investment in worthless desert hillsides, never to be recovered. For John Murphey, it took just over a decade to prove his detractors wrong. By the end of the 1920s, homes were being built in the Catalina Foothills neighborhoods, and the distinctive Spanish Colonial and Mission Revival style buildings in the area began to take form. A short distance east of Campbell Avenue a building was built in 1926, possibly the first restaurant/cafe/tavern east of Oracle Road. The El Corral you dine in tonight is located in the same building (with some modifications of course). In 1939, the owner of El Corral Cafe, Leroy C. Perkins subdivided a quarter section of land into Los Ranches Perkins.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

First time to dine here. We were seated in the front room. Not very exciting... just a big room. I think there were rooms in other parts of the restaurants that probably had more atmosphere... at least I hope so. Spouse and I ordered the prime rib. Very, very average (actually no flavor at all). If we go back will not order the prime rib again.

Fast service, and the food was coming quicker than we could eat it, before the main course was delivered. Guess they were trying to get people in and out quickly.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vickib28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, Public Relations Manager at El Corral, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi Vicki,

We're sorry to hear that your prime rib had no flavor! This is not typical for our legendary prime rib. We'll check with the kitchen staff to see if there have been any issues or changes recently. We're happy to hear that the service was quick! Yes, please come on back and ask to be seated in a different dining area; each room has its own feel. Thanks, again, for visiting and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 422 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We had heard mixed reviews of el corral. It’s a restaurant that has been around for a LONG time. We decided to try it with some other couples. We were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed it.
The parking lot was crowded so we thought we’d have a long wait. We were pleased to be seated immediately. The place goes on and on so there was room after room for dining. The waitress took our drink order right away. The service was good the entire meal. Our meals all came with a salad which was small but fresh. Here are our entrees and suggestions. Ribs were excellent. Prime rib was good and we asked to have it seared over the mesquite grill. The salmon was also good. The burger and the small filet were disappointing. Both were ordered medium rare and both came out well done without even any pink inside. We were heading to a show so we couldn’t wait for them to redo them. We would order the fish, ribs and prime rib again but not the other Items. The decor was interesting with pictures of old time cowboys and cowgirls that we spent some time having fun identifying.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank nurabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Everyone else in our party ordered prime rib and they were happy. I ordered a T-Bone and it actually was tough and hard to cut which surprised me. I should have ordered the sirloin. Oh well, win some lose some. The tamale pie was entriguing but nothing Mexican about it. Skip it and order a loaded bake potato instead. This place is steeped in history and I love that it is an old Tucson institution. It was casual and fun to walk around. Service was very good and friendly and the decor wonderfully tacky.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Came here with family and enjoyed a nice prime rib meal with great service and ambiance. The place was hopping - very popular so make sure you have reservations.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RHoward2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

We chose El Corral for dinner based on TripAdvisor reviews, and for the first time, we were not thrilled. The restaurant was busy but not packed, and there seemed to be plenty of locals dining there (usually a good sign). The Western decor was great and the staff was friendly. The food, however, was disappointing. The bread was hard, our petite filets were over cooked, and the green beans and fries tasted like they were purchased from the frozen section of the grocery store. With so many other steak houses in Tucson, I would go elsewhere.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JentheLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, Public Relations Manager at El Corral, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Hi Jen,

Thank you for visiting El Corral and for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor! While we're glad that you enjoyed the decor and staff, we're sorry to hear that the food was underwhelming. We have some work to do. We'll check in with our kitchen staff to see if there have been any issues recently, and we have since reviewed our food prep procedures. Thank you, again, for letting us know about your dining experience. We hope you'll reconsider and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing