We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Caring Hospitality on a Ranch”
other travellers have booked this property
Main house on property and drive approaching house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main house on property and drive approaching house
Entrance to casita and glimpse of private patio Queen sized bed and part of sitting area with two recliners
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Main house on property and drive approaching house
Entrance to casita and glimpse of private patio
Queen sized bed and part of sitting area with two recliners
Casita
Casita
Casita
Vonnie and Blaze
Trail ride
View from our ranch
Barn
Jerry and Vonnie on ATV
We even have cows.
View front our front yard.
Vonnie giving a lesson in our arena.
It did snow and the horses loved it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tucson, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
roomtogo
Shoreline, WA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Caring Hospitality on a Ranch”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in the Casita at Casa de Caballo for 11 nights, while exploring the Tucson area and the surrounding communities. Although this property is located behind an exclusive retirement community, there are many advantages for staying here. Most important are the hosts, Vonnie and Jerry Kauffman, who will do everything to make your stay comfortable. The king size bed was so comfortable, we actually slept more than we anticipated. Wi-Fi was also free. Our refrigerator was stocked to the brim with a variety of fruits, juices, yogurts, eggs, bread, etc. including coffee . The "one-butt-kitchen" has everything one needs to make a dinner, lunch or picnic. A BBQ grill is right outside the entry door, in the garden patio. Hikes can start at your front door or you can drive to many trail heads. Speaking of driving, this place is located off the Oracle Rd. behind Saddlebrooke (a retirement community) where you can dine at the several clubhouse restaurants for very modest prices and get good food or cocktails. It's a short trip to the Biosphere II research center and a longer one in the opposite direction to downtown Tucson. However, that didn't stop us from exploring Green Valley, or the Desert Museum, both a little more than an hour away. Shopping for groceries is along Oracle Rd, and includes a Trader Joes and Kroger grocery stores.
We highly recommend a stay at Casa De Caballo, whether it's for a weekend get-away or a longer stay to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting, the stars in the clear sky, and our hosts.
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler9...
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Casita was everything we hoped for.,separate from the Main house, Comfortable, well stocked and quiet.The room was large and had a memory foam bed. We slept well every night, there are also bunk beds if you have kids.The Casa was a great place to relax, soak in the atmosphere, & star gaze.
Close enough to downtown Tucson to do all the sight seeing and activities during the day but then escape to the "country " to relax

Our Hosts Jerry and Vonnie were friendly and helpful..Vonnie gave me a lesson in clicker training with the horses and was a personal guide on a hike around the area.
She is very knowledgeable about the flora,fauna and history of the area.

Vonnie and Jerry were as involved as you wanted them to be.

My Husband and I had a great time and will not hesitate to return to the Casa when we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: having our own little house
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More then just a place to stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the B & B for two months and found it to be more then just a palace to stay. We were treated just like old friends by Vonnie and Jerry and all the animals on their place. Horses, cattle and the little pigs which were a added bonus to our stay.

It is a little out of the way and you have to drive but everything is within a short drive and you are still isolated and can enjoy the desert quite and star filled nights.

Vonnie and Jerry were great hosts and very attentive to our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being around all the animals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elli611
Hobbs, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We and our Rhodesian Ridgeback Juma stayed at the Casa de Caballo Ranch for 13 nights. We enjoyed every minute. The casita is very clean,very comfy and the area is beautiful. We relaxed a lot of hours on the patio and watched the birds and read a good book.
The best for us was the opportunity to walk direct in the wonderful wilderness behind the Ranch. The best place we ever stayed in the US ! The owner Vonnie & Jerry are the best, they make you feel like family!
Thank you so much for let us stay in your vacation home. We want to come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Vonnie&Jerry, the girls and the horses
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frozenjan
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I was hesitant about a bed and breakfast, but Casa de Caballo has converted me into a fan. The casa is clean, comfortable and very well appointed. It is just so relaxing there. It is in a great location, off the beaten path enough to be quiet and peaceful, yet close enough to the city to be convenient. Vonnie and Jerry are fantastic hosts - they are so kind and interesting and friendly. They think of every detail to make your stay comfortable and go out of their way to be accommodating and helpful, without being intrusive. The animals are all very well cared for and I really enjoyed starting my day having breakfast on the patio watching the birds, then going over for a visit with the horses and cattle. There are so many wonderful little surprises here. I would come back to Tucson just to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How absolutely relaxing it was there.
Liked least: The only thing I didn't like, was that we had to leave to come home. :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomnmegan
Ocoee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can We Live Here”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Jerry, Vonnie, Rosie, Petunia, Breeze, Blaze, Geranamo are forever part of our family. We have taken a piece of the ranch back to our home, but we will be back and can't wait to hit the hiking trails that are found right out side of the property. Jerry and Vonnie are both so gracious and generous in their hospitality and we felt so spoiled with the attention to detail. As example, the breakfast selection, including coffee and the so comfortable bed and clean room. Hotels beware and take note of how it should be done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The desert at its best
Liked least: Leaving too early
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse V
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Away from the maddening crowd”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at The Casa was a very enjoyable one.We loved the proximity to the Arizona widlife and countryside.
Vonnie and Jerry were perfect hosts tending to our every need and we were provided with a generous and nice variety of breakfast choices and accompanying condiments.
our hosts were friendly but not obtrusive. They come from very interesting histories and are very animal friendly.
It was a pleasure to stay at Casa de Caballos and deserves a longer revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The views of the beautiful arizona countryside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing