We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,417)
Filter reviews
2,417 results
Traveller rating
1,529
559
192
79
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,529
559
192
79
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river signature grill tequila toast golf course morning ritual self parking hiking trails city lights every evening main pool beautiful property fitness center primo salud pits pools conference
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 2,417 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2017

We spent over $1500 during our 2-night stay, and while the facilities were incredible, the service was horrible, with one exception. Rooms were beautiful, access to hiking trails at Tucson Mountain Park was perfectly situated, but the service makes us question if we should come back! We were planning on booking a couples massage at the Spa but after two days of bad service we decided against the expense. We ate at nearly every restaurant, some more than once, and one thing was consistent: grumpy, easily frazzled, unaccommodating and bewildered staff members (servers, hostesses, front desk staff and bartenders) that seemed troubled to fulfill the easiest task. The one bright, happy exception was Michelle, waitress at the Signature Grill ~ she was charismatic, patient, kind and made us feel truly special. Thanks, Michelle! You are amazing.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Dear Katherine N,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for the kind words in regards to the facilities and for acknowledging the outstanding job Michelle did in delivering the service standard you should expect from our property and brand. Unfortunately, it sounds like Michelle was the only able to meet that standard during your experience and we apologize for the service short comings you experienced elsewhere. We take all feedback to heart and use to make us better. We hope that the next time you travel you would give our property another chance as we are confident we can deliver a much better experience. Please travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2017

The property here is beautiful. They have a nice pool, lap pool with the spa, and a lazy river and water slide. There are plenty of lounge chairs poolside. The seating area outside the bar is very large with several large fire pits and chimeras, and it offers a gorgeous view of Tucson and the mountains on the other side. The landscaping is pretty and we saw both javelinas and road runners on the property. There's an indoor bar, Starbucks Coffee, two restaurants, two small shops, a beautiful golf course, hiking paths, spa, exercise room, huge ballrooms/conference rooms, outdoor patios, bike rentals, etc. The resort offers a lot. It is well-maintained and clean. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. They have a parking garage for guests, too. The on-site restaurant is expensive, and local restaurants are a 15-25 minute drive from the resort. Ask for recommendations at the front desk as we were given great advice on where to eat.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2017

This resort is wonderful. Once you're getting closer to the hotel, the drive to the main entrance gives you a sense of expectation. Walk into the lobby and look straight out the back of the hotel at an amazing view. The back of the hotel has a huge patio area with different levels and fire pits. Get up early, sit on the patio and watch the sunrise. Everything about this resort is beautiful -- the view from our room, the golf course, the hiking trail (which is not treacherous, an enjoyable trek among the cactus). You might see some neat wildlife while on the golf course. The gift shops have very nice items. Friendly, helpful staff throughout the resort. This is another place I look forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Denise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Sharron and I spent 4 nights at this fabulous 5-Star Resort and had a fantastic time. She was there for a conference with her work and I was there as a tag-a-long to keep her company. The place is spectacular with various activities and restaurants to keep you going. There is a 530 PM ritual where free shots of Tequila are passed out and drank by all in attendance as a salute to Pancho Villa. At 730 AM there is an Indian ritual hosted by Larry to express the thoughts of the Indians whereas we are all just a little part of this Earth and to cherish it. The restaurants keep you satisfied with delicious meals. We did experience a problem with service at one meal which was professionally addressed by Hotel Manager Bethany Wedsworth and Plunge Manager Melissa Ramirez who both made it more than right for us. They were very sincere and understanding. A big shout out to both of these fine Managers! While Sharron was at her conference I took a hike and went to the driving range to try and sharpen my lacking golf swing. We had a memorable time and truly enjoyed our time there.

Room tip: View facing the veranda and pool. Balcony should be asked for.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jimmac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Been coming here for a couple of years now (and will be arriving again tomorrow), always enjoy the room and facilities, plus beautiful scenery. Last time we were here to visit my daughter I got an urge for an ice crème sundae. As I left the bar I walked by the closed restaurant and ran into a chef (shorter Asian lady, very sweet, maybe 25-30). I said jokingly, "I don't suppose I could get a sundae from you". She replied, "wait here", walked back into the closed kitchen and reappeared with a bowl of vanilla ice crème with chocolate syrup, and it was on the house. OUTSTANDING!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews