We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at the Sam Hughes Inn B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2008

My husband and I spent two fun weeks touring Arizona. Our trip started in Tucson, and we stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn B&B. It was the perfect choice - great location, excellent rates, and a warm & friendly atmosphere. Susan, the innkeeper, made us feel very welcomed, and provided us with lots of helpful information about the area. Each day Susan went the extra mile to provide us a delicious breakfast before we set out to see the local attractions. The courtyard is a perfect place to sit and enjoy the garden after a fun filled day. We stayed in the Tombstone room which is detached from the main house and has a view of the garden. We highly recommend a stop in Tucson and a stay at the Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DarlingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2008

I found this inn on the UA website when I was planning to visit the university to check out a PhD program. From the first email exchange with Susan, it was a gracious experience. This is a first class but reasonably priced B&B with fantastic breakfasts, little weird requests (like do you have skim milk?) met with a smile, informative and helpful conversation (Susan even contacted a friend in real estate to give me a tour of appropriate housing in the area), and comfortable good-sized rooms as well as a neat outside sitting area.

While I was there (for two days, much too short), there were parents of college students as well as international travelers also staying. We were charmed by Susan, and our delight with the place was the topic of breakfast table conversation.

It's convenient, comfortable and relaxing. Well above average, on the cusp of excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bfa629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

We spent five nights at Sam Hughes Inn (Santa Fe Room) and couldn't have been happier. Susan is an excellent hostess and provides a delicious FULL breakfast each morning (and each morning featured a different presentation). Our room (which had a private patio entrance) was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The garden grounds are well-tended and there is a shade ramada, lots of trees & comfortable seating. A huge living room/library is for guests' use anytime as well as a complimentary-use laptop with internet connection, which was very handy. And the location couldn't have been better - in an older, quiet, up-scale neighborhood adjacent to the University of AZ main campus (lovely bookstore, museums, galleries, etc.), and with lots of interesting restaurants nearby. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Sam Hughes Inn was our base for an extended visit to Tucson and we were delighted to discover such a charming and comfortable oasis in a peaceful setting, very handy for the University.
It felt like home but with much better breakfasts, which were deliciously different every day, and we enjoyed meeting some fascinating and descriminating fellow guests.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank FastidiRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

My partner and I recently stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn and it was a very pleasant experience.

We stayed in the Tombstone Room which is in a seperate building out in the garden, the room had everything you need, it was spotless and fresh towels were provided daily.

The garden is very pleasant with many shaded areas, it is a real oasis, you would never believe that you were in the middle of a city.

The public areas were nice, there was a large TV room which also had a large selection of books.

The breakfasts were a real highlight, a hearty meal was served, this included an egg product with a side of meat, some fresh baked bread and fresh fruit, the conversation was always pleasant, while I was there many of the guest were visiting U of A which is just 5 minutes walk away.

I would definitely return and would recommend it to anybody who is looking for a pleasant break in Tucson

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

A very pleasant place to stay,with a quiet secluded garden. We were looked after very well by Sue her breakfasts kept you going all day. The inn keeper was a mine of information on things to do during our stay and always went out of her way to ensure that guests were well catered for.I would recommend the inn to anyone who intends spending some time in Tucson.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffWelshdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

During my 10 days at the Sam Hughes Inn I was able to determine that it is very well run indeed. The breakfasts consisted of a bounty of good food, and the guests I met at breakfast were quite interesting people. The ability to share this time with the other guests is a pleasure, especially when compared to the relative anonymity of a hotel. As the Inn is located in a residential neighborhood, it is much quieter than all but perhaps the most upscale hotels. This is important to me. You really feel "at home" at the Sam Hughes Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Occasionaltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adobe Rose Inn
#7 of 45 in Tucson
281 reviews
West University
Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719-5603
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $159 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Visit Barbados so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing