We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
269
25
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
269
25
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews susan banner historic neighborhood susan makes breakfasts were great lovely home within walking distance stay there again local attractions have stayed here several times comfortable rooms a wonderful stay stayed nights visit tucson tombstone university ua uofa
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 296 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2008

My husband and I spent two fun weeks touring Arizona. Our trip started in Tucson, and we stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn B&B. It was the perfect choice - great location, excellent rates, and a warm & friendly atmosphere. Susan, the innkeeper, made us feel very welcomed, and provided us with lots of helpful information about the area. Each day Susan went the extra mile to provide us a delicious breakfast before we set out to see the local attractions. The courtyard is a perfect place to sit and enjoy the garden after a fun filled day. We stayed in the Tombstone room which is detached from the main house and has a view of the garden. We highly recommend a stop in Tucson and a stay at the Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DarlingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2008

I found this inn on the UA website when I was planning to visit the university to check out a PhD program. From the first email exchange with Susan, it was a gracious experience. This is a first class but reasonably priced B&B with fantastic breakfasts, little weird requests (like do you have skim milk?) met with a smile, informative and helpful conversation (Susan even contacted a friend in real estate to give me a tour of appropriate housing in the area), and comfortable good-sized rooms as well as a neat outside sitting area.

While I was there (for two days, much too short), there were parents of college students as well as international travelers also staying. We were charmed by Susan, and our delight with the place was the topic of breakfast table conversation.

It's convenient, comfortable and relaxing. Well above average, on the cusp of excellent.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bfa629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We spent five nights at Sam Hughes Inn (Santa Fe Room) and couldn't have been happier. Susan is an excellent hostess and provides a delicious FULL breakfast each morning (and each morning featured a different presentation). Our room (which had a private patio entrance) was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The garden grounds are well-tended and there is a shade ramada, lots of trees & comfortable seating. A huge living room/library is for guests' use anytime as well as a complimentary-use laptop with internet connection, which was very handy. And the location couldn't have been better - in an older, quiet, up-scale neighborhood adjacent to the University of AZ main campus (lovely bookstore, museums, galleries, etc.), and with lots of interesting restaurants nearby. We look forward to another visit.

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Sam Hughes Inn was our base for an extended visit to Tucson and we were delighted to discover such a charming and comfortable oasis in a peaceful setting, very handy for the University.
It felt like home but with much better breakfasts, which were deliciously different every day, and we enjoyed meeting some fascinating and descriminating fellow guests.

Date of stay: April 2008
Thank FastidiRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2008

My partner and I recently stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn and it was a very pleasant experience.

We stayed in the Tombstone Room which is in a seperate building out in the garden, the room had everything you need, it was spotless and fresh towels were provided daily.

The garden is very pleasant with many shaded areas, it is a real oasis, you would never believe that you were in the middle of a city.

The public areas were nice, there was a large TV room which also had a large selection of books.

The breakfasts were a real highlight, a hearty meal was served, this included an egg product with a side of meat, some fresh baked bread and fresh fruit, the conversation was always pleasant, while I was there many of the guest were visiting U of A which is just 5 minutes walk away.

I would definitely return and would recommend it to anybody who is looking for a pleasant break in Tucson

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews