We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vaction Stay at Sam Hughes B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2017

A wonderful oasis in the middle of Tucson, beautiful back yard to enjoy along with an outstanding hostess! Breakfasts were delightful and plentiful. Our room was pleasingly decorated, comfortable and clean. Availability of a great sitting room provided an excellent opportunity to catch up on news, read and relax. And we enjoyed our daily welcome by Susan's "wee" four legged companion, Rosie!
Thanks for a terrific stay and we would highly recommend choosing Sam Hughes Inn.

Room Tip: We highly recommend choosing the two rooms that enter onto the back yard garden and sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Our second visit to Sam Hughes Inn was every bit as enjoyable as the first. The Inn is beautifully maintained in every detail and our warm and friendly hostess, Susan, ensures all comforts are provided. The Santa Fe room is roomy and private with direct access to the spacious, calming courtyard. Anticipating breakfast each day is a treat. Susan is very accommodating to any special dietary concerns guests may have. There are several restaurants in easy walking distance and the historic neighbourhood itself is a great place for walks. Enjoy your stay at Sam Hughes. You won't be disappointed! Oh, did I mention Rosie? Her ever wagging tail will bring a smile to your face

Stayed: February 2017
Thank dejableu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Tucson at Sam Hughes Inn during our visit there in late October. Susan is a gracious and caring host.The beautiful,quaint and centrally located Inn serves delicious breakfast each morning to start your day. Do stay there on your next visit to the city.

Room Tip: We had the large Santa Fe room and found it nice and quiet, opening on to the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Muna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samhughesinn, Owner at Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you, Muna & Zainab. I hope the rest of your trip was fun and that you are now back home with a little snow to welcome you. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Breakfast was the highlight. Coffee available early. Chose this for location (within walking distance to the stadium). Large bathroom, stocked with toiletries and a blow dryer. Off street free parking available. Bedroom had comfortable bed, armour to hang up clothes, bed side desks on both sides of the bed with plenty of electrical outlets to charge phones/computers. Also available: laptop and printer in a small library, large den with a large screen TV, backyard oasis.

Room Tip: Private bungalow in backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MBW-JBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My recent visit to my hometown of Tucson, Arizona was greatly enhanced by my experience of staying at the Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast. Susan Banner, the proprietor, is accommodating and friendly, doing everything possible to ensure that our visit was comfortable and enjoyable. The inn on a quiet street near the University of Arizona is beautifully decorated in Southwest style, and centrally located. The neighborhood is perfect for long walks. Our room was comfortable and well-appointed. The garden is beautifully-maintained, with plenty of tables and chairs, a fountain, and many desert trees, plants and flowers to enjoy. It is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The breakfasts for me were the culinary highlights of our stay. On the last morning of our visit Susan was kind enough to pack a brown bag breakfast for us, as we were leaving for the airport well before breakfast time. I will plan to stay at the Sam Hughes Inn whenever my travels take me back to Tucson.

Room Tip: I have stayed in two of the four rooms, and both are charming, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzannemarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I really enjoyed my stay in a cute little house in the back courtyard of this B&B. The B&B has a lovely fountain with a place to sit and read and relax in the backyard, and it's just a block or so from the university. Super quiet, peaceful, and convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Soleia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I've stayed at the Sam Hughes Inn on my many visits to Tucson and have always found it an outstanding experience. Susan is tirelessly devoted to making my stay warm, and accommodating. The Inn and rooms have a wonderful SW flare adding up to the only place I book when in Tucson.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.1 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,002 reviews
1.8 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
719 reviews
2.6 km away
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
7.1 km away
Mon Ami Bed and Breakfast
0.8 km away
Adobe Rose Inn
Adobe Rose Inn
#7 of 45 in Tucson
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719-5603
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $158 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Visit Barbados and Cancelon so you can book your Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing