We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It was perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mira Vista Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mira Vista Resort
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Mira Vista, which I think is becoming a premier clothing optional resort in the Southwest if not the entire country. The facilities were good, the staff was nice, and the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganIcecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    28
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
77
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The grounds, rooms, and folks that visit are top notch. Our major disappointment with the resort was the unprofessional and less than accommodating ways of the management. VERY POOR choice for management.
Brent Wadsworth is the "ruler" and has the attitude that it is his way or the highway. Personally, as a paying visitor it is not my view. Resorts and hotels cater to the visitor or their patrons will not come back! Does he not know this simple rule?! No.
After speaking with many of the locals, who are wonderful and personable by the way, they informed us that he was a landscaper who wanted to try management. Hum, that really explained a LOT! My question now is, why would a business owner with any common sense leave the growth of his business( with so much potential!) in charge with this ignorant , impersonal man.
Years ago I had stopped in for a nights stay on a business trip. Management was top notch on that visit! I still remember the managers name because it was such a good experience. JAN! Warm, friendly, and ACCOMMODATING! What happened? THAT was the right plan to grow your business.
A major holiday weekend with a minimum three night stay should include open facilities! An open bar on those nights, drinks and food available, and WARM WATER in at least one pool!! We looked forward to the conversation pool we had read about but that was to cold to sit in at night. A friendly, glad you are here with us attitude instead of a rude scowling man would have helped.
Please ownership, make this the resort it can be! APPRECIATE your guests!
A FRIENDLY and ACCOMMODATING attitude would be the answer to bringing this resort into the top ten in the country. The bones are there. Hopefully the out of state ownership will correct the issues before it's demise.
OH! And they have lovely condos for sale! Would we consider one? Perhaps if management wasn't so poor and they really liked their guests. At this point I need to see ownership is going to turn this thing around for success first.

Room Tip: Recommend the new condos vs the older rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Sail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
I'm wondering if there is a mistake on the timing of this guest's stay. There were no 3 night minimum stay periods in Dec. and the only 2 night minimum stay requirement was over New Year's Eve. I checked our records and we had no guests that weekend from within 100 miles of Pebble Beach, the hometown given by the reviewer. We were completely sold out for the weekend and the restaurant was open from Thursday through Monday. The cozy cantina bar in the main building is open daily during all office and restaurant hours. The separate lounge that is usually open only on Fri and Sat nights was open on Sun Jan 1st as well last week. We had a great NYE party with over 110 in attendance and no complaints were made to any staff members the entire weekend.

Our 40 foot long conversation pool is kept heated to 96-99 degrees and the small spa is kept heated to 102 degrees. We did have a problem with the conversation pool heater at the beginning of Dec, but were able to keep it warm while a new heater was being installed by sharing the volleyball pool heater. The disruption in optimal service was limited to the day that we discovered there was a problem.

Brent Wadsworth has been the manager of Mira Vista resort since March, 2008. I can't remember ever receiving a complaint about him, with the exception of someone who was asked to leave due to unacceptably rude behavior toward other guests. On the contrary, people go out of their way to tell us how great he is. Personal customer service is his best attribute. Brent is not loud and gregarious. His low-key friendliness puts guests at ease, particularly those who are visiting a clothing-optional resort for the first time. That is extremely important to all of us.

The reviewer says that the owners don't have any common sense, need to correct issues and need to turn it around for success. We have been in the clothing-optional resort business for 27 1/2 years now. We have owned Laguna del Sol, near Sacramento, CA since 1984 and it is certainly very successful. It is one of the 5 largest resorts in the country and its general manager has been there for 19 years. Mira Vista does not need "turning around". It is growing at a steady rate, despite the recent tough times for the hotel industry in general. We spent more time at Mira Vista last year than either our home or other 2 businesses and are actively involved on a daily basis from wherever we are. We are very proud of and pleased with every one of our exceptional staff at Mira Vista. They all consistently go the extra mile to make sure the guests are happy. If problems arise, which of course they do on occasion, they are resolved quickly. It's disheartening to hear about problems after the fact on a public forum such as this, when they were never mentioned during the stay. I did notice that this was the first tripadvisor review by this person.

Suzanne Schell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
243 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Okay, maybe we shouldn't have gone in December when it rained and the high was in the low 50s. The place is nice. We had a one bedroom suite that was comfortable. The facilities are good. It has a nice workout room. The folks were nice. The weather sucked.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairwayFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and I just spent the Halloween weekend at Mira Vista and we had a blast!! We met some great people. The grounds were beautiful. We enjoyed hanging out by the pool and the conversation pool. We saw people playing water volleyball and they all seemed to be having a great time. We did not play as we were to busy relaxing on the many comfy lounge chairs. The Friday night karyoke was hilarious. Everyone partyed into the night. The Halloween party on Saturday was incredible. I have never been to a funner party in my life. The costumes were amazing. Everyone was so friendly and fun. The food in the restaurant was very good. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts. My wife and I highly recommend this place. We had a great weekend, and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 32 was a great room. It faced west so we had some great sunsets. Also it was easy for our fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Mira Vista Resort was overall a delight, a much-needed respite from the day-to-day grind, with friendly people, a plethora of amenities to enjoy, and pretty good food in the restaurant! Let me begin by saying that we were enjoying ourselves so much that we extended our four-night stay to five, and we took advantage of the ability to stay as long as you’d like as day visitors on the day you check out of your room. We finally got the incentive to leave we needed; four hours after the 11 a.m. check-out time, when the construction came too close to the pool area and it became so noisy that we weren’t really able to relax that much any more, we forced ourselves to don clothes once again and get on the road.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon, and enjoyed the weekly karaoke night in the lounge, which is currently only open on Friday and Saturday nights. They do have a full liquor license and the staff will get you a drink any time you ask, though. They do ask that you not drink any alcoholic beverages you did not purchase from them except in your room or patio area, which is kind of a pain if you have to go order your drink in the office. The ice machine is in the restaurant, so you have to ask them for that, too; however, they were always very accommodating, so it ended up not being such a big deal.

Once a month, they have a theme party on Saturday night in the lounge, with dancing and a d.j. (although we did dance on Friday night, too). For those concerned about being disturbed by the noise level from the lounge, please note that we could not hear any noise from the lounge even at 15’ from the door.

One of the reasons I chose Mira Vista was all the different kinds of pools they have there, including a swim pool, which is still only 3.5-5’ deep from end to end; a 40’ long conversation spa with under 95-100 degree water (I understand they keep it hotter in winter) and lots of water jets; a 3.5’ deep water volley ball pool, used year-round (and not just for volley ball); and a very small spa, which at the end of July we estimated to be at about 102 degrees. I believe they are going to build another bigger spa soon. We were in all the different water places multiple times, since we were lucky enough to enjoy a variety of weather while we were there. One thing to note is that water volleyball only happened on Saturday the six days we were there; I was quite disappointed no game happened on Sunday. But that depends on the guests who show up any particular day and is totally out of the hands of management. Other than the lounge events mentioned above, this place has no organized activities, which was more than fine with us.

We did not use the fitness center, but did enjoy a couple of games each of ping pong and billiards. They do not keep the a/c on in that room all the time, so we turned on the timer and went to swim for an hour while the room cooled off. They also have a variety of board games which you can take out to the nice covered lounge area between the pools or play there in the game room.

Oh, I should say something about the construction: they are completing the first set of buildings that will eventually consist of 115 condos. The other buildings won’t be so close to the main pool areas, so perhaps the construction sounds won’t be disturbing; but we called ahead before committing ourselves to the trip to find out what kind of construction noises we might have to endure. We were lucky to have a very quiet 5 days, with the noise level ratcheting up only on Wednesday, the day we had to leave. Something to be aware of, though.

One daily event we did not appreciate was our room air conditioner taking a break every single afternoon. Saturday afternoon we realized the room had been gradually getting hotter and it was now over 80 in the room, so we visited the office to let them know. They checked it out and said it just needed to ‘take a break’, so we moved ourselves out to the pool area after turning the temperature dial up to 80 degrees. In an hour or so, it was working again. This happened for a couple of hours each day beginning sometime between 1 and 3 p.m., so don’t expect to take an in-room afternoon nap in the heat of summer. As they said, “Good thing we have pools.” But still....

We found the restaurant food to range from acceptable to excellent, having one breakfast, one lunch and one dinner there. We did not care for the breakfast sausage patties, but found everything else well-prepared and tasty. The prices were generally no more than you would expect from this type of resort. My mate would have preferred more dishes without chili or fancy sauces (being a ‘meat and potatoes’ guy). Currently the restaurant is open Thursday-Sunday for all three meals, but only serves a $6 continental breakfast Monday-Wednesday. While there are refrigerators and coffee pots in all the rooms, there are no microwaves; so if you are there mid-week, be prepared to dine on cold meals you bring and make yourselves, or to get dressed and go out to eat.

The crowd ranged from nudist off-duty staff and local regulars having a lot of fun (Friday night and Saturday from morning to midnight) to quiet times when everyone was reading or snoozing or having low conversations. Having visited a number of clothing optional resorts in the past, I definitely have put Mira Vista at the top of my list, only partially because it is the closest location to where we live. We REALLY enjoyed our stay, and hope to go back again before the year is out! Of note is the fact that the current owners of 5 years also own Laguna del Sol in California, another upscale clothing-optional resort.

While we benefited from a half-price summer deal, I am rating the value based on regular pricing. They DO have a few RV parking spaces, but no tent camping, which we have enjoyed a at number of other clothing-optional facilities, including Valley View at Orient Land Trust, and De Anza Springs in Jacumba, CA and Lupin Lodge near Santa Cruz, CA. Except for the mini-fridge and coffee maker in each room, the standard room we enjoyed was pretty basic; but that's okay, we were there for the water!

Room Tip: If you have extra-large hips, go for a handicap room as the space between the bed & dresser is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank newmexicoonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thanks for your review and nice pictures! July is the month with the highest temperatures in Tucson, but the air conditioner problem that you had shouldn't have been an issue and has been checked out. Exciting news - The construction of Phase One of the Casas at Mira Vista is complete. The condos are gorgeous and the first residents move in this month. Some will be in the rental program and available to book through Mira Vista. These units will be especially attractive to those wanting a full kitchen during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deming, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I try to get to Mira Vista as ofen as we can, which usually means two or three times a year. We are intrigued by the condos being built, and may consider one some day. One just has to overlook the construction inconveniences for now. Once we get into the conversation pool and start meeting people, who cares anyway? We will be there again next week for their half-price special. Can't beat that! Plus, we are looking forward to experiencing a dance on Saturday night, which we have not done before.

Room Tip: Take you own hairdryer. The rooms are immaculate, but spartan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertDeb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had our first visit at Mira Vista over the weekend..what a lovely place to relax and enjoy the desertscape! Everyone we met were so nice and friendly. We wil be back..soon!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikiactis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucson
2.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites NW Tucson Marana
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn
5.7 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 127 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#53 of 127 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
8.9 km away
Omni Tucson National Resort
2.9 km away
Super 8 Marana/Tucson Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Vista Resort

Property: Mira Vista Resort
Address: 7501 N Wade Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-9626
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mira Vista is an upscale clothing-optional resort that's a relaxing, stress-free escape from the world, yet so close to town. 14 Suites & rooms plus 10 condos for rent, full-service restaurant & lounge, 2 large pools, conversation pool, spa, tennis, fitness center, massage. Unique, historic 30 acre property with forever views and beautiful desert landscaping. Open to day guests. Casas at Mira Vista luxury condos for sale with some available for vacation stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mira Vista Hotel Tucson
Mira Vista Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing