We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
59
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saguaro national park every morning wonderful hosts place to stay harvey betty desert bnb privacy
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 62 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We booked a room for a week in March 2012. What a great place, great hosts. The breakfasts are astonishing. We are pretty early folks and it was not a problem to get breakfast a little earlier. The hot tub was great for early evenings listening to the birds of the desert. Morning coffee on the back porch also. You get quails eating right at your feet. Walking distance from the Saguaro National Park. 15 to 20 minutes from great restaurants in town. About 2 hours drive from great birding and natural habitat sites to the South. Just loved it and would book with them without hesitation. PS my wife asked for gluten free breakfasts and wow did they ever deliver. Thanks again for the great memories and looking forward to visiting you again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raven2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Desert Dove in an effort to escape Maryland's snow. It turned out to be a phenomenal decision. Being greeted with Minnesota Nice in the middle of Arizona sun made for a perfect combination. We were shown to our room which was immaculate with a comfortable pillow-top bed. Breakfasts were delicious and varied each day. Special dietary needs were readily met. Don't be worried about asking for gluten-free, vegetarian, or other diets. After breakfast each day, Betty and Harvey provided tons of information as to what to see and do in and around Tucson. Their insight kept us plenty busy despite our total lack of planning. Desert Dove also proved to be the perfect place to take a break laying in the sun with a book and hummingbirds for company. If we are in the Tucson area again, we would not hesitate for a second to stay at Desert Dove. Thanks, Harvey and Betty for making our vacation a great one.

Room Tip: Only two rooms to choose. Thick adobe walls make both comfortable and quiet. You can't lose.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a fantastic B&B, and so much better than staying in a hotel. If you are in Tucson, you really should get out of the city and stay at Desert Dove for the night.
It's a wonderful building, very nicely decorated, and the hosts are brilliant. The gardens are beautiful and allow you a wonderful morning stroll before breakfast.
Betty's Oatmeal Delight is a revelation; we borrowed the recipe and it has now become a family favourite when we have guests staying with us.
A truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: The nearby Saguaro National Park is well worth a visit. It has many trails and in just an hour or so you get a fine view over the entire city.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinteastwood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Private, quiet... Only two rooms... and very well managed oasis in the suburbs of Tucson. Very near the main entrance to East Saguro Park, we were walking and birding in the park every morning before the wonderful gourmet breakfasts. The property is immaculate, the Innkeepers are warm, helpful and personable. Great birding and wildlife observation from the back patio.
We have stayed at Desert Dove over a dozen times over the years and will continue to return. We very highly reccomend the Inn.

Room Tip: The Antique Garden Room has the best views... Roadrunners, javelina, mountains... All from the room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Desert Dove for 5 nights in mid March 2013. The hosts were friendly and helpful but not hovering. The breakfasts were delicious, varied and plentiful. The location of the B&B is perfect for the Saguaro National Park East and other attractions as well. The B&B is in a comfortable neighborhood of fine homes on large lots, and thus has a great deal of privacy. The backyard garden is a beautiful getaway in itself. A soak in the hot tub in the evening was especially enjoyable after hiking and horseback riding. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilvawter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews