We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place offering great hospitality and food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Dove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I spent five nights in May 2014 with Betty and Harvey who are most welcoming, attentive and kind hosts and excel in what they are doing. The breakfast was delicicous, our room was decorated very personal and had WLAN for free, something not even found at all hotels. Nice desert garden with ample oportunities to relax outside, watching hummingbirds and others.
Close to Saguaro Park East and 30 min drive from the airport. Quiet in the night (allowing for sounds of the wilderness). Don't miss this place!

Room Tip: One of the rare places with personal service and attention, only 3 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked a room for a week in March 2012. What a great place, great hosts. The breakfasts are astonishing. We are pretty early folks and it was not a problem to get breakfast a little earlier. The hot tub was great for early evenings listening to the birds of the desert. Morning coffee on the back porch also. You get quails eating right at your feet. Walking distance from the Saguaro National Park. 15 to 20 minutes from great restaurants in town. About 2 hours drive from great birding and natural habitat sites to the South. Just loved it and would book with them without hesitation. PS my wife asked for gluten free breakfasts and wow did they ever deliver. Thanks again for the great memories and looking forward to visiting you again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raven2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Desert Dove in an effort to escape Maryland's snow. It turned out to be a phenomenal decision. Being greeted with Minnesota Nice in the middle of Arizona sun made for a perfect combination. We were shown to our room which was immaculate with a comfortable pillow-top bed. Breakfasts were delicious and varied each day. Special dietary needs were readily met. Don't be worried about asking for gluten-free, vegetarian, or other diets. After breakfast each day, Betty and Harvey provided tons of information as to what to see and do in and around Tucson. Their insight kept us plenty busy despite our total lack of planning. Desert Dove also proved to be the perfect place to take a break laying in the sun with a book and hummingbirds for company. If we are in the Tucson area again, we would not hesitate for a second to stay at Desert Dove. Thanks, Harvey and Betty for making our vacation a great one.

Room Tip: Only two rooms to choose. Thick adobe walls make both comfortable and quiet. You can't lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a fantastic B&B, and so much better than staying in a hotel. If you are in Tucson, you really should get out of the city and stay at Desert Dove for the night.
It's a wonderful building, very nicely decorated, and the hosts are brilliant. The gardens are beautiful and allow you a wonderful morning stroll before breakfast.
Betty's Oatmeal Delight is a revelation; we borrowed the recipe and it has now become a family favourite when we have guests staying with us.
A truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: The nearby Saguaro National Park is well worth a visit. It has many trails and in just an hour or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinteastwood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Private, quiet... Only two rooms... and very well managed oasis in the suburbs of Tucson. Very near the main entrance to East Saguro Park, we were walking and birding in the park every morning before the wonderful gourmet breakfasts. The property is immaculate, the Innkeepers are warm, helpful and personable. Great birding and wildlife observation from the back patio.
We have stayed at Desert Dove over a dozen times over the years and will continue to return. We very highly reccomend the Inn.

Room Tip: The Antique Garden Room has the best views... Roadrunners, javelina, mountains... All from the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Desert Dove for 5 nights in mid March 2013. The hosts were friendly and helpful but not hovering. The breakfasts were delicious, varied and plentiful. The location of the B&B is perfect for the Saguaro National Park East and other attractions as well. The B&B is in a comfortable neighborhood of fine homes on large lots, and thus has a great deal of privacy. The backyard garden is a beautiful getaway in itself. A soak in the hot tub in the evening was especially enjoyable after hiking and horseback riding. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilvawter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Private and quiet friendly owners. Great locale near Sagiro National Park. Adapted well to a gluten and dairy free diet. Comfortable Beds. Really nice private backyard. Delicious breakfast. House is made of traditional adobe and they situated for the locale.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6 km away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
9.8 km away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
21.9 km away
Royal Elizabeth Inn
Royal Elizabeth Inn
#3 of 45 in Tucson
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44 km away
Casa Tierra
Casa Tierra
#16 of 45 in Tucson
43 reviews
9.8 km away
Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast Inn
19.6 km away
Adobe Rose Inn
Adobe Rose Inn
#7 of 45 in Tucson
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Dove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Dove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11707 E Old Spanish Trl, Tucson, AZ 85730-5617
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $143 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the old west! We are located on four acres, walking distance from the Saguaro National Park E. Adobe territorial ranch style bed & breakfast with two guest rooms. Private entrance & bathrooms. Spa, great views, full breakfast. smoke free. Great for viewing wildlife, birding & hiking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Dove Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing