We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,383)
Filter reviews
1,383 results
Traveller rating
721
419
153
57
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
721
419
153
57
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free breakfast adjoining restaurant drink coupons train noise made to order breakfast best westerns upgraded to a suite close to downtown no elevator on site restaurant downtown tucson clean rooms restaurant staff an older hotel nice pool front desk staff convenient location
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,383 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Well placed about 40mins from both sections of Saguaro park. It is on a busy street but most of the rooms are set back so you get no traffic noise. Prices are very reasonable so we had a suite on the top floor at the rear of the property. Desk staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Don't forget to pick up your vouchers for happy hour and breakfast. The room was very clean and spacious with a lounge area that could be closed off from the bedroom. Housekeeping has to be commended, the level of service was excellent. Breakfast is in the attached restaurant and the voucher covers a decent menu for freshly cooked meals and the staff at breakfast are really very good. I believe you can order from another menu but this does come at a cost. There was a school party there but the pupils were well behaved and apart from a bit of noise when they were in the pool you wouldn't know they were there. This hotel is perfectly placed for park visitation and we would certainly stay here again.

Room tip: rooms in 130's or 230's to the rear of the property are very quiet.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phil52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding the Best Western Royal Sun in Tucson. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

Every day we count our blessings that our hotel attracts such nice and kind hearted patrons like you. That you would take your time to so generously honor our staff is totally appreciated.

Thank you for coming back to stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate the business & your loyalty to our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

I loved staying here! The people were very accommodating and my room was very clean. I loved the breakfast . The evening Happy Hour was a deal and I was able to interact with other travelers. I will stay here again!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your compliments to our staff and I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Cooked-To-Order breakfast & dinner at the Royal Sun Restaurant. We have recently renovated our restaurant & bar & I am happy to hear that you had a great time.

We hope you will come back & stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Facility is in good shape and well managed. Location is a trade off--it's close to downtown and the University of Arizona. But it's on a busy street near one of the busiest streets in town, and it's not exactly the better part of town. The value for the place is good, though, and the motel appears well secured.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for staying with us; we appreciate the business. We are pleased to hear that you liked our central location close to the U of A, Downtown and easy access to freeways I-10 & I-19.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

All hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Room was good and hotel is pet friendly. Really didn't have any problems other than having a problem with TV but they send someone to help out within 5 minutes and the problem was resolved. Other than the rain, which I can't blame the hotel for, everything was good.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

HI,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our hotel- the Best Western Royal Sun in Tucson. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018

This Best Western is very dated. The property could be so cute with updating. It has a 60’s vibe but the rooms need more TLC. You smell old cigarette smell in the room. Breakfast however was fantastic!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

We know you have many choices & we truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Every day we count our blessings that our hotel attracts such nice and kind hearted patrons like you. We are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We know you have many choices & we truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews