We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a view and the food is top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
ATL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow! What a view and the food is top notch”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We loved the intimate, quiet atmosphere, the SW ambiance and motif, and the views are magnificent. This is a great getaway from the typical busy resorts. The Grill restaurant was top notch and we found ourselves sitting on the terrace drinking wine and eating the SW cuisine. We stayed in and recommend casita #48 which had a fireplace and overlooks the canyon and mountains.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDmindset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking some time to share your experiences with us. We strive to be anything but typical and I am glad you enjoyed some of the qualities that reflect this. I am glad you got to dine in and enjoy both of our restaurants and I appreciate the hint and recommendation on Casita 48, hearing these from fellow travelers are always helpful for future guests. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    131
    47
    13
    7
See reviews for
123
403
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This served us perfectly for a long weekend away from home. It is a large property with only about 40 rooms: Historic rooms in what was the girls boarding school (on the small side) plus lovely larger casita-type rooms with private patio, which is where we stayed. Room one, Hacienda Double, was perfect for us. Top notch service from Brian and Carla to be sure we had everything we needed. They have access to miles of trails, I rode up to watch the sunset on one of their nice trail horses, and took a long walk along the same trails the next morning. Had a fantastic massage called Loki Loki by Ky. It is close to good restaurants though we ended up enjoying the food in the casual patio restaurant called Terrazo -- I had the best burger ever there. The high end restaurant The Grill gets great reviews but has a formal menu (rack of lamb etc.) which is not what we were looking for. Also close to great hiking in the Santa Catalina mountains. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Larger hacienda rooms have more privacy though the historic rooms looked charming if they fit your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Wow you sure packed in tons of fun and adventure on your long weekend with us. Thank you for staying with us and spending some time to post a wonderful review. It was Carla and I's pleasure to take care of you and I will pass along your kind words to her. Best burger ever is high praise for people from such a well decorated city as Chicago. Glad you were able to be the first to experience a little Hawaiin feel in the desert with the new Lomi Lomi massage, I will have to try it myself. Fantastic room tips to top it off. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Tucson has a lot of pretty good resorts [we've stayed in a couple] but this small Inn is special. Lovely pool and spa [though we didn't have time for spa services], two good dining rooms, super service and a choice of rooms, suites and casitas. In Mexican/Spanish style built around a well kept courtyard, rooms are filled with folk art and are very comfortable. Wait staff were great with our 3 year old grandson, and warm and welcoming to us. A fine place to stay if you do not need glitz.

Room Tip: traveling with children, the casitas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calliope026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for bringing you family to stay with us and I appreciate the kind words in your review. We welcome and are pleased to serve everyone from the 3 yr old grandsons to the 90 yr old women's birthday party we had recently. Thankfully mother nature gave us some good weather for you to enjoy the pool on your visit. Choice is important to travelers and I am happy that all of our accomodations could fit your needs and that you enjoyed both dining options. I hope this special inn can host your family in the future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A perfect experience to fall in love with Tucson. Character, charm, comfort, class, and strength, it's all here to welcome you. Walk the grounds and get lost in two beautiful courtyards, take a deep breath in the desert gardens and feel the meaning of aromatherapy. Sit poolside to capture stunning sunsets followed by a view of the city lights. Best pillows anywhere, I've stayed in most of the rooms, love them all, of course the larger suites are harder to leave. Fantastic food and with live music in the Terraza patio, it's almost too good to share. A Phoenician, I work in Tucson a few days a month, tried a few other places, now, I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else -- it's my second home and I'm sure you'll feel the same way. Btw, most of my trips are business, but also makes an ideal romantic getaway, and brought the kids here for father's day -- it's all soooo good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moutain West
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at this beautiful yet understated resort. They graciously upgraded us to a king room with only one neighboring room, offering a stunning view of the city and skyline. The staff were very gracious with a focus on customer service. The restaurant breakfasts were amazing. We dined in La Terraza rather than the Grill, assuming that the food likely comes from the same kitchen. Again, every meal was delicious. This small resort is a slice of heaven in a bustling city.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views. The dorm rooms look onto the courtyard and are grouped together. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snow_is_old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
I appreciate you taking some time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you found our new and improved breakfast program "amazing," The Grill has put alot of effort in making breakfast an equally excellent experience. I am pleased we were able to provide an upgrade to the Hacienda King room which as your tips indicate does have some of the best views on the property. Contact me anytime to come back and see us for another slice. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Originally built as a girls' boarding school in the 1920s then converted to a guest ranch in the 1940s, now a boutique hotel, more of an inn. We stayed in a small historic room for one night and then a Hacienda King for 5 nights. Charmingly decorated in hispanic style, grounds thoughtfully landscaped in desert flora, King room was very large, comfy, had two large easy chairs, desk, huge closet, nice view of garden. Bathrooms were somewhat small (particularly the first room which seemed tiny) but they've been nicely redecorated with mexican tiles and hand painted sinks.
Staff unfailingly polite and helpful with any and all questions/requests, housekeeping fine overall, restaurant on premises had many rooms and outdoor spaces offering lots of options for your choice of ambience. We ate Christmas buffet there as well as breakfast one day.
Many more restaurant and shopping options near by, main tourist destinations in the Tucson area within 20-45 minutes drive.
Hotel is located to north of the city in what at one time must have been open ranch land, so it is outside the main core of Tucson, which we considered an advantage. Nice nighttime views of city lights to the south, mountains to the north visible by day. Surrounded by an area of custom up-scale homes, once you're on the grounds you feel isolated and hidden away. Absolutely recommend to anyone, particularly if you are not a golfer and don't need that kind of resort facility.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us and providing a very detailed review of your experiences complete with some photographs of our property which do really help capture the ambiance and feel we are about. You also have captured what I find hard in describing our location being in a residential area without feeling like so. I am glad you were able to experience a few different room types with their unique characteristics and enjoyed what the King room offered. I am grateful to hear such wonderful feedback from an obviously savvy traveler like yourselves. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiTown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The best location, service & food. We smiled our entire stay. It's not a regular hotel it's a new standard. Built long ago maybe 50+ years ago

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for joining us from the Windy City and contributing thoughts on your stay. I am not sure I can sum up a guests feelings better than smiling your entire stay which brings a smile to my face to see. The Hotel was built in 1929 and I hope we can keep the "new standard" up for the next 82 years as well. Come back and see us when you need another respite from the Chicago winter and contact me anytime if I can assist with any planning. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
24.6 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
772 reviews
7.7 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
0.8 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
16.4 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
6.1 km away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Property: Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Address: 5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Family Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort's private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing