We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“These folks do everything right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“These folks do everything right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

First visit to Tucson and although we travel extensively, I believe it was our first Loews hotel. We were attracted to this property because of the 36 holes of golf and the walking trails. When we checked in, since we were staying for 5 nights, they offered us free valet parking and free internet for the week. We accept! Our rate was under $200 per night for an upgraded king room, which for a luxury resort is a great rate. Here's what was great at the hotel: The pool, the service at the pool, the two walking trails, both golf courses, the service at the golf courses, the Starbucks area and breakfast lunch area, the dinners at their Flying V restaurant and the spa. I literally found NOTHING wrong with this place. The people were friendly, everyone wanted to please and everything offered from room, food, drinks and recreation were wonderful. Nice job!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golf_wine_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    504
    157
    78
    43
See reviews for
519
794
98
637
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Even if you are not staying at the resort. You can still enjoy some of the amenities. Of course, you can eat at the Flying V. Haven't been there yet. To get to the trail you walk through the lobby and go to the right just follow the well defined trail which takes you to see several different vistas. The waterfall is awesome. Along the path they name what plants you are seeing as well as the birds. It's really like a nature trail. Perfect for kids to enjoy. It's totally free and open to the public. A must see to take visitors. Needless to say the setting is awesome. Take your camera for some wonderful shots. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Thanks Ventana Canyon Resort for keeping this little gem for all to enjoy.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had not planned to stay in Tucson but decided at the last moment to overnight at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort. We had a fourth floor room with a lovely balcony view overlooking the sequoia-covered foothills. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The rug was torn (thus four stars rather than five). The bath had nice soaps and lotions and a large square tub and shower. The large pool area offers plenty of room for relaxing. Be sure to take a little time to walk on the paved trails behind the hotel to the waterfall and viewing areas to look out over the Tucson valley. The staff was friendly with prompt checkin and checkout. They do charge for parking -- same price whether self-park or valet plus valet tip. We did not eat at the hotel; however, some hotel rates did include a meal credit. Be sure to check their specials. Would we go back? You bet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoRetiredFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAS CRUCES
Level Contributor
679 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a great place to have a convention, but the rooms were pricey for our budget even at the convention rate ($99, with breakfast not included). The buffet lunches (mainly vegetarian with some chicken, but non-alcoholic drinks, dessert and tip included) at a special price of $19 each were also pricey. Who knows what the regular rate is, however, if you prefer, you can get a turkey sandwich, ala carte, for $15. This place is really too far from other places, located as it is up in the hills above Tucson, to go someplace cheaper (like a fast food place) for lunch. They have huge socorro cactus (sp??) near the hotel. They might be 50+ feet high with lots of arms. They have wonderful looking golf greens, a tennis court, and swimming pool, but being at a convention, we didn't get to use them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, Ca.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We just got back from an Easter trip to visit family. Me, my husband and two children stayed here for four nights, and it was wonderful! The room was big enough for all four of us, we had a small balcony/patio to use, and I have to say the bathtub was enormous; huge SQUARE bathtub; kids loved it! Beds were oh, so comfy, decor was nice earth tones (well, you're in the desert, right?) the grounds are beautiful too. They have these huge koi ponds that the kids can feed the koi food; you ask at the concierge desk, and they have cups and a trunk of food. These ponds are also in the front of the resort, overlooking the 18th hole. Those fish are hungry, nobody walks across to feed them as much as the fish attached to the building. The pool was spacious and clean, plenty of chaises and umbrellas, along with a very friendly and accomodating pool staff to help you find chairs, they had chilled water and towels, as well as offered chilled cucumbers and mini-smoothies throughout the day. The staff from the valets to the front desk, housekeeping, everybody was friendly! My kids loved the pool, they also have a hot tub and a cold tub; the challenge of the week was getting all the way into the cold tub! There is a lovely walking path around the grounds with placards describing local vegation, animals to look for, and telling about the mountain ranges.
The only downside to the room we had, was one lamp between beds; therefore our kids couldn't sleep while we read or watched tv (no dimmer switch). Seriously though, this is small! Our coffee pot broke, and the staff had replaced it before we even got back into the room from being out for a bit. Flying V Grill had amazing food, good quality kids food, and tasty, interesting drinks. Beautiful setting for drinks at sunset or after. We didn't use the gym, but it looked very well stocked and clean. Will definitely go back sometime!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munkiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The room was beautiful, the service top notch, the bed comfy, I was able to forget all my worries for the weekend and get the best rest ever. My husband and I really enjoyed the cleanness, the services, the considerations, and the overall everything offered. Great value as always. I always recommend Loews!

Room Tip: The city view was wonderful at night. It was so peaceful to sit out on the balcony and gaze at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here 3 nights with my wife while vacationing in the Tucson area. Room was clean and luxurious, staff were friendly. Will echo other reviewers' comments about the layout being strange. It took us a good bit of wondering around before we could figure out where on the property our room was located. Once we determined where to park, we were again puzzled by the fact that the hallway where our room was located was hidden behind an unmarked exterior door. Again, very strange, but once inside our stay was great. The grounds have a nice little paved nature trail with abundant impressive saguaro specimens and an artificial waterfall. Try to get a room facing this area if possible. Would also highly recommend the ventana canyon trail, the trailhead for which is located in the hotel parking lot. Aside from this attraction, the location is a bit out of the way (not really convenient to the interstate or downtown), and you have to negotiate relatively aggressive valets on the drive into the hotel before you're allowed to access the self-parking area. This made coming and going a bit of a hassle and actually led to us ordering dessert via room service one night to avoid the negotiating the drive to find someplace to eat. This was the first and only time I've ever used room service. The food was actually delicious, came quickly, and wasn't too badly overpriced. But the principal of the whole thing just peeved me a little bit. Other than this inconvenience turned delicious dessert, our stay was great and I'd recommend the place to others staying in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorfan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.7 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
30.0 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
6.1 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
22.4 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#14 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing