We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice, but......”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Nice location and property, but rooms need to be updated. The heating/ac didn't work properly and the bathroom needs updating. Room was clean, but window blinds need to be replaced. Bed was comfortable. Restaurant was very good and it was nice to be able to stay
on site after a long drive on the way to San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your review. As you may have noticed during your stay, our property is a combination of our new addition and our classic historical accomodations. You stayed in one of our historical rooms and, as you noted, a few of them still are "historical" in the sense that their bathrooms are smaller and still retain some of the features which identify them as reflective of the recent past. They are quite popular with guests who wish to experience some of the history of southwest accomodations but can assure you that every effort is continually made to maintain a modern, quality accomodation. We have looked into your concerns to address the specific items you noted. I look forward to having you visit us again to take advantage of the new addition which I am confident you will find will meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    265
    85
    48
    20
See reviews for
245
399
55
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We normally are more budget travelers, but we happened to be able to book this at a great price through Snique Away when we planned to be in Tucson so we upgraded for a few days. We were not disappointed. The room was large and spacious with a fireplace. There were two sinks in the bathroom which was really nice. The shower was quite spacious. There is no tub, however, which was not a problem for us. Minor complaints include a lack of a microwave. There was a fridge. A microwave would have been helpful. To turn the shower on there was no way to avoid getting splashed with cold water until it warmed up. However, these were small issues in an otherwise very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Found this spot a couple years ago. We loved it. Have been back several times. It is still delightful. Go for the newly remodeled rooms. The patio is nice on a warm evening, heated pool and spa very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olytraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This delightful hotel is in the middle of the city, though you'd never know it. The rooms are large, comfortable and quiet. The grounds and pool are lovely. The staff is friendly and helpful.

It's location makes it easy to get to all of the attractions that Tucson has to offer.

We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookladyFerndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed one night prior to our checking in to a ranch in Tucson. The property is a quiet enclave in Tucson. Our room was nice and comfortable and quiet. The outstanding element was the service and the people at the property. Our bartender during happy hour was welcoming and pleasant. We'd return just for her! The happy hour drinks and food were good and really well-priced. We didn't even have to go to dinner because the servings were so generous!
Had a bit of problem figuring out the cooling system remote, but the manager sent a staff member over in minutes to take care of it.
We have already decided to return there next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilygirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed at the Lodge twice now in Tucson and have loved both experiences. The lodge has charming well appointed rooms and the beds are really comfortable. There is a restaurant which has good food and wine and is of course quite accessible.

The lodge is hacienda in style and the rooms are setup not like a hotel, but more like individual areas which I prefer.

I generally stay there on business so easy to get around Tucson.

Worth the money and more.

Room Tip: I like the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolkSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had booked this through Snique Away and were very pleasantly surprised that the room was available during the Gem Show.
The room was clean and very spacious, high celings and the bed was pretty comfortable, pillows a little too firm for my liking.
The room has a safe which was a great place to keep our passports.
One of the neighbours were very noisy and it was a little strange that the noise was the loudest right at the room entrance, but lying in bed it was annoying but tolerable.
The only compliant we had was that one of the days there was no cleaning/maid service which was bizarre because when we left, right after breakfast, the maid was standing right outside our door, We called for towels when we got back after dinner and they came quickly, but it was disappointing.
We stayed in room 164, on the ground floor and close to the parking lot, but there was no noise from cars or traffic.
We enjoyed our breakfast at the restaurant and service in the restaurant was great, tasty food, quick and great service. We were gone all day and didn;t try the restaurant for lunch or dinner, but they have won some awards, so I'm guessing the food would be good.
THey have a nice looking pool and hot tub which we didn't use, but folks in the pool seemed to enjoy it
Overall, I would say that our stay was great and if not for the missed maid service, our rating would have been excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenji56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.1 km away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.4 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
10.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.7 km away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing