We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great experience when in Tucson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Ranked #42 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Would have given this awesome little hotel a 5 star review but the old GM Ricky has sadly left and the new GM is not quite up to filling his shoes... yet. Hopefully with time.

Rooms are very good and they now have a Manager's Reception on Tuesday - Friday where beers are only $1 @ their cool little pool bar. Nice touch I'd say.

Always well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Second floor suites are always nice. Very quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WangCung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

What a pleasent place to stay, quiet courtyard, nice swimming pool and large wonderful hot tub. The room was very comfortable and although the place seemed full I never heard another guest when in my room. I thought the breakfast was great-always something good to choose from. Located on the east side the hotel is close to Sabino Canyon and Ventana Canyon trails and for convenience a Safeway grocery store is just across the street. This would be a number on pick for me next time I'm in Tucson!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TucsonExcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The layout of this hotel is quite unusual. The rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast area is spread out over a large room so it was hard to find the items we wanted. We didn't notice the hot cereal until checkout as it was hiding next to the main desk and not anywhere near the rest of the items.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank showmemo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback. On behalf of the entire team and myself, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and share your experience on Trip Advisor. Thank you for pointing out the uniqueness of our hotel as it is very popular among our guests. We look forward to serving you again and thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

For nearly 20 years, I and/or relatives have been staying at this motel when visiting Tucson. Through two or three changes of ownership it has remained reliably comfortable, friendly, and relaxing; and at the rates charged during my latest stay, it is also an excellent value for the price. (I got a king suite for less than I would have paid for a similar room at a much less charming location down the road that caters to extended-stay guests.)

The motel started out as an independent, I think, and at any rate its interior courtyard layout (with central fountains and mini-plazas for each group of rooms) is nothing like your cookie-cutter chain motel. The rooms are not trendy-luxurious but are just plain solidly comfortable, with ample space, thick soundproof walls, and good solid furniture.

The location has pros and cons. Pros: it's an excellent jumping-off point for trips to Sabino Canyon and Mt. Lemmon; two fine and reasonably priced independent restaurants are in the neighboring shopping complex. Cons: it's located at a busy, heavily trafficked and pedestrian-unfriendly intersection. (The Indian Ridge neighborhood immediately to the west, added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2010 for its classic 1950s architecture, is pleasant to stroll through, however.)

This probably isn't the destination for a first-time Tucson visitor looking for a romantic desert getaway. But if you're already familiar with Tucson or have family or business here, especially on the east side of town, I'd recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creosote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback. On behalf on entire staff and myself, I would like to thank you for your loyalty over the years and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. There are many guests that have given us their feedback on our courtyards and the expansive lobby. We look forward to serving you again and thank you for your business!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have stayed here many times, for 2-5 nights at a time. The rooms are organized around 4 outdoor courtyards with nice plantings and some fountains...very peaceful. Access to rooms via outdoor walkways as a result. The rear of the property overlooks the backyards of a quiet residential area. Rooms are spacious and include a pull out sofa, as well as a wet bar, microwave and small fridge.; perfect for keeping next day's lunch items and ice paks cold. Outdoor Pool is too small for lap swim...maybe can do 3-4 strokes across. But the hot tub next to pool is nice! Would have given this 5 starts, but Breakfast is so-so...same each day: the usual cold items of cereal, hard-boiled eggs and yoghurts, with some instant oatmeal paks, scrambled eggs, and a waffle iron for the 2 hot items. Folks at front desk are nice, and provide free wine and beer each weeknight! Overall, if you want to stay on the east side of town, but close enough drive to U of A and downtown, this place provides good value.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are on 2nd floor -- theere are only 2 floors -- in the rear of the courtyard furthest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here one night and used our Choice Privileges points. It was a very nice hotel. We had a King Bed Suite and it was very large and nice and clean. The breakfast in the morning was very good - even had a nice fluffy omelet! It was in the lobby with plenty of tables. The courtyards made it quaint and different - a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FerndaleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Very impressed with how clean the bathroom and vanity areas are kept. This always determines if I will return. The rooms are spacious and very clean also. The staff is friendly, polite, and very helpful to ensure our needs were met. The hotel setting is quaint and relaxing with courtyards decorated in a southwestern motif.

Room Tip: We stayed in both a standard and a suite. Both are fantastic. You will be satisfied with either cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerinTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback. On behalf of the housekeeping staff and myself, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and share your experience on Trip Advisor. Thank you for pointing out the southwestern decor as it does make our hotel very unique. There are many guests that have given us their feedback on our courtyards and the expansive lobby. We look forward to serving you again and thank you for your business!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 km away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#24 of 129 in Tucson
1,227 reviews
14.4 km away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
16.1 km away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Tucson City Center, AZ
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
14.6 km away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Address: 7007 E Tanque Verde Rd, Tucson, AZ 85715-5311
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#30 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $119 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Hotel Tucson
Comfort Suites Tucson
Comfort Suites Sabino Canyon
Tucson Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing