We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see for Texas history..and American history too”
Review of The Alamo

The Alamo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.01*
and up
San Antonio Highlights Tour
More Info
US$140.44*
and up
Alamo and San Antonio Quarry Helicopter Tour
More Info
US$42.11*
and up
San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the...
Ranked #2 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1718 as Mission San Antonio de Valero, for over 300 years the former mission now known as the Alamo has been a crossroads of history. Having existed under six flags of independent nations and served as a garrison for five different armies, the Alamo has a rich history and a heritage to inspire Texans and people around the world. Although the Alamo is best known as the site of the 1836 Battle of the Alamo, all 300 years of Alamo history are vital to our story. Visitors to the site can take a guided battlefield tour, rent a self-guided audio tour, walk through the historic Alamo Church and Long Barrack Museum, listen to a history talk given by an Alamo Interpreter, participate in living history demonstrations, watch a documentary on the history of the Alamo, and much more. Admission to the Alamo is free, but there is a charge for guided and audio tours. Tours may be booked online in advance through the Alamo's website or purchased on-site.
Altadena, CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Must see for Texas history..and American history too”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Alamo is very accessible from downtown San Antonio.
It isn't so overwhelming that an hour wouldn't provide a good overview.
There is a movie that goes through the history. The exhibits are well marked, the artifacts rather haunting when you appreciate the history behind them.

That this place almost became an industrial park that was saved by descendants of the survivors of this very key piece of history is amazing.
Well worth a stroll.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aswessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,938
    4,028
    1,667
    238
    65
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Day Downtown at Alamo”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We travelled to San Antonio for my son's AF BMT Graduation. We chose to spend the day at the Alamo down town and had a nice time. My husband is from England and really enjoyed the history. It seemed an appropriate choice since my son will be devoting his life in service to his country, and the heros at the Alamo gave theirs for this country, he is proud to become a part of that same American Spirit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank islandwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSM, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good, but different than expected”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I'm not sure what we expected but it was definitely a little different. First, there is NO entry fee and you can actually enter from many different areas surrounding it. There is an "audio/self guided tour" you can rent for a fee, but we chose not to do that. Knowing the history of the Alamo and why it is considered "famous", is a MUST before you go. We took the advise of previous reviews to see the IMAX movie located in the mall theater across the street. It is a 45 minute movie (a little hokie with the acting) that tells the story of the battle there. Sure, we've all heard of "The Alamo" and it's a "famous" place. But, do we really know why? Please read or watch movies prior to your visit. It will make MUCH more sense. The grounds are in excellent condition and well kept. I recommend you get there early (they open at 9am I think), it will be a better expereince. Also, if going during the week, it is HIGHLY possible there will be school field trip groups there as well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awestruck”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Please take the time to do a tour of the Alamo. The guides are very informative on its history. The gardens are immaculant. Many places i. The shade for you to sit and imagine life at the Alamo. If you are not into guides, there are many signs to read to help you understand the history of events.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Squawboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Park, NY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is a must do in San Antonio”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Plan on spending the day here. See the movie first and then head on over for the tour. Visit the museum exhibits and splurge for the self-guided tour with the headsets. It may seem small, but there is a lot to see and learn.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alamo also viewed

 

Been to The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing