We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now What I Expected”

Tower of the Americas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.99*
and up
48-Hour San Antonio Hop-on Hop-off Plus Tower of...
Ranked #44 of 230 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 750-foot tower built for the 1968 HemisFair has unbeatable panoramic views, especially if you're in the tower's revolving restaurant.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

Not sure how to rate our visit to the Tower of the Americas. It was nice going to the top (750 stories high); however, there wasn't much there once you reach the top unless you're really interested in seeing San Antonio from the height. I guess I was looking for something similar to Willis Tower (Sears Tower) located in Chicago. I wasn't impressed, but at least I can say I was there. This is one place a person would have to judge for themselves.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"observation deck"
in 383 reviews
"chart house"
in 129 reviews
"elevator ride"
in 115 reviews
"revolving restaurant"
in 62 reviews
"d movie"
in 53 reviews
"views of san antonio"
in 36 reviews
"great view of the city"
in 36 reviews
"degree view"
in 34 reviews
"glass elevator"
in 33 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 29 reviews
"eye view"
in 23 reviews
"happy hour"
in 75 reviews
"entire city"
in 24 reviews
"hemisfair park"
in 29 reviews
"gift shop"
in 85 reviews
"water features"
in 22 reviews
"the river walk"
in 49 reviews
Filter

209 - 213 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2018

We found it to be clean and organized without any overcrowding. From the top you great a great birds eye view of all the surroundings with informative maps that let you know the points of interest below.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 207blainec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

They also have walls about Texas history with audio that you can activate while looking at the scenery. And a 4D movie theater that shows 10 minute shows, restrooms, cafe, as well as a revolving dining room and bar. Set amid the old Hemisfair fair grounds.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food and great service, but in my opinion not worth the money just for the notoriety. Expect to pay $50-60 each with tip. Had to get the kids something to eat later because they were still hungry. Wish I had paid to go to the observation deck, and used our food money elsewhere. If money is not an issue for you then you'll love it. A millitary discount would be nice.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2018

The food is average. The decor reminds me of the 60s and 70s.
The best is to be able to see San Antonio, El Alamo, The Mission, while having dinner. I like this type of restaurant, turning slowly to see all around, over the city.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tower of the Americas also viewed

 

Been to Tower of the Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing