We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A lovely place to stay in San Antonio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in San Antonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This resort is very nice... the rooms are spacious and comfortable. I loved the vanity area outside the bathroom, it was luxurious! We had a double balcony (corner room) on the 7th floor and the views were really nice. I liked the classical music that was playing when we got there. We left it on while we got ready for our night out. It made for lovely ambience.

We didn't get a chance to take advantage of the golf course or spa. However, the pools were gorgeous. If you stay on the 7th floor, apparently you get access to a cocktail hour with free food and drinks. We took advantage of it and it was a fun way to start the evening.

The restaurant inside the hotel (Francesca's) was ok. It was a little too empty to have a good atmosphere, but there was nothing to complain (or rave) about food-wise. The service was friendly.

The bar (I think it was Steinheimer's Bar) was fun because they had a shuffleboard table. The bartenders were nice/attentive also.

Lastly, we asked for a late check-out so we could enjoy the pool and they were very flexible with that which was great!

The only thing we thought was not up to the same par as everything else was the desk clerk who first checked us in. She looked down at her computer most of the time during our interaction and she had an accent that made it quite difficult to understand her (no, we don't mind accents... but we probably couldn't understand her because she was talking down to her computer). She also did not seem as friendly/professional as the other staff we encountered during our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 7th Floor are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    584
    263
    138
    93
See reviews for
780
535
38
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very nice Westin property (redundant!) featuring a wide range of things to do. With Six Flags literally down the road it would be possible to attend a conference while the family is having fun at the amusement park.

Only went to one of the restaurants for breakfast (Brannons) and while it is not cheap, it is reasonable for a resort. Food was great but do not miss Perry's Steak House at the outdoor mall just off the property. Accessible by shuttle as well, it offers something for everyone, save for good BBQ. Heard from a few locals that Grady's was very good but didn't check it out.

but you MAY want to drag along your clubs instead!

The resort has two courses but if you are up for the challenge, check out the Palmer course. Tough track with some unbelievable views of the surrounding area. In the off-season it was an absolute bargain at $60 for 18 holes which included cart fee and all the range balls you wanted to hit.

Definitely a good place to do an end of Winter getaway!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtbasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
We love hearing from happy guests! Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

LaCantera is so close, yet so far away. Rooms are tastefully decorated. I didn't eat on property. Spa is excellent. Service was 1st class. My only knock- I was at the farthest point from the lobby. Long walk back to theroom. NO VIEW ( although the front desk informed me that I had a corner room with a nice view ). My view was a sidewalk and a few bushes next to the building

Room Tip: don't stay in the rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthlakeDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
We are delighted to hear about your stay and hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Weekend to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday!!! What a great choice my husband made. The hotel is first class all the way, the rooms, the dining, the ambiance... we loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amdilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

La Cantera is everything you'd expect from a Westin Resort property. Amazing pool! Great restaurants. Very nice health club and spa. This resort is very close to Six Flags, several very nice golf courses, and excellent shopping. There are also a wide variety of restaurants very close by (drive, not walk) if you don't want to stay at the hotel. If you're wanting to do the river walk or the San Antonio night life in general, this is pretty far out (about a 25 min drive). A rental car is a must for this hotel. If you haven't done it before, take the time to visit all the missions. It's an easy drive, very well marked and they're all in a line, so you're not zig-zagging all over town. They're also connected by a bike path, so if you want you can explore the missions on two wheels. From one end to the other is about 11 miles (one way) if you go all the way to
the Alamo (which is right downtown...it was listed on this site as being at 955 S Alamo...it's not, just FYI).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 75CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
We love hearing from happy guests! Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My best friend and I were in a wedding & stayed at the La Cantera for the weekend. It is a nice hotel with a very rustic feel and gorgeous scenery. We had a nice walk Sat morning on one of the trails and enjoyed the fresh air & roaming deer. Our room was on the top floor club level, the beds were super comfortable and we both agreed we slept very well. The single best thing about our stay was our hospitality attendant, Monique G! Her pleasant & warm demeanor always made us feel welcome. She was attentive and the epitome of customer service! Net net, the Westin has a hidden gem in Monique which greatly influenced our overall stay! It is a rare case these days to experience superb customer service and Monique reminded us of how nice it can be and left us wanting more.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend club level for balcony, club amenities (breakfast, snacks, etc.) and Monique, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpringIn2Action
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
We love hearing from happy guests! Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the first time I have stayed at the Westin La Cantera. The hotel was amazing, as I have found all Westins to be. I left some valuable jewelry in my room, and once I called the hotel to advise them, the security staff handled my problem and called me several times for info and to let me know they found it and would have it for me when I returned this week. They went beyond the call of duty in making sure it was located and secured within 2 hours, giving me great peace of mind! All needs were met and Starbucks coffee in room and facility within hotel made my morning! Westin is my favorite and this location and it's amenities is FABULOUS! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dede2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing