We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, hidden charges, overpriced restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice location, hidden charges, overpriced restaurants”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

La Cantera location is beautiful. At the checkout there were 5 extra charges (taxes, resort fee, etc) that added aprox. $60. Restaurants inside the hotel were overpriced and food was not what you would expect. Drinks were the most expensive of all.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Negroycanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
When you treat yourself to a stay at The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort, you should experience revitalizing comfort and delight in all of our amenities. From our championship golf courses to the spa, from Francesca’s at Sunset to our five swimming pools, as well as our array of complimentary resort activities, every feature of the property has been designed to offer the utmost relaxation and satisfaction for our guests. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t provide the kind of value you were looking for, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please contact us at 210.558.6500 and ask for the General Manager's office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,726
    664
    307
    160
    103
See reviews for
851
622
44
1,006
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is the most incredible place I have ever stayed. If you can swing a stay in the Casitas.... def do it. You basically get your own home for you stay! Ask for Israel ... he will run full speed to make sure everything in your stay/room is just perfect. Sarah at the front desk was incredible and had a smile on her face every time I saw her.... even when I had some ridiculous request.... which she would take care of in seconds! Even the Starbucks staff was awesome. I will definitely be hanging by their pool again this summer. Great food, great views and THE BEST staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codustyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
It is great to know that we exceeded your expectations. Please come back soon - your casita is waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our second year coming to La Cantera. It's always very relaxing sitting by the pool and hot tub overlooking hill country. This hotel is great if you have kids or if you want a couple's get away. They have an adults only area pool which is nice to get away from all the kids but the other large pool area is more kids oriented. Lots of great shopping, entertainment and food nearby. Find Chela's Taco Truck located just a couple miles away near UTSA. We booked on hotwire.com and it was a great value this year $115 per night. If you book on hotwire look for a 4 star hotel, in the six flags area with the following amenities- resort, smoke free rooms, fitness center, golf, tennis, etc.. I think it's the only 4 star resort in the six flags area. Also check out betterbidding.com. It's a must for all travelers looking for good deals on hotwire or priceline. Also know that they have a resort fee but it's worth it cause it includes free parking, internet, towel service, fitness center, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisethetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are so happy you chose to return again this year, and we hope you will make it an annual tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Once again, I must say the spa experience keeps me coming back to the Westin La Cantera. Amy is a gifted therapist. I recommend the hot stone massage by Amy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
It is wonderful to hear that your spa experience was exceptional. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We visited La Cantera in April 2009. It was beautiful, relaxing, and tranquil. We felt like royalty. The grounds are fantastic and wonderfully decorated with lush greenery and flowers. The views from the rooms and the pool area are magnificent. It was a splurge for us. But - WOW - it was great to be able to visit and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
It is great to hear that your stay was special. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend here as a quick getaway without our young son. It was the ideal weekend retreat! We absolutely enjoyed the views of the hill country, the relaxing adult pool, the comfortable (Westin standard) rooms, and the friendly service. Overall a wonderful experience that we hope to have again soon!

We spent one morning at the exercise facility which was very nice and overlooked the pool area. Then we enjoyed breakfast outside at Brannon's Cafe - the prices are a bit high but the Texas Poached Eggs were absolutely delicious and very unique.

Most of our time was spent relaxing at the adult pool and enjoying tasty beverages served by very attentive waitstaff. We also participated in the afternoon "Battle of the Sexes" and won a few free drink tickets. There are a number of small pools and I think kids would also love spending time at the resort - we will definitely return with our son.

We also enjoyed the Texas Wine Tasting in the afternoon at the very nice Steinheimer's Lounge. For $10/person this was a great deal and the sommelier was knowledgeable and informative.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Marty Williams,
I wanted to tell you how much my wife and I fully appreciated all that you did for us. You went beyond our wildest dreams for what was to be a simple night away from our little one. We were completely surprised by the extra large accommodations and the inservice food choices. We were only sad that we planned the visit to be so short. As we looked out on the amazing pool area with all of the families enjoying themselves we couldn't help but plan on a complete staycation with our son very soon in the future.

Thank you again

Darryl Cook

Room Tip: Top floor overlooks the pool area or amazing views of the hill country or the golf course. You real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We really appreciate your kind words, and Marty will be delighted to know that she made your stay special. Please do return with your little one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,561 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing