We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #146 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights to attend an Air Force graduation. The staff were very friendly, and we had no issues. They are pet friendly, and they were great with cleaning our room and not letting our kitten out of the room while we were gone! Our bed was a bit uncomfortable...it was actually really firm...almost like laying on wood, but it was not unbearable. Also, the complimentary breakfast was poor. There was not a big selection, and the tables were not cleaned. The housekeeping was excellent. Our room was always clean, and we always had fresh clothes and a made bed. It is a great stay for the amount of money we spent. Not a 4-star hotel or anything...but I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your taking the time to give us a good review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson San Antonio Central
6901 W Interstate 10
San Antonio, TX 78213
T: (210) 738-1100 Ext. 304
F: (210) 738-1230
E: hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    101
    57
    64
    56
See reviews for
225
69
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights during the week at an incredible low price. Our GPS was having issues, so we called the front desk and the lady was so helpful! She stayed on the phone with us until we finally found the hotel! Our room was very large and very clean. The beds are pretty soft, but the pillows weren't the greatest. We brought our own pillows, thank goodness. The pool was nice and clean. The breakfast was average. Overall, we thought it was a great price for a large room. It was nice and quiet during our stay. Next time we are in San Antonio, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMahana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olive branch, ms
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

stayed here 4 days. these people are so nice. i loved our room. freezer needed to be defrosted but at least the air cond.worked and the drinks stayed cold in the fridge. everybody was so nice and helpful. this place was clean and well taken care of. if you have a coupon from a pizza delivery place do not order anything. do not give your credit card . do not call them. I did but didnt give my cc . before the pizza came we went to the lobby to wait on him and was given info as to we should be careful and check our food. glad she told me that. i checked my pizza and it looked like a poorly homemade pizza. i didnt accept it. it was not the hotels fault, they have no connection to this pizza place. thanks for saving me guys ! lol. i will definately stay again and will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: these employees are very helpful and will be glad to draw you a map if you need help
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryOliveBranch_Ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

David Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

My dad and I were travelling to see family. We decided for the comfort of everyone to book a hotel for 8 nights. I knew that if I wanted luxury, I would have to spend between 800-1200 on a hotel, but I decided to allocate that money elsewhere. I was very very hesitant to book an economy hotel,but after searching and reading tons of reviews, I finally landed on Howard Johnson. I read all the reviews, mostly the negative one's. I did the sign of the cross and booked it. Then I asked, "oh man, what did I do?" I'm a germ freak, so I packed for the worse(including Lysol).We picked up the rental car ( you will need it, as the hotel is about 15 minutes from downtown) and drove to the hotel, I am unfamiliar with the area and with the confusing loops on the freeway, so I got lost even with a NAVI. It's next door to a Shell gas station, and across from a Target and a Dave N Buster.

The parking lot was lonely, pretty mellow in the lobby, a bit dark. The cafeteria is next to the lobby and they provide continental breakfast that ends at 9am. At check in, I requested a room on the first floor, for my Dad's sake. I expected the worst, but as I opened the door, and was pleasantly surprised. It was a suite. Living area, couch, spacious. First thing I did was check the sheets, clean, no spots, nothing foreign. Glad. Bathroom was clean. Tv a bit old, but hey, it is an older hotel. I wouldn't walk barefoot, I don't anywhere anyhow. The room felt clean, I didn't get that icky feeling. I had antibacterial wipes, so I wiped down the common areas just in case, but I do that wherever I go... especially the remote control to the TV... you'll never know.

The bed and pillows were comfy.The shower had good pressure. No problems with hot or cold water. Towels were clean. There was a bit of mildew outside on the floor of the tub, but I didn't mind it. The walls looked newly painted. There is a refrigerator( clean) microwave( clean) and coffee pot. My dad is the coffee drinker, so I washed the inside of the coffee pot and glass just in case. I used bottled water for the brewing. There is no kitchen sink. No insects, no bed bugs, nothing. The snack and ice machine iwere in working condition.

The room is equipped with A.C. There is an open courtyard in the middle of the structure and all the rooms surround it. Very green, fresh and airy. Peaceful. The pool is adjacent to the courtyard. Since I was staying for 8 days, I asked housekeeping not to change sheets, I was comfortable with the ones there. The hotel is adjacent to the freeway( no freeway noise) it is a quiet neighborhood, no noise at night.There was a dog in the room two doors down, we didn't hear it bark. I felt the hotel was in a safe area. The hotel has really bright lights at night for extra security. There are side doors of the hotel that remain locked at all times, this way you don't have to enter through the lobby all the time.

I thank those negative reviews! I proved them wrong. I paid 42 a night, and If I had to, I would stay there again. It met my needs, comfortable, reliable. There is a washer and dryer on site, take coins. I set it on cold but the the hot water was pouring out... I noticed that the connection was incorrect. But I forgot to report it. Great housekeeping staff, front desk was great. The hotel was great for the value. Well kept. No restaurant on site, but there are places that deliver food to your room. I ordered pizza from Pizza Hut. Ihop, Denny's, Mcdonalds, Wendy's are all a close drive Can't go wrong if you are on a budget! .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvelasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I did choose this hotel because it´s right in the center of everything. Try to locate it in google earth ( 29°29'38.75"N / 98°32'47.02"O) and you´ll notice it. Walmarts, JCPennys, SEARS, Best Buy, HEB, Sea World, Six Flags, Shops at the Cantera, Downtown San Antonio... when I mean everything, It is everything!!! Nothing is more than 10 minutes driving from this hotel.

Now lets get you informed:

- Family hotel
- No pets allowed (Thank god!), have nothing against them, just dont like to think I´m resting where a dog or cat has been too.
- You could think it is a expensive hotel and IT WILL BE if you do not reserve in advance your accomodations. I booked from --------------- and got a 35.99 / tax included. Otherwise I would have payed 74.99 plus tax... thats a good deal!

Also, if you need to leave (like we did) you can talk to the managger in charge or front desk guy/girl and they will respect you online fee next time you come back!! Yes! and that I did and worked fine... They gave me a room for the online fee I made my reservations form the first stay.

THE GOOD:

1) Location as I alredy explained
2) Service is excelent, front desk workers are friendly and bilingual
3) You always get what you need right away (towells, extra coffe, extra pillow)
4) The cleanning service respects your stuff
5) You can leave the room near 1pm and it will still be done by the room keepers
6) Always HOT watter
7) Clean rooms, not smelly
8) The 10 and 410 are walking distance but no severe noice is recieved
9) The 10 and 410 are near (right in front of the hotel)... so you can go anywhere
10) All rooms have safe, microwave and a small living room
11) All have an iron, hair drying and some other amenities
12) The doors of the room face the inside of the hotel (yo feel more safe)
13) All the rooms only window face parking lot so you can check you car
14) Parking lot is always under secutiry cams, dont know if they work but shure they works as scare crows for theafs.
15) You get a kind of continental breakfast not so good, not so bad and you can take it to your room
16) Heatting machine worked fine
17) Coffe machine was there, never used it.
18) Clean sheets, clean pillows, clean floor, clean bath tube.

THE BAD:
1) The room doors face the inside of the facilities, so if you´re shopping you will have to carry your stuff all the way in
2) I stayed 3 nights (room perfect) then next week 3 nights again (room with microwave malfunctions and a severe hardwore short cut in the electric instalation)
3) It is near the 10 and 410 so you will need some practice to get to this hotel from any direction... why? because its near where the 10 and 410 intersect and there is a mayor highway 6 stories high structure that can be a little confusing first and second time.
4) The ceilling fan (rotor like) was SO dirty it looked like a 100 y/o, not a problem aldo we did not use it (it was winter time)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I had a great time here, it was quite, clean, and close to everything I needed. I did have a hard time trying to get out on the freeway. I talked to the hotel clerk and he told me how to save time and distance to get on the freeway and to go to the mall across the freeway. He drew me a map which was great. It was a lot faster. You just went around the block. No big deal. Everything I needed is close by. The staff went out of their way to make sure my stay was a great one. The freeway right by the hotel never heard the traffic or cars close by. I would definitely stay there again. The room was big and clean the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Just be courteous to the staff and they will return the favor. Have patience with them if they are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

OLD hotel but the rooms were HUGE. We stayed in a suite which was VERY roomy and accommodated us beautifully! Truth be told, I did clean the suite after we checked in but I usually do that when we stay in a hotel. The beds were awesome. We rested very well. We heard NO noise from the hallway or the neighbors. The old building is very well sound protected and the parking lot was well lit.

We were all impressed with the staff and the way the place was maintained. The courtyard was lovely and landscaped. Breakfast was handy and the coffee was great!

The staff was helpful and friendly from check in to check out. We needed the help of the maintenance staff. They were fast, efficient and cleaned up behind themselves.

This was an excellent value and we enjoyed everything/everyone we encountered.

Room Tip: This is an excellent location for any vacation/visit to San Antonio. I-10 is very handy and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Days Inn San Antonio Northwest
Days Inn San Antonio Northwest
#160 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#158 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Northwest Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Medical Center, TX
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#108 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Address: 6901 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213-3989
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing