We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and a Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #32 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location and a Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife, son and I just returned from our trip to San Antonio and we really loved our stay at the Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk. For starters the location of the hotel is great. It’s a five minute walk from the Alamo, a 30 second walk to the King William district, right on the Riverwalk (although not the tourist section for which we were thankful, which is a 3 minute walk away.
The complimentary breakfast that the hotel provided was nothing lavish (fruit, cereals, toast, knock off egg mcmuffins, fruit danish, and pancakes on our last day) but everything tasted good. Most importantly the coffee was hot, and the juice was cold.
This Hyatt has somewhat of a self-service feel (we checked in via a kiosk) and it doesn’t have a restaurant. That being said, the staff members of the hotel were amazing. Everyone was super friendly and they do have a little display case with desserts and beverages. Do yourself a favor and get a piece of the chocolate cheesecake, it’s delicious.
Do you self a favor a rent a car or drive to the hotel because the parking is free at the hotel. Our stay was for 3 days and San Antonio started to run out of things to do so we drove to Comfort, Texas as well as Castroville, Texas which provided nice little outings.
All and all, if I ever find myself in San Antonio again, I would love to be a guest of this Hyatt’s again.

Room Tip: If you happen to have a room facing the riverwalk, make sure you ask for one with a balcony. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPDucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    348
    138
    40
    26
See reviews for
346
293
30
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Hyatt Place San Antonio Riverwalk is a great place for a weekend get away to San Antonio. We came here for a competition at the Alamodome and found it easy to get to and from and very easy and free for parking. Something very few Riverwalk hotels can boast. The service staff were extremely friendly and I'm sure would've taken care of any needs we had, if we had any. The breakfast was very good, fresh, plentyful, well arranged , and had a great variety. The coffee was fresh and they offered fresh brewed Starbucks as well. Something I find at all Hyatts now I think. The beds were comfortable and the room was very "roomy". With room for 5.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvitte71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
325 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I guess I shouldn't be surprised, but the decor of this hotel was nearly identical to the Hyatt Place in Grand Prairie, and the building plan was completely identical. This location, however, dropped the ball right at the start.

We booked on line, and made a request for extra pillows, and extra coffee in the room. When we got to our room, there were no extra pillows, and no extra coffee. Other than that, the hotel was pretty much the same as the one in Grand Prairie, but the employees in Grand Prairie were more friendly, more accommodating, and more eager to serve.

Other than that, the hotels were identical, comfortable, and neat. Just note that, due to location, the San Antonio Hyatt Place costs about twice as much, but it is directly on the River Walk, and easy walking distance to many attractions, (including the Alamo), and many, many places to dine. The location, and the way it facilitated getting around was worth the extra cost.

One final note that may or may not have affected service is the fact that there seemed to be a lot of elementary students and their families staying at the hotel who seemed to be in town for some type of cheer leading event. Most of our floor was taken up with accommodations for these people.

I would like to note that the San Antonio Hyatt Place had a superior hot breakfast. We don't eat meat, but, if we did, this place offered three varieties of breakfast sandwiches served on English muffins.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel - that side is directly on the River Walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The hotel is clean, the people super nice and it's very close to the Riverwalk, in fact you can walk from there to the Alamo & la Villita too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our room had a nice balcony w/ chairs that overlooked the river, which is right behind the hotel. If you have kids, the Hemisfair park is about 1/4 mile. Beautiful trees with benches where adults can sit & watch the kids play in the wooden castle playground. I believe there are also a few covered picnic areas. A little further walk to the convention center, Alamo, and several restaurants. Even though our room was right beside the ice maker & elevators, we didn't hear a thing. Air conditioner was constant but that was ok with me - it did not cut in & out which can keep me awake. Beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is very small and the sink is outside the door - which weirded me out a bit since I couldn't wash my hands before opening the door. Breakfast is high carb so if you are diabetic, be prepared to pay for a made-to-order breakfast, which is a nice option. I didn't expect the complimentary Starbucks coffee so that was a real treat. Accesible panel made it a breeze to hook up our computer & play movies through the TV and recharge the cell phones - bring your own cables. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Great view of the river from the back of the hotel - balcony & chairs included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The room was pretty nice but nothing special. The bathroom was tiny (toilet and shower really close in a tiny room). Kids liked that they could order waffles until about 11 am and they were only $4.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineandTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Was recently in town for a conference and our group stayed at the Hyatt Place, very comfortable hotel and complimentary breakfast and internet was an added plus. Overall enjoiyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich-Rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Property: Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing