We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems from beginning to end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #128 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Problems from beginning to end”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Let's see where do I start with this hotel....

Firstly, the hotel couldn't find our reservation when we checked in last Tuesday, the lady at Front desk was very nice and had to make a new reservation and get the IHG res to cancel theirs.

Secondly, I got charged for a Candlewood suites hotel at The Woodlands in TX, which myself and my boyfriend had never ever stayed at! This is now pending payment going back to my account.

Thirdly, I had left the USA on 6th June to return back to the UK, and paid partial amount on the bill, whilst my partner stayed an extra night before checking out. When he checked out, the hotel charged my card!
This is now going to be refunded back to me, but I will NOT be staying at ANY of the IHG hotels from now on. I am a priority club member, and believe this is such a huge error and distress to cause someone! All my money had gone because of the hotel and I have been left distressed trying to get money back.

I have spoken to guest relations here in the UK who is going to help to sort this out.

I will not recommend this hotel to ANYONE, due to the fact that if you guarantee a hotel and are advised you pay when you CHECK OUT, you are not automatically charged unless you want to pay by another means.

I am very unhappy and this hotel is not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    37
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
17
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

My wife and I have been most impressed with our two-day stay at this hotel. Easy to find even without GPS. Our ground-floor room was on the opposite side of the HWY and was appropriate for a good night of sleep.
The room was clean, attractively decorated, the beds were comfortable. The listing of TV channels was of a great help for the Canadian guest that we were.
THe staff has been very helpful. We enjoyed the whirpool and regretted that the pool was not heated. The little store and its managing system were convenient and appropriate.
Although we were there during the weekend, being less than a mile from downtown, diving anywhere was easy and rapid.
This hotel offers remarkable value for the price of its rooms. Greatly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed here Sunday night and Monday night. The only negative was that it was a little bit hard to get to, but it was only a few minutes from downtown. It is pretty new, and everything was spotless. We swam, the pool was clean, and the hot tub was nice and hot. There was a grill out there too. They had a gym, a business center, and a free laundromat. There was a mini-convenience store. No breakfast, but you could buy stuff in the little store and fix it in your room kitchen. Be sure and turn on your ice maker as soon as you arrive! The rooms and bathrooms were roomy, the A/C worked great! The manager James was very helpful. The rooms have DVD players and you can borrow movies from the desk. They also have free wi-fi. Very nice!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4andadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was the best of three Candlewood Suites hotels that I have stayed at. It was recently opened and all of the amenities were in tip-top shape. The hotel is not located within walking distance from any convience store or restraunt. There is a full kitchen in every room, so make sure you stock it with groceries. The in-hotel pantry has reasonable prices and will supply most of your basic needs.

PROs
This is one of the few Candlewoods that has room service every day.
Friendly staff.
Immaculate condition. Although the place is new, it is obvious the management is aggresive in maintaining the hotel in it's current state and making rapid repairs as required.
This is the best business center that I have stayed at. The computers were new, all-in-one printer was available, and you could fax items yourself.

Close to Interstate.

CONs

Candlewood Suites is a long term stay hotel, but it accepts short term bookings through internet agencies - thus becomes extremely busy on weekends with the hotel booked at over capacity when the weekend crowd checks in and out. Waiting for the elevator on Sunday morning is a painful process.

Parking is difficult on weekends.

The staff become overwhelmed by the weekend crowd and cannot provide adequate service to guests, despite their best efforts. Many of the weekend guests do not understand that they are in a long term stay hotel and pester the staff with the same questions like "Where is the ice machine?" (Each room has an ice maker in the refrigerator, but you have to turn it on to make ice - quite a convienence for long term guests)

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank AirborneShodan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

I was there for Daughters Graduation at Lackland AFB. Hotel right off the freeway 20 drive to Lackland. Rooms nice with Refrig. stove dishwasher two queens beds. No large table for eating.We made do. If you want to walk to riverwalk we did but it took us 35 minutes. I would drive next time. Took a cab back to hotel cost 7.00. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kona Ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

First of all the hotel is not in walking distance to the riverwalk or the marketplace! It is in a more shady part of town. The hotel was new and nice, thought i book a one room with two seperate rooms inside, not the case it was two queens in one room. So we check in and then head to the pool (all lights off) , i go back up about an hour later to get my kids swim gear and notice when i walk in that a light over the table is turn on. My purse is also under this light so i figure i just better check, sure enough i am missing $15 (which i had when i checked in because i took it out of my pant pocket and put it in my purse) when i call the front desk he said he would check with housekeeping. He called back like 3mins later saying they said no ones been in there (go figure, "did anyone steal $15" "no" ) nothing else was done about it. And also the walls are paper thin so if you are a light sleeper dont stay here, we could hear every word of the people coming in at 12:30am til they went to sleep at 2:00am. Stay closer to the riverwalk next time for the same price thats what I would recommend!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#125 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
#92 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 1024 S. Laredo Street, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe , Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites San Anotonio Downtown is the newest extended stay, all suites hotel in the River Walk area. The 96 suite hotel is conveniently located just off of I-35 at the S. Alamo Street exit. Featuring the finest in hospitality and accommodations,, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located just minutes from the River walk and near restaurants, shopping and many attractions. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy multi-channel premium TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat panel Television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24 hours a day. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the San Antonio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing