We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$426
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$285
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mokara Hotel and Spa(San Antonio)
US$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$289
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
US$297
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
45
39
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
39
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull size refrigeratorelectric stovestove toplong term staycomfortable bedsthe river walkstayed two nightscomfortable stayrooms are largevery nice hotelmicrowavecupboardfreewaydeskhousekeeping
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 100 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My wife and I have been most impressed with our two-day stay at this hotel. Easy to find even without GPS. Our ground-floor room was on the opposite side of the HWY and was appropriate for a good night of sleep.
The room was clean, attractively decorated, the beds were comfortable. The listing of TV channels was of a great help for the Canadian guest that we were.
THe staff has been very helpful. We enjoyed the whirpool and regretted that the pool was not heated. The little store and its managing system were convenient and appropriate.
Although we were there during the weekend, being less than a mile from downtown, diving anywhere was easy and rapid.
This hotel offers remarkable value for the price of its rooms. Greatly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed here Sunday night and Monday night. The only negative was that it was a little bit hard to get to, but it was only a few minutes from downtown. It is pretty new, and everything was spotless. We swam, the pool was clean, and the hot tub was nice and hot. There was a grill out there too. They had a gym, a business center, and a free laundromat. There was a mini-convenience store. No breakfast, but you could buy stuff in the little store and fix it in your room kitchen. Be sure and turn on your ice maker as soon as you arrive! The rooms and bathrooms were roomy, the A/C worked great! The manager James was very helpful. The rooms have DVD players and you can borrow movies from the desk. They also have free wi-fi. Very nice!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4andadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This was the best of three Candlewood Suites hotels that I have stayed at. It was recently opened and all of the amenities were in tip-top shape. The hotel is not located within walking distance from any convience store or restraunt. There is a full kitchen in every room, so make sure you stock it with groceries. The in-hotel pantry has reasonable prices and will supply most of your basic needs.

PROs
This is one of the few Candlewoods that has room service every day.
Friendly staff.
Immaculate condition. Although the place is new, it is obvious the management is aggresive in maintaining the hotel in it's current state and making rapid repairs as required.
This is the best business center that I have stayed at. The computers were new, all-in-one printer was available, and you could fax items yourself.

Close to Interstate.

CONs

Candlewood Suites is a long term stay hotel, but it accepts short term bookings through internet agencies - thus becomes extremely busy on weekends with the hotel booked at over capacity when the weekend crowd checks in and out. Waiting for the elevator on Sunday morning is a painful process.

Parking is difficult on weekends.

The staff become overwhelmed by the weekend crowd and cannot provide adequate service to guests, despite their best efforts. Many of the weekend guests do not understand that they are in a long term stay hotel and pester the staff with the same questions like "Where is the ice machine?" (Each room has an ice maker in the refrigerator, but you have to turn it on to make ice - quite a convienence for long term guests)

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
6  Thank AirborneShodan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I was there for Daughters Graduation at Lackland AFB. Hotel right off the freeway 20 drive to Lackland. Rooms nice with Refrig. stove dishwasher two queens beds. No large table for eating.We made do. If you want to walk to riverwalk we did but it took us 35 minutes. I would drive next time. Took a cab back to hotel cost 7.00. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kona Ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2010

First of all the hotel is not in walking distance to the riverwalk or the marketplace! It is in a more shady part of town. The hotel was new and nice, thought i book a one room with two seperate rooms inside, not the case it was two queens in one room. So we check in and then head to the pool (all lights off) , i go back up about an hour later to get my kids swim gear and notice when i walk in that a light over the table is turn on. My purse is also under this light so i figure i just better check, sure enough i am missing $15 (which i had when i checked in because i took it out of my pant pocket and put it in my purse) when i call the front desk he said he would check with housekeeping. He called back like 3mins later saying they said no ones been in there (go figure, "did anyone steal $15" "no" ) nothing else was done about it. And also the walls are paper thin so if you are a light sleeper dont stay here, we could hear every word of the people coming in at 12:30am til they went to sleep at 2:00am. Stay closer to the riverwalk next time for the same price thats what I would recommend!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank LS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews