We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversay Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I decided at the last minute a 24 hour weekend get away for our 1 year Anniversary celebration. From the moment we checked in at the JW Marriott, with Jennifer the front desk clerk we knew we made the right decision. The property was beautiful, room was comfortable, we had dinner at 18 Oaks the food was excellent and Destiny the hostess and our waitress Melissa and assistant made our anniversary dinner so memorable. We also had the breakfast buffet at Cibolo Moon and the food was also excellent. Adult pool area was relaxing. We are planning on a return visit in the future and hope to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank over50traveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,528)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,058 - 2,064 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed one night for a wedding over the weekend. The best filet mignon served at the wedding and the best mac and cheese ordered from room service! From the minute you walk in, excellent customer service with greeting my husband and I, only downfall was the wedding was outside and there were no signs nor did the front desk know the wedding location changed to inside; had to search for the ceremony venue ourselves. The room is very country chic and love the government discount offered. Nothing but relaxation, I am certain we will be back for a Sunday Brunch as we noticed the fabulous menu. 5 stars to the Executive Chef and his staff! The fitness center was amazing and the room to drop off your kids for an additional cost was also great, they made ginger breads.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imsmart_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a georgous property with outstanding service, food service and the pool/waterslides were so much fun.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our family of four stayed here for a week and loved the resort. We were there during the Valero Open and I was worried it might impact our vacation. Not at all. The resort itself was absolutely gorgeous. The common areas were very nice. There was a pool table and some table top video chess and checkers games. Our room was spacious. We were upgraded to a larger end room and the view would have been spectacular though it was blocked by tents from the golf tournament. I was just happy to have a larger room. Bed was very comfortable though the pullout couch was not. Since the room was larger they allowed us to bring in two cots for the kids. Housekeeping did a great job each day. The one thing we noticed is that room service trays were left in the hallways for full days. Staff was super friendly but not over the top as some have indicated. If a request was made it was taken care of right away. The pool area can't be beat our kids 14 and 10 had a blast on the slides and we were able to take in the beauty of the hill country at the adult infinity pool that overlooks the golf course. We ate at all the restaurants and all were good. Service at High Velocity was slow as others stated. Pool serice was good. Our meal at 18 Oaks was fantastic. Yes, things are expensive here but we went knowing this and enjoyed every minute.

It's not a big deal to drive to downtown San Antonio about a 30 minute ride. GPS did not pick up the roads near the resort so make sure you have good directions. We went to San Antonio 3 times and had a great time. We also spent the day in Gruene and had a blast. If you go eat at the Gristmill. Thought New Braunfels would be more interesting but,, there really isn't much there. The waterpark was not open yet. You certainly could spend all your time relaxing at this resort but, coming from the East coast we wanted to check out the area. That being said Texans are some of the most friendly people and I'd love to go back

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordycatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My Husband and I took our three kids ages 7, 4, and 2 to the jw the last weekend if spring break. It was a great trip! The kids had a blast swimming, watching a movie at the pool, making somores, and many other activities! The staff was very nice and kid friendly. I can't wait to go again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMASITAX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel was wonderful. We were there during for New Year's and LOVED IT. It wasn't very warm, but the pools were still heated and usable and our family swam every day (yes, Crazy Canadians). The decor is gorgeous and there a lots of little areas to sit and chat/cuddle/relax. There is a tiny arcade and pool table and a bar with a 120' (yes foot) tv. It wraps like a ribbon with alternating tvs and they are everywhere. Getting to play TPC San Antonio Golf Course was also a great perk of staying at this hotel. Our kids can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: We would like to see if there are rooms with mini-kitchens, as traveling with kids and eating at hig...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for 2 days/1 night-pools are awesome, no need to leave the hotel for entertainment for our 6 and 10 year old. Food was great, golf courses are unreal and service was tremendous. Price is the only thing that may keep people away, but if you can afford it, do it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_h2os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,522 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,853 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $315 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio, Texas features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing