We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 night stay on the Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Embassy Suites and it was near perfect. We had two adults and 2 teenagers in our room and it worked out well. Having the two rooms was so nice. The living room is a fine size and although the pull out couch wasn't as comfortable as a regular bed, it wasn't too bad according to the over 6 foot tall teenager who slept on it. It was nice that there was a sink and a large mirror over the sink in the kitchen, so that someone could use that to get ready if the bathroom was occupied. The beds in the bedroom were very comfortable. The room is a bit of a tight squeeze (we had 2 beds) but it was fine. There are 2 closets-one in the room and one out in the other area which was helpful. The dresser drawers are huge which was nice. There are lots of outlets on lamps for all the electronics which was also nice.

As far as the room goes the only negatives were that the air condioner in the bedroom blows right onto one of the beds so my husband was freezing, but the rest of us were fine. I also wish they had a makeup mirror in the bathroom,but not a huge deal.

We did use the pool and the fitness room, both of which are on the 3rd floor. The fitness room had lots of cardio machines (maybe 9?) including elipticals, treadmills and a bike. The pool is adequate. Don't plan on doing laps. It is a square pool. We went in the afternoon and it was in shade at that point so no suntanning but the water temp was fine. There is a hot tub too. A bar also which we didn't use so can't comment on service or quality.

Last but not least, the breakfast was quite good. The line was very long the first day (Spring Break) but they made accomodations the next day and put the hot food on a table so the line could go on both sides and it was separate from the omelette station-good move on their part. Nice crispy bacon and tasty omelettes. Get there early if you want bananas. They ran out of those every day. The managers reception in the afternoon was also nice. Pretzels, chips, salsa, cheese, beans, fresh veggies, cold pasta, popcorn, nice soft gummie bears, cheese (wish they had crackers) and a few other things. Wine, beer, margaritas, mixed drinks, sangria, rum punch.

There is a river taxi stop at the hotel which we used a few times. I wish the hotel had a bar or restaurant on the river level as others do, but they don't. Not sure why.

It was a nice stay and we would stay again. It is a very convenient location!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coloradowahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

I came with two friends for spring break looking for a good deal on a Riverwalk hotel. We chose this one because of the location backing up to the river, the price, and the good reviews.
We stayed in a king suite. It had a good amount of room for three girls with lots of toiletries. It has a good size bathroom as well as a long counter with a sink in the livingroom area. There were two TVs and two closets as well.
The first night we stayed was St. Patrick's day, so we were worried about the potential for noise and rowdy neighbors, but once we came back to the hotel around 1AM, all was quiet in the hotel and we slept without interruptions.
Although I had read about issues with the maid services, our experience with the guest services was excellent. In fact, the maids, bellhops, and room service staff were more friendly than the front desk staff. A maid came back to our room in the evening to bring us towels without being asked on a day that we had slept in and missed our room cleaning. One night, there was a tornado watch near San Antonio. The lady who brought us our room service was very understanding and told us not to worry - the hotel would call us if the weather got too severe near the hotel. Over all, our experience with the service people was great.
A big perk of the hotel was the complementary breakfast. There was a huge selection: omelettes, pancakes, cereal, bagels, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, eggs, etc. I would suggest trying to get down there before 8:30, because every time we came down after that we had to wait to get a table and the food was lukewarm.
For the price, the location was quite good, but it was near the edge of the Riverwalk area and was surrounded by sketchy areas on a couple of sides. Let's just say I wouldn't want to walk alone on some of those streets at night.
We really had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliviarand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We spent two nights at the hotel. The location was the primary reason for our choice and it delivered! The hotel is on the end of the Riverwalk and just a short walk to the fabulous restaurants and ambiance of the river itself.
The room was perfect. We were traveling with kids so the suite set up was perfect. We even had a balcony over looking the pool. The breakfast in the morning felt like a restaurant. The typical eggs, bacon, potatoes, cereal were served, but they also offered cook to order omlettes.
Our other points of interest were the Alamo and Market square. The hotel is about a 7 minute walk to either destination, however they are in completely opposite directions. We took the trolley whic was $1.10 per person and had a pickup location just outside of the hotel.

Only 4 stars because of the price for valet parking and charging for wireless Internet in the room. The hotel is pricey enough without the added charges.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myfav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Just like a previous reviewer we had issues with the maid service (or lack thereof). After a day out seeing the San Antonio sites for Spring Break, we came back to find our room not having been cleaned at 4:30 in the afternoon. With no clean towels, we had to use pool towels to take showers befor dinner. In addition to this situation, the trays in the hallways are not picked up but once per day which in my mind is a serious sanitation problem. On numerous occasions during our 5 night stay, trays were strewn in the halls overnight and left there until late into the next day. Finally, be prepared to pay an outragous $27 per day for valet parking with no option to self park on site. I will not be staying at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarge2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My family and I stayed at the Embassy Suites Riverwalk while I was attending a conference on iste. The facilities were fantastic. A complimentary hot breakfast including made to order omeletes was available daily and the managers afternoon reception with snacks and an open bar was a great end to the day. The staff was hospitable. I would definately recommend this facility.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Spring break for us and we wanted to try something different than going to the beach. It been a good experience but I will have to tell you there is a problem service staff. After being gone all day they had not cleaned our room until I complained about not getting it cleaned. They told me that they had not forgotten but were trying to clean room that new customers were occupying later. What this tells me that once you are here they could less about you as a guest and prefer taking care of new guest. We also complained about the room service trays in the hall way and the service was still in the all ways for two days. We were told they come through once a day. I could go on but I think you get what I am saying.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Had a wonderful stay combining business with pleasure. The room was very clean and remarkable fairly quiet considering we were by the elevator. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were very nice. Also very convenient location to the riverwalk without all the crowds and noise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,113 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,244 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $257 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing