We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT Experience!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“GREAT Experience!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My grandaughter and I stayed here during the San Antonio Livestock show and were impressed! Our stay here was enjoyable and safe. Our room was spacious and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Usually when hotels offer breakfast it isn't the best but here we enjoyed a great breakfast. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_O57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We're glad we could be a part of your special time with your grand daughter. The property is almost across the street from the Alamo Dome and not far from the AT&T Center where the Rodeo and everything else happens...so glad you could take advantage of our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    343
    87
    46
    43
See reviews for
285
454
58
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have a new favorite hotel in San Antonio! The Best Western Sunset Suites is amazing! Starting with the pleasant, helpful staff at the front desk, our check in and locating the free extra parking lot (with 24 hour surveillance!) went without a single hitch! Our room was clean and beautiful. We loved all of the period touches - furniture, lights, etc! Also loved having a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in our room! Comfy beds with nice linens, plenty of towels... absolutely nothing to complain about! The breakfast is now FREE, and has a good variety of tasty (obviously not rewarmed frozen) offerings including eggs, ham or sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast or waffles, yogurt, fruit, cereal, fruit filled pastries, coffee, milk, juice, water, etc. The menu changes slightly each morning, but is consistently delicious! Easy walk to the Convention Center and Riverwalk area, and bus passes are available for purchase if you need them. Did I mention the FREE parking?! I'll never stay anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can hear some traffic noise and passersby if they're loud, but we had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lani1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you! Sounds like we have a NEW favorite guest :). Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I discovered this hotel a few years ago. We love this place and when its just the two of us we stay here. We dont bring the kiddos because there is not a pool but other than that we love it. It is one block from the Via bus stop. It is walking distance from river walk and Tower of Americas. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. It is very clean. We will actually be there aga in the next couple of weeks. Its just a nice place to get away to. Very quiet. Yes the parking is tight but there is a secured parking lot across the street that we use when we have to. You wont be sorry if you stay here. I love how the rooms are decorated in the craftmen style furniture.

Room Tip: Take the VIA buses/trolleys thru downtown so you wont have to worry about getting lost and the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiegirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
It's good to see you back. Thank you for your compliments...did you know the City just added a pay-as-you-go bicycle stand across the street from us? It's wonderful, especially when you come as couples; if you'd like you hop on the bikes and ride the downtown area. They have drop-offs for the bikes and you just pick another one up when ready...REALLY COOL! Let us know what we can do to make every stay a special one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

i stayed here 4 nights weds-saturday this past week. i picked this place because of the combination of price ($82ish/night) location (right next to alamodome and very short walk to river walk), and mostly excellent tripadvisor reviews. even though i liked my stay very much, and i'm glad i stayed here, i cannot give this place 5 stars. we stayed in room 417. allow me to summarize my thoughts thusly:
cons-
-the shower pressure was way way too high. my wife and i tried several times to take showers and couldn't because the water pressure from the shower was so hard it was painful. i'm no wimp, and neither is my wife, but it was painful. to their credit, when we called the front desk and asked about it, the maintenance guy was there in about 2 minutes. he couldn't do anything about it but he was there quickly. we ended up having to take baths. i hadn't taken a bath since i was like 6 years old.
-the shower heads were literally 6 feet up from the bathtub. this was only a minor issue for me as i'm 5'11" but for anyone taller, it would have been a major negative
-the parking lot is really small. this is a small hotel, but the parking lot was really small. i had to park on the street one night. it was completely full every night and on friday and saturday nights, i heard other guests complaining and getting frustrated by the lack of parking
-no ice machine on the 4th floor
-old school fat tv with about 35 channels, about 7-8 of which had some degree of fuzz in the picture.
-the elevator made an annoying humming noise constantly. it wasn't like fire alarm loud, but it wasn't very far from it. the noise it made when the door was open too long was much louder, but i didn't like that the elevator was an auditory experience when riding it or walking in the area of it.
-every restaurant or place i asked about the desk staff had never heard of.
-the heat/ac in the room was loud. not so much that it was crazy, but when it kicked on at night one night it woke both me and my wife up.
-could have used a couple more pillows
-no in room safe like i've had in several other hotel rooms
-a couple of times during our stay we noticed the entire one end of the hallway of our floor smelled like dryer sheets. it wasn't a stinky smell, but it was so encompassing, that it was a little annoying.
-no pool or fitness center that i saw
pros-
-previously mentioned extremely fast response to my shower head issue-
-great location. this cannot be over emphasized as it made our stay so much more enjoyable. there is an interstate exit and entrance 50 feet from the hotel but we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. getting in and getting out were fast and relatively hassle free.
-there is a bus stop in front of and one behind the hotel
-there is a san antonio community bike program location just outside the hotel
-the business center computer and printer were free and excellent for our needs (looking things up, printing return trip boarding passes, etc.
-the little store in the lobby was actually on point and very convenient. i like that they sold condoms. i didn't buy any but i thought that was cool.
-the breakfast that they used to charge for was decent but just recently made free to all hotel guests so that was a great plus.
-our room was very clean and comfortable. the bed was great and we slept comfortably every night
-very nice lobby area and stained glass doors on main entrance
-our socks weren't filthy after walking around in the hotel room so you can be sure the floors were relatively clean
-hotel staff made us a new key for our room without complaint or hesitation when we locked ourselves out, but only after verifying my identity.
-no smoking in the whole place i think.

Room Tip: room 417 had loud a/c noise and insanely high shower pressure. i felt like kramer in that one episo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VelvetSteamroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, very detailed and thought out; I would have rather seen the Pros first (LOL) but you can be sure that we will check into the Cons as quickly as possible...again thank you for the detailed information so we can follow up on all points. The Parking is free and we do offer additional parking (with security) at the public lot across the street; I'm sorry the Desk failed to let you know and you had to park on the Street. We actually pay for the added parking for the guest convenience although we don't pass on the fees to you. The Exercise Room is in the Main Lobby Building on the second floor - again sounds like more training with new Staff.

Never-the-less, I am glad your stay was positive and we hope that next time you visit we'll hit a home-run on all points. We hope you will take advantage of our hospitality again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

One of the best places to stay in San Antonio...Close to the river walk with out the High price of the river walk. It started by the Front desk...They were very friendly and orginized.
Our room was very large and clean. We walked the whole weekend every where and did not have to fight the traffic. Free parking and if you can't walk a trolly picks up right in front all day and night! I would recommend to anyone staying in San Antonio the Best Western Sunset Suites!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad we could be a part of your enjoyable visit to the Beautiful San Antonio Downtown...sounds like you got plenty of exercise as well :). We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were shocked to see how clean and pleasant this hotel was! Easy parking situation and just a few blocks from the Riverwalk. We are coming back again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melodyranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Wow!!! We have to stay impartial towards all our guests, but we think YOU are our favorite as well, we love you too :). But seriously, thank you for your kind words. I will definitely make special mention of your response at our next Staff Meeting, it will mean much to them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I used to be a flight attendant (before kids) and I've stayed in a lot of hotels. I was completely impressed with this hotel and pleasantly surprised! My husband and I stayed in this hotel 2 nights while both of our kids participated in the Bands of American competition at the Alamodome. This hotel is so close you can walk (just 2 blocks) and not have to pay for parking. The front desk part of the hotel is a historic landmark and has been preserved beautifully. The part of the hotel where the rooms are is newer and is extremely clean. In fact, it is the absolute cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. It is also very quiet. I was shocked that the room was furnished with real wood furniture. The room was also very large, containing a king bed, 2 nightstands, beautiful real wood dresser, a couch, coffee table, desk and desk chair, and an additional chair for lounging. A refrigerator was included as well as a microwave and coffee pot. PLENTY of room for all this furniture, so there was plenty of room for our family to stay. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to the Alamodome and a few blocks to the Riverwalk, quiet at night and VERY clean....look no further. I just wish I could take this hotel with me to every destination!

Room Tip: I think this hotel only has 64 rooms, so I'm not really sure how you would choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyMcCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're so excited to have met your needs and approval, especially from a "Professional" traveler, seriously I mean that :). Today's business traveler needs a hassle-free, comfortable place to call home away from home, it is so important and our aim is to be just that. Enough patting ourselves on the back, but our Staff truly enjoyed reading your comments and it added just so much more to the level of pride they put into their job each day. Hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
#95 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing