We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Drury!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We come here every time we stay in San Antonio. We love this hotel. It is beautiful, right on the river and has complimentary food and drinks. Room are clean and staff is friendly.

The only thing I would request is to add bacon to the breakfast menu. If you're staying a week, the same breakfast menu can get old. But it is good food....just the same.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smwpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,196 - 2,202 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

We were very pleased with the hotel. The room was good sized as was the bath. Everything was clean. The rear of the hotel was on the main channel of the river and it was about a block to either side of the hotel to the two ends of the channel that us old timers think of as the riverwalk. Most of the restaurants, bars, live theatre, mall, and other attractions associated with the riverwalk area including the Alamo are within about 4 blocks mostly on the riverwalk if you prefer. The hotel has an included breakfast buffet which includes hot food which compares favorably with the free breakfast buffets in hotels that offer them. They also include a free happy hour which includes 3 drinks and an appetizer buffet. It is certainly suitable for families with kids. As a frequent visitor to San Antonio, I would suggest the fall and spring as the best times to visit. Summer is beastly hot in San Antonio and should be avoided if you have the flexibility in your schedule. We have even visited a few times in February and found it quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Hotel is right on river walk with walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. The hotel is clean. The after 5 free food and drinks are wonderful and filling. Great on saving money if you have a large family to feed. Free Buffet Breakfast is good as well but the after 5 food and breakfast was the same every day. Loved the soda fountain except they lock it up at 10 so if you want something to drink after that you have to use the vending machines. We had the jacuzzi suite with terrace. Nice large room with separate living area. Lots of walking to get to room and to get to pool and hot tubs. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was my 3rd trip to San Antonio this year, and my 3rd stay at Drury Plaza Riverwalk. This time I reserved a 2-room suite in the original hotel tower.
The room was great---very comfortable & roomy. Bed was excellent, and it was nice to have 2 flat-screen TV's in the room---one in the bedroom & one in the living area. Also nice was the full-sized fridge/freezer (great for storing ice for drinks & freezer-paks for the ice chest). The A/C in the room was WONDERFUL---we kept cool the entire time in the room. Can't say as much for the lobby/elevators/dining area---they were uncomfortably warm this visit. (It was 106-108 degrees in S.A.!!) We were really sweating at breakfast & 5:30 "kickback" time ! Also, the wait for elevators was longer during our stay; at least one lift was out of commission this time.
The front desk people & garage attendants were wonderful to deal with; it's nice to know they appreciate you staying at their hotel (which is a refreshing change from many hotels who couldn't care less if you stayed with them or not !)
Only 2 things didn't meet my expectations this visit: 1. the carpet in our suite was due for a replacement--it was pretty "shop-worn" and showing lots of wear & soiling, and, 2. the bath towels are STILL those 86% cotton 14% polyester blends---which just push water around, but not dry. The bed linens/pillows and bath toiletries are top-notch, why not the towels? It's time to step up to the plate & go for 100% cotton bath towels. This would really put the Drury Plaza Riverwalk Hotel on the "top-shelf" !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastcheapandeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Chose this hotel because of the price, location and amenities.

The room was nice. We had a king room. The hotel is really nice and they showcase the history of the building. What a great lobby! Nice roof top pool that noone was using. Watched a great sunset from there.

The free breakfast had plenty of food. Eggs, biscuits, pancakes, sausage, toast, bagels, fruit, etc. The free happy hour had 3 drinks per person and a lot of finger foods(hot dogs, nachos, chips, salsa, pretzels, popcorn, chicken, etc). Be sure to try a Tequila Sunrise.

Location was great. Right on the Riverwalk. We walked the whole Riverwalk. Had many great meals there. A really nice place.

We will be staying here again. No complaints!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank METAL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I wanted a nice hotel along the Riverwalk for one final couples outing before our kiddo was born. It needed to be nice, have a big whirlpool tub, and be on the Riverwalk for easy access to the walking path along the river. The Drury Plaza Hotel fit the bill. It's in the old San Antonio Bank Building and the lobby has been restored to its former glory. Loved the art deco!

The room was smallish but nice and the bathroom was huge, as was the tub. At nine months pregnant it really fit the bill, we could both fit in the tub together to relax. The hotel was packed with families so the two pools were just too busy for us to enjoy them, but the upgraded room with the tub was 100% better than any pool would have been. There was a large sink and nice walk-in shower.

If you don't like kids, I'd probably avoid this hotel during the summer tourist season. There are probably less during the school year. However, if you are a family looking for a good value, this is a great stop. They offer free breakfast buffet and a free happy hour with 3 drinks for adults (beer, wine or cocktails), free sodas, and a buffet that would please most families. We are pretty picky eaters (food snobs - all organic, sorry) so we didn't part take but they had nachos, chicken fingers, hot dogs, and other items. Many families were making a meal of it to save $. I did enjoy my rum and Cokes (and my wife's too since she couldn't drink!). The coffee was not so good. The in-room coffee was a little better.

You can get to the river walk from inside the hotel if you go to the bottom floor and follow the signs. There are some cool old photos and bank vaults down there as well.

The staff was very friendly and the hotel clean. I enjoyed our stay and would consider it again. Definitely a family value.

If you follow your GPS to the hotel front doors, know that is not the entrance with the valet parking. It's around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jburatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Our Family stayed here weekend of 8-4 thru 8-7 for a family reunion. We had a suite in the San Fernando tower on the 14th floor and it was very nice, no complaints at all. The a/c worked great and we weren't bothered by outside or hallway noise.

The hotel was very busy when we were there. There were lines for the breakfast and the evening Kick back. It looked like alot of people were taking advantage of the kick back food not only there on the 2nd floor, but also taking back heaped plates to their rooms. We did take advantage of the breakfast, but the kickback was just too hectic and crowded to enjoy.

We enjoyed some time at the roof top pool and were surprised how few people there were up there. So, you might check this out if you stay here.

The elevators in the main building are terribly slow and crowded. They are tiny elevators to begin with, so that doesn't help. To get the the San Fernando Tower, you had to take the main elevator to the 6th floor and then another elevator in the Tower to our floor. We usually took the stairs when going down from the 6th floor to the lobby so we wouldn't have to deal with the crowd and the wait for the elevator. When were were checking out, we had to wait almost 15 minutes and then finally took an elevator going up and then took it back down to the lobby.

If you are a family with children, this might be the place for you as it will definately help with your overall budget. But, if you are adults travelling together, you might want to check elsewhere to avoid some of the things I mentioned. The Drury Plaza doesn't have a bar or a restaurant on site as many of the other hotels do in the area.

Would I stay here again, probably not.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justheretohavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and accommodations on your recent stay with us. We are very thankful that our hotel is a very busy and popular location for families on their summer vacations. You are correct that our guest do take advantage of the value of the free hot breakfast and our 5:30 kickback. Even though there can be large volume of guest at times, the small lines do move very quickly. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to show you our hotel during different periods of the year as well as the summer when the volume of vacationers can be much less.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,269 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,325 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $187 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing