We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
US$124
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$167
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk(San Antonio)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$199
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$298
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$175
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,950)
Filter reviews
2,950 results
Traveller rating
1,917
750
184
57
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,917
750
184
57
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbank buildingrooftop poolfree drinksalamo national bankhot dogsnachosthe river walkbasement levelstained glasschicken fingerslight showbaked potatomixed drinksfree happy hourbreakfast and happy hourvalet parkingdirect access
Filter
Updating list...
2,300 - 2,305 of 2,950 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We were very pleased with the hotel. The room was good sized as was the bath. Everything was clean. The rear of the hotel was on the main channel of the river and it was about a block to either side of the hotel to the two ends of the channel that us old timers think of as the riverwalk. Most of the restaurants, bars, live theatre, mall, and other attractions associated with the riverwalk area including the Alamo are within about 4 blocks mostly on the riverwalk if you prefer. The hotel has an included breakfast buffet which includes hot food which compares favorably with the free breakfast buffets in hotels that offer them. They also include a free happy hour which includes 3 drinks and an appetizer buffet. It is certainly suitable for families with kids. As a frequent visitor to San Antonio, I would suggest the fall and spring as the best times to visit. Summer is beastly hot in San Antonio and should be avoided if you have the flexibility in your schedule. We have even visited a few times in February and found it quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel is right on river walk with walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. The hotel is clean. The after 5 free food and drinks are wonderful and filling. Great on saving money if you have a large family to feed. Free Buffet Breakfast is good as well but the after 5 food and breakfast was the same every day. Loved the soda fountain except they lock it up at 10 so if you want something to drink after that you have to use the vending machines. We had the jacuzzi suite with terrace. Nice large room with separate living area. Lots of walking to get to room and to get to pool and hot tubs. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was my 3rd trip to San Antonio this year, and my 3rd stay at Drury Plaza Riverwalk. This time I reserved a 2-room suite in the original hotel tower.
The room was great---very comfortable & roomy. Bed was excellent, and it was nice to have 2 flat-screen TV's in the room---one in the bedroom & one in the living area. Also nice was the full-sized fridge/freezer (great for storing ice for drinks & freezer-paks for the ice chest). The A/C in the room was WONDERFUL---we kept cool the entire time in the room. Can't say as much for the lobby/elevators/dining area---they were uncomfortably warm this visit. (It was 106-108 degrees in S.A.!!) We were really sweating at breakfast & 5:30 "kickback" time ! Also, the wait for elevators was longer during our stay; at least one lift was out of commission this time.
The front desk people & garage attendants were wonderful to deal with; it's nice to know they appreciate you staying at their hotel (which is a refreshing change from many hotels who couldn't care less if you stayed with them or not !)
Only 2 things didn't meet my expectations this visit: 1. the carpet in our suite was due for a replacement--it was pretty "shop-worn" and showing lots of wear & soiling, and, 2. the bath towels are STILL those 86% cotton 14% polyester blends---which just push water around, but not dry. The bed linens/pillows and bath toiletries are top-notch, why not the towels? It's time to step up to the plate & go for 100% cotton bath towels. This would really put the Drury Plaza Riverwalk Hotel on the "top-shelf" !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastcheapandeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Chose this hotel because of the price, location and amenities.

The room was nice. We had a king room. The hotel is really nice and they showcase the history of the building. What a great lobby! Nice roof top pool that noone was using. Watched a great sunset from there.

The free breakfast had plenty of food. Eggs, biscuits, pancakes, sausage, toast, bagels, fruit, etc. The free happy hour had 3 drinks per person and a lot of finger foods(hot dogs, nachos, chips, salsa, pretzels, popcorn, chicken, etc). Be sure to try a Tequila Sunrise.

Location was great. Right on the Riverwalk. We walked the whole Riverwalk. Had many great meals there. A really nice place.

We will be staying here again. No complaints!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank METAL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I wanted a nice hotel along the Riverwalk for one final couples outing before our kiddo was born. It needed to be nice, have a big whirlpool tub, and be on the Riverwalk for easy access to the walking path along the river. The Drury Plaza Hotel fit the bill. It's in the old San Antonio Bank Building and the lobby has been restored to its former glory. Loved the art deco!

The room was smallish but nice and the bathroom was huge, as was the tub. At nine months pregnant it really fit the bill, we could both fit in the tub together to relax. The hotel was packed with families so the two pools were just too busy for us to enjoy them, but the upgraded room with the tub was 100% better than any pool would have been. There was a large sink and nice walk-in shower.

If you don't like kids, I'd probably avoid this hotel during the summer tourist season. There are probably less during the school year. However, if you are a family looking for a good value, this is a great stop. They offer free breakfast buffet and a free happy hour with 3 drinks for adults (beer, wine or cocktails), free sodas, and a buffet that would please most families. We are pretty picky eaters (food snobs - all organic, sorry) so we didn't part take but they had nachos, chicken fingers, hot dogs, and other items. Many families were making a meal of it to save $. I did enjoy my rum and Cokes (and my wife's too since she couldn't drink!). The coffee was not so good. The in-room coffee was a little better.

You can get to the river walk from inside the hotel if you go to the bottom floor and follow the signs. There are some cool old photos and bank vaults down there as well.

The staff was very friendly and the hotel clean. I enjoyed our stay and would consider it again. Definitely a family value.

If you follow your GPS to the hotel front doors, know that is not the entrance with the valet parking. It's around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jburatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews