We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a very nice downtown San Antonio Hotel. It sits right on the riverwalk and just a few blocks from the Alamo and the Rivercenter Mall. The lobby is beautiful and rooms are large an clean. The indoor pool and hot tub were awesome! It rained the weekend we went, so we could not swim in the Rooftop pool (But it was so beautiful!) The hot breakfast was great! Pancakes, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, they had it all. The happy hour drinks were pretty good. They offered snacks during the happy hour, veggies, popcorn, chili, baked potatoes and nachos. The only negative is that you have to pay for Valet Parking. Other than that, we had a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the street (not the large AC unit).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    685
    166
    52
    37
See reviews for
884
963
62
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The happy hour and breakfast make this a very good value and both are done well. Many Riverwalk restaurants charge New York prices for average food. Rooms are clean and well appointed and the location is great for exploring many of the downtown sights.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

As others have commented, the lobby is amazing! The room was nice, a few carpet stains, but otherwise clean.
We were traveling with a Road Scholar group, so parking was $10/day. The usual charge is $20/day.
Staff was friendly. During check-in one desk clerk was semi-hostile, but that was the only negative experience.
Location is excellent. I will recommend this hotel to friends with NO hesitation.

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor (719). It overlooked a rooftop. There are much better views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The freebies here can not be beat! They could offer some healthier fare at their evening Kickback but come on it's free. Rooms were clean. Employees incredibly helpful and attentive. Rooftop pool and hot tubs were nice. Very nice place to stay at a reasonable price. Within walking distance to lots of attractions and the Via bus system pickup sites.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hello97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the riverwalk for 4 nights in mid-Mar. Although it was spring break we didn't have children with us so were able to adjust our lunch and supper times so that we ate either earlier or later than the family groups. Weather was very warm but the overcast skies kept some of the heat off. Riverwalk is wonderful and full of action - we walked for hours each day. Barge ride is very popular so go early or late - runs 9 am to 9 pm. Recommend the king suite as the balcony view of the San Fernando Catherdral was awesome. Watched a couple of weddings and simply laid back and enjoyed the view. Room was in the tower which is kind of awkward to get to but once you do it once its not a problem. Free breakfast, free popcorn and soft drinks in the day and free manager's reception. Those with young families could feed them supper just with the food at the reception - hotdogs, macaroni and cheese, chicken fingers, etc. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Suite with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our family of four, including two teens, stayed in a twin-queen room on a spring break stopover, and this was a great place to do so. As a former bank building, it was interesting and not your standard cookie-cutter hotel. (You can even go down in the basement and see the old vault.) The hotel is convenient to attractions, the free breakfast was above-average, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooftop pool/jacuzzi(s) were fun. Oh yeah--and the bellman brought me a luggage cart so I could unload and carry my own bags instead of giving me the usual shake-down. I'm sure if one needed help it would be available, but it was nice to have the option to forego it. The mattresses were a tad soft, but after a day and night on the town, it didn't matter longer than a couple of minutes. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolly_Guy_3902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had a two room suite in the San Fernando building next to the Alamo Bank building. This meant we had to change elevators at the sixth floor. This was a minor inconvenience all things considered.

My wife and our two children (4yrs and 6 yrs old) shared this suite which overlooked the riverwalk and we were quite pleased. It was comfortable and clean with a wide hallway, refrigerator and two nice TVs. Plenry of space. The larger room had a sofa which folded into a bed which the children shared. Smaller room, separated by a sliding door had a king sized bed.

Indoor pool was small but nice on the 9th floor of the San Fernando building while the outoor pool on the top floor of the Alamo Bank building offered spectacular views. You coluld take the elevator down to the B level and walk outside of the building and be on the riverwalk. The river taxis (not the tour boats) stopped there. Easy walk to the building to take the tour boats. Very convenient.

Very good feature of many Drury hotels is the free breakfast and free evening food (heavy appetizers) which could serve easily as dinner and free beverages (beer, wine, some mixed drinks). The inside of the building is quite pretty in the art deco style.

We stayed buring spring break which was quite busy, but everything worked out well. We would stay again at this location.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our corner suite on the 11th floor of the San Fernando building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rad_Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing