We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wow, happy hour too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow, happy hour too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Okay just loved this hotel, from the roof top pool to free happy hour to free breakfast to the big rooms with a downtown view and the access to the riverwalk and everything downtown! Location, location, location!! Oh and if it's still there a great place for your guy to get an excellent hair cut w/a beer is Roosters cattycorner from the hotel totally walkable.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for better views of course and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boonespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    672
    159
    49
    35
See reviews for
856
930
61
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The family and I all were on our way to Port Aransas for a well needed weeks vacation in Port Aransas, so we thought stopping at the San Antonio Riverwalk and getting a hotel would be fun! It truly was. We spent only one night in this wonderfully eclectic hotel with elevators that dont go where you are going and buildings that end and then you must start again in another building, but it was great! The rooftop pool being open late, seeing the San Antonio Skyline and through Bexar County was fantastic. A quick jump away is the Hard Rock Cafe and the Riverwalk! We even had my mother there and she ran into some visitors form France (her home country). We were able to get a room big enough for my 13 yo daughter two elementary age boys and my wife and I with a grand view of the Chapel. Highly recommended! Emjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Talk about customer service! It has been a long time since I have experienced this level of customer service. Made reservations 2 1/2 weeks before arrival and was told to contact the hotel on the day of arrival to put in our request for a sofa bed. I called and was told that none of our requests could be honored. This appeared to be a mistake and so, I asked for a manager to call me. Within 10-15 minutes, my phone rang--wow! Everything was resolved and from the time that we got there until the time we left-EVERYONE of the staff we ran into were so nice and helpful. Pleasant staff interaction can make or break a hotel stay imo and we were all so pleased with everyone. They really appeared to care about their guests' stay and wanted to make sure we had a good vacation.

After reading a lot of the reviews on this hotel, I was not expecting to utilize the free breakfast b/c of the "stampede" mentality others described. However, the first morning (about 9:30), I went down to get some coffee and there were no lines for breakfast; the serving area was clean and the food was fresh. I really liked the "real" forks and plates as opposed to plastic that some others have described. There were sausage patties; eggs; pancakes; cereal; biscuits and gravy; bagels;and all the regular juices available. Those in our party did not attempt the breakfast for the same reason and so, when I saw that there was no lines, we asked if we could take some breakfast up to the other two in our party--no problem.

The free evening social was a little more like what others had described- but the line was not long. We got a couple of drinks. We tried it the first evening and decided that we would not go again--too crowded for our taste.

The room was very nice--really clean and housekeeping did a great job during our stay. We had a beautiful view of the river below and the wonderful view of the cathedral--it is all lit up at night and with the other buildings' lights it is truly pretty. The four of us stayed in a king 2 room suite with sofa bed. There is one bedroom--very comfy bed. The living area was very large--room enough for the pull out sofa (not very comfortable) However, we had planned to use a inflatable twin, high mattress for our daughter, (which there was plenty of room for) but forgot the electric pump! We called and by the time we got back from exploring, the roll away bed (very comfortable) was in our room. The first night we did not make it back to the hotel until midnight and realized that we needed another blanket--within 10 minutes a knock on the door and there it was! Getting to the rooms in the "San Fernando Cathedral" section is kinda difficult-you have to take 2 different elevators and it's a little convoluted, but we knew this when we reserved the room. I say the view of the cathedral and river are worth the extra hassle.

The valet is $19 per night (which is cheaper than the last hotel we stayed on the riverwalk-$30!! and took them forever to get the car to us). Although we did not take the car out for anything during our stay b/c everything is within walking distance, when we checked out, they had our car to us in minutes--b/c they park the cars on location. However, they only allow 1 valet per reservation b/c of the space issue. The other member of our group parked his car at one of the many parking garages half a block over from the hotel.

After checking out on our last day, we asked the front desk to hold our bags while we did some last minute exploring and they did with no problem. When we got done doing some more sightseeing and eating lunch, we casually walked back to the hotel and got our bags.

Overall, we loved the hotel- it is really beautiful and well maintained. But the people who work there made it an exceptional stay. Customer service like we experienced is a failing art form--but not at the Plaza Hotel. We will definitely be back. Thank you to all of the staff at Drury Plaza for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: we stayed riverview on the 11th floor San Fernando section and it was very quiet and beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meander48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Loved this hotel! Enjoyed the outdoor patio on the top floor. Strolled the Riverwalk without having to look for parking.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brenda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The service and hospitality of the staff was wonderful. This is absolutely the place to stay if you are looking for was a wonderful stay in San Antonio. This Hotel is defiantly a tourist attraction, the food was fabulous, and the Kick Back was unbelievable. I must say, the breakfast had a lot of choices. Our room was VERY clean and comfortable. Overall, this was a great place to stay in and we will be back again. Planning my next stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nacio t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here one night for a business trip. It is a wonderful hotel with a lot of charm with many of the original features from the bank (the hotel is a renovated bank). The lobby area is really beautiful, and the daily dinner and drinks provided free of charge were great. The hotel room itself was a little on the small side, but very cozy and very clean. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious. Free internet was a bonus, and the staff were very nice and helpful. The location is convenient to everything-you can park your car and just walk wherever you want to go-the hotel connects to the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hubby and I were very very pleased with our recent stay here. We were in town for a wedding/vacation and were really surprised with all the freebies here. The breakfast in the morning had sausage, eggs, cereal, bagels, waffles, juice, not to mention biscuits and gravy. They then have free snacks and drinks every night from 5:30-7pm which had water downed, but free drinks, chicken tenders, mac and cheese, nachos....dinner really. They also have free pop and popcorn until 10 pm. We were impressed coming from the normal Delta flight that seems loath to part with their stale nuts. The roof top pool is small but super cool with a great view from the 23rd floor it is perched upon. There are 2 hot tubs up there as well. Our room was very tasteful, had a mini fridge in it and a microwave. Location is almost right on top of the central plaza in town (the view of the cathedral at night was gorgeous) and you can walk out onto the river walk from the basement level. The lobby feels like something out of the roaring 20's with lots of opulent gold and marble. In the basement level you can see old remains of bank vaults and in the lobby the front desk looks to be old teller's booths from a bank. You pay to park, but it is valet and they were super fast in retrieving and parking the car. You can come and go as much as you like for one price per day - I think $20 or $25. We used some promo code called "ROSE" when we registered for the hotel. Paid around $80 a night - total steal. I am not sure if the promo code will still work, because the Rose theater (thus the name of the promo code - they used to give free tickets when you used this code to buy a room on their website) closed down. Forgot to say there is free HBO in the rooms too! Overall, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watkin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,956 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing