We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Jack”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Drury Plaza is a good value in san Antonio. It's in an old bank building and the hallways feel like an office building which is a nice change from the cookie cutter hallways in other hotels. Our room was a 1 bedroom suite which had a lot of "character" and was quite and comforatable. The lobby is beautiful, the staff are friendly and competent. The hotel is located very close to the riverwalk and in fact has direct access via a basement walkway

On the negative side, the furniture was a bit shabby, the hot water takes forever and the afternoon buffet snack was a madhouse on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sirbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Recently stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk in San Antonio. I can sum it up in one word, AWESOME!!! Everyone was exceptionally friendly from the staff working the front desk to the housekeeping personnel. Everyone was always greeting you with sincere smiles. I love the way the hotel kept some of the original decor from the days when the building was a bank. The old vault is still in the basement part of the building. Each evening the provided happy hour for each guest. This included wonderful appetizers and 3 free drinks of your choice (beer, wine, and mixed drinks). Let's just say they didn't hold back on the mixed drinks. For non drinkers unlimited coffee, tea, and soft drinks were available. Each morning they also provide steaming hot breakfast that definitely filled you up! The best part about the hotel is that it's right on the riverwalk! All you need do is take the elevator down to the bottom floor and you were right there! Overall this is a VERY impressive hotel and I will definitely be staying again the next time I'm in San Antonio!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I took a very quick weekend trip from Houston to SA, TX.

pros of hotel-
1.pet friendly - although I would say that it is not very easy to find a doggie break area. The hotel is right on the RW (very nice) but that area does not have many doggies around and I felt bad letting him go to the bathroom there (don't worry I did clean it up). There is a park a few blocks away though and Pat O Brien's is a dog friendly place to grab a beer, just so the pet travellers know.
2. Perfect location on the RW and pretty lobby
3. comfortable and quiet rooms
4. 3 free drinks in the evening is never a bad thing
5. very friendly staff
6. pretty pool on the roof

cons-

1. the elevators are very, very slow. We had to wait a few turns because they would get a line and be too full once they came. Not normally something that would bother me, but- having the dog, it made it troublesome.

2. the free food in the evening and morning is a nice touch, but is not the best tasting food. You can't really complain about free though, I guess. The dining area gets PACKED though, so if you want that free drink, get there early! Long lines...

3. our room was not ready when we got there (our fault) but they said they would call when it was. well, they never did. We had to check back in. This was the only con to the staff though- overall very nice.

4. a lot of kids. not necessarily a bad thing, but this was for a spontenous anniversary getaway, so... did not add to the romance very much. Good place for families though! :)

overall, we had a nice trip. I would stay again just without the dog and not for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downtheavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Visited San Antonio last weekend for a basketball tournament and opted to stay on the Riverwalk. After finding a discounted rate the morning of (my husband is a govt employee), we chose this hotel and I am glad we did. It was right on the Riverwalk as the name suggests which can sometimes prove false despite the location given by a property. But it was actually the case. We did valet for $19/day which was pricey but standard for the hotels in the vicinity so I guess we can't complain. The staff were nice and very helpful so that was a plus when needing to unload our bags.

We stayed in room 712 which was a corner room so it had several nice big windows to view downtown out of. The room's decor was older, Texan comfort style but it was older in a nice way. It didn't take away from the room's presentation or appearance and met our standards 100%. The bathroom was nice and updated. It had granite countertops, a nice sized tub/shower, and plenty of towels which is important when traveling with family. The beds were clean, nice and very very very comfortable. My husband commented that he had the best night of sleep he'd ever had in his life that night so that speaks volume.

We took the elevator to the roof top pool just to check it out when exploring and it too was nice.

I took advantage of breakfast the following morning and it was superb. Lots of great, quality choices such as: bagels, biscuits, pancakes, fruit, sausage, eggs, cheese, oatmeal, juice, etc...I was very impressed with the quality being that I am used to frozen, pre-made continental breakfasts being offered at most hotels. This was definitely a perk. The hotel staff were walking around asking if customers needed anything, cleaning off tables in a timely manner, etc...it was definitely a refreshing experience. We didn't get to take advantage of the happy hour and free appetizers/drinks due to our tournament games but I am sure it was just as nice as the breakfast and I hope to try it out if we are able to stay again in the future.

Nice, clean, easy access to the action, updated, good, great, free food, friendly, helpful, pleasant staff....what else can you ask for in a hotel? Would recommend to anyone and will be our San Antonio choice moving forward. 5 stars all of the way!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room for the view. Take advantage of the BREAKFAST. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jg79houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We loved the location of this hotel. You only had to go down to the basement floor on the elevator and there you were on the Riverwalk. Our stay consisted of 4 nights. The breakfast was just enough as I am not a big breakfast eater. When you returned to the hotel sometime after 3 p.m. you could smell the free popcorn popping. Just enough of a snack until dinner. We went to the "smack down" at 5:30 once. The food consisted of baked potatoes, salad, hot dogs and of course chips and salsa. It was good but not what we were looking for when it came to a full meal. It was great for a snack. The personal touch of the employees was outstanding. There was a young lady named Mandi that worked the food area, such a sweet young lady. Our plane did not leave until 5 p.m. and the front desk kept our luggage until time to leave and we could go and explore the city some more without worrying about carrying it. They reserved a taxi for us the night before so all we had to do was sit in the lobby and wait for the taxi driver to find us. We could not have found a better place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can choose stay in the old bank building instead of the annex. We kept getting turned around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walker557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

During our stay at the Drury for 3 nights we enjoyed the full hot breakfast, which included biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and sausage. Lots cereals, yogurts and fruit were also available. They also have a "smack down" at 5:30 which included 3 free drinks of your choice, and the fixings for nacho belle grandes, hot dogs, baked potatoes and one night macaroni and cheese was added. We never had to eat dinner out as this was plenty. Upon check in, our room was not ready, we went down to the river walk for a few hours and when we returned it still was not ready so we were given a jucuzzi suite, room 2103. While we never made use of the jacuzzi, preferring to use the shower instead, it was a huge bathoom. The bed and pillows were comfortable, we were on the 21st floor so we had a wonderful view of the city at night. We made use of the deck on the 20th floor to sit back and relax. The one thing that was not up to par was the carpeting, it looked dirty and the edges around the trim was full of dust. The staff were all friendly and helpful and it is at a great location to access the river walk, you merely walk downstairs. We would probably stay here again in light of all the extras they provide.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funandfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We love the Riverwalk and made a great discovery in the Drury Inn which is located right on the river. The hotel occupies what was a grand old bank building. Marble, beautiful woodwork and high ceilings make up the lobby area where you check in at what were once the teller's cages. The room was very clean, quite and comfortable and a great value! To top it all off, the Drury Inn provides very well provisioned, and free, evening "Kickback" event and a morning "Quickstart" hot breakfast. Great location, great amenities and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,269 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,325 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $187 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing