We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. The staff was amazing! When we arrived our room was not ready, but after telling Jonathan that we had been on the road for 11 hrs, he got in touch with housekeeping and promptly got us a room. The bartender during kickback was super nice, sorry I never got her name. Having to change elevators to get from our room to main building is inconvenient, but the suite we had was great. Very little street noise, except Tuesday night after the Spurs game, when we heard horns blaring.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsucristella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,982 - 1,988 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at the Drury Plaza Riverwalk in May 2012 and it was an excellent experience. You can actually use the Kickback meal for dinner. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. Great location with some of the nicest front desk personnel I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

What a great experience! Location is excellent, lobby is beautiful and the staff is very gracious and professional. Check-in was a breeze, room was clean and well appointed with updated fixtures. It's an older hotel but it is in excellent condition. Breakfast is great and the afternoon kickback is wonderful, snacks and drinks that draw most guests in, making for a great opportunity to socialize. Rear exit is on the Riverwalk and it's a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. A large 15000 sq ft meeting room is available; the fitness center is good, with a couple treadmills, bikes and elipticals. The rooftop pool is nice and has a wonderful view. The property itself is wonderful, the perks were great, but in my opinion, the staff makes this hotel... everyone I encountered greeted me cheerfully, Housekeeping was good. The only negative comments are that only valet parking is available and the elevators though fast seem to keep you waiting in the lobby a minute or two. This is an excellent hotel and has my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nontexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I had never stayed at a Drury Inn, so I was not prepared for the "Kickback". This experience explains why so many Americans are obese. It was amazing to watch people "heap" their plates with food--almost all of which was unhealthy. I suppose that for a family with children this might be a great place to stay. There would be two free meals plus a refrigerator and microwave in the room. My husband and I enjoy going out to dinner when we are traveling, so we just had a couple of drinks--adults get three alcoholic beverages per evening. We did enjoy the nice complimentary breakfast. We stayed in a suite--which was huge--albeit a bit worn. We had a separate bedroom and living area--which was quite nice. We stayed in the San Fernando Tower--which required taking an elevator to the sixth floor and navigating a maze to get to another elevator to take us to our 10th floor room. The staff is quite friendly and accommodating. The hotel is quiet and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is not on the busy portion of the riverwalk, so if you want to eat on the riverwalk, expect a long walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiefqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Lovely hotel lobby, breakfast was good, but got boring after several days. Kickback was very good. Make sure when making a reservation you are in the main tower. The San Fernando Tower is a pain -- you must take an elevator to the 6th Floor, walk several hallways to the next set of elevators for floor 9-14. Decor in living area is depressing -- very dark. Ice machine was not on the 10th floor where we were staying, also pools are in the main tower which meant another walk to the elevators. Value was OK -- last night our rate jumped higher ??? Don't know why. Although on the riverwalk, we overlooked San Fernando Cathedral, for the rate we paid, thought we'd get a better view. Staff front desk, housekeepers or food service - all were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room in the main tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bdal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My family and I stayed here during spring break. We were so impressed with the uniqueness of this hotel. The room was very nice and bed comfortable. Walked to everything downtown with ease. Loved the free breakfast- now that's a breakfast buffet! We will stay here again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jvirdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Drury Plaza is a good value in san Antonio. It's in an old bank building and the hallways feel like an office building which is a nice change from the cookie cutter hallways in other hotels. Our room was a 1 bedroom suite which had a lot of "character" and was quite and comforatable. The lobby is beautiful, the staff are friendly and competent. The hotel is located very close to the riverwalk and in fact has direct access via a basement walkway

On the negative side, the furniture was a bit shabby, the hot water takes forever and the afternoon buffet snack was a madhouse on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sirbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,157 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,294 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $204 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing