We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,027)
Filter reviews
3,027 results
Traveller rating
1,972
763
190
58
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,972
763
190
58
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bank building rooftop pool free drinks alamo national bank hot dogs nachos the river walk basement level stained glass light show chicken fingers baked potato mixed drinks free happy hour direct access breakfast and happy hour valet parking
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 3,027 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2017

This hotel is in a great location. While the rooms don't have a Riverwalk view exactly, we were right on the river and could get to all the main attractions easily. The hotel was very quiet and we had good service from all the hotel employees. We used the valet service and our car arrived quickly each time we needed it.

There are a couple of things about the hotel that travelers may want to be aware of though. First, we booked a room that was listed as having 2 queen beds and a sofa. At check in, the front desk employee informed us that it was a sofa and not a sofabed. That was fine. I wasn't expecting a sofa bed, but I was expecting an actual sofa. One of our children was planning to sleep on the sofa, so we were counting on the room having a sofa. What we got was a very small loveseat, much smaller than the loveseat at our home. It had two cushions and could seat two people tightly. I wish we would have been told the room had this piece of furniture instead of it being advertised as a sofa, which it was not. Keep this in mind if you are counting on using the sofa for someone to sleep on. It would not be comfortable for a child over the age of five.

Also, there was no safe in the room. We typically find safes in most all hotel rooms, but not here. There was plenty of room for a safe, but for some reason the hotel does not provide one, so plan accordingly.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Dallas_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017

This hotel is located in the former Alamo National Bank building - the huge lobby is visually appealing and there's a display of old bank photos on the Riverwalk level floor. We stayed 3 nights in 1822, which was a corner room with a large bathroom and a separate sitting-room with a chair, sofa and a writing-table. We got a free breakfast every morning and were offered 3 free drinks plus food from 5:30 to 7 each evening. We only managed 1 drink each on 2 days. Our room looked recently decorated in varying shades of brown and had great city views. The shower water pressure was good. A large fridge was in the sitting-room so one wouldn't hear it running from the bedroom. The shower toiletries were all liquid in large containers - not my favorite but better for the environment I guess. We heard very little noise in our room although there was a dog in the room next door on the first night - it barked as we entered our room but was quiet after that. When we checked-out, the front-desk clerk happily ordered a taxi for us.

Room tip: Higher floors are better
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017

Don’t pass over this ideally located hotel just because it is an older property. The Alamo National Bank was once housed in this building. The hotel has kept the bank look and it is a step into the 1930s. Many of the exterior and interior doors have the original façade. Don’t miss the stained glass window in the lobby that has the San Fernando cathedral within. There is no restaurant at the hotel but they provide a gracious free breakfast bar that lacks for nothing. Rooms are dated but clean and adequate. Guests are within short walking distance of the cathedral, Riverwalk, and the Alamo. We’d definitely return to his reasonably priced hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Csbracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017

My wife and i stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel for two nights on 11/7 and 11/8/2017 and very much enjoyed the stay. The staff, including security, we very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the remotes for the TVs and the facility staff responded quickly and resolved the issue.
Our room was spacious and clean with a bedroom a sitting area and kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable.
Great breakfast included with the price and... at 5:30 drinks and food also included in the price! The only downside is that it can be a bit crowded.
Good location on the Riverwalk. Not in the heart of all the restaurants and hotels which was fine for us. it is actually in a better location for walking the the main river instead of the horseshoe that comes off the river.
We would highly recommend staying at the Drury Plaza Hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

We went to SA at last minute and was referred by a SA police officer to check out the Drury Inn. We did as he said and we’re not disappointed one bit.
Upon arriving we were greeted by Anja at the front desk. They said they only had a double queen and we wanted a King and Anja made it Happen. She even let us use her iPhone charger for we had left ours.
The room was very nice and an affordable rate. We had a beautiful view of downtown SA. Breakfast was a beautiful buffet style setup and very delicious as well.
When we return to SA we will definitely be going back to the Drury Inn. Even if it’s just to say hi to our new friend Anja.

Thanks Anja!!!

JOHNNYONTHE-SPOT

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank JOHNNYONTHE-SPOT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews